We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pamukkale
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would agree with the most recent reviews especially regarding the friendly atmosphere of this hotel and its interior design. It is a perfectly adequate place to overnight whilst visiting Pamukkale. Recep and Hasan were the main ones we dealt with and both speak very good English. There is a nice touch in that the room information file tells you about the family. I would say that the in house food is much as other guests have reported - adequate but not best priced given the competition in town. One of my wife's chicken kebab sticks at dinner was under cooked. We pointed it out and it was put right without complaint. A word of advice when paying: if you are required to pay at the hotel (rather than pre paying an internet agency) they only accept cash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    273
    77
    16
    15
See reviews for
202
407
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we first drove down the back streets to get to the Venus, we wondered what we had gotten ourselves into. Once we walked through the entrance / pool area and into reception, we felt much relieved. The hotel is beautifully decorated in the Turkish style, with numerous areas indoor and outdoors in which to sit and relax.

Our room was a reasonable size, with a good balcony (with cotton cliffs 'glimpses'). There was not a lot of space for bags or to hang things. The bathroom was good size with clean modern fittings and excellent shower. Internet worked fine. The bed was OK, but harder than we prefer - did not get a great sleep.

The issues we experienced were:
No hot water. We attempted a shower at about 9.30pm. Water started off luke warm and quickly went to tepid. Next morning is was hot.
Shower recess did not drain the water away quickly enough - left standing in a pool of water. The water also leaked out onto the floor.
Breakfast was very basic. The only hot food was boiled eggs. We could find little eat other than bread (no toaster) and jam, and a piece of fruit.
In-house restaurant was poor. We opted to 'eat in' mainly because of the good reviews the restaurant had. After a week in various places in Turkey, I can confidently say that the food at the Venus is below average and over-priced. There must be better options available in the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spacious clean room, nice and informal atmosphere. We enjoyed it all, including food, easy access to the absolutely amazing Pamukkale´s landscape.It´s worth driving some few hundreds of kilometers up to this city and visit an unique place in the world. And for sure it´s very advisable to spend a night there and this the right place to stay. Great value for the Money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conrado_schulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

In our four weeks travelling around Turkey, this was the best and most memorable place we stayed. The hotel is about 600 metres walk from the "travertines" and the gaggle of local shops and cafes aimed at day visitors. We had all our meals in the Venus Hotel and we never regretted it as they were excellent. Breakfast was a generous buffet. Our room was also excellent, with great attention to detail and ambience..The management/staff was relaxed, friendly and helpful. The pool was inviting but the (clean) water was too cold for me. Fortunately there are hot spa hotels in the nearby town of Karahayit, a short dolmus trip of about 6km. Overall, full marks to the Venus Hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trizzybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a really great choice in Pamukkale for a stay of one or several days. The hotel is located about 500 meters from the center of town, as well as to the start of the pathway and the road to the travertines. It is not too bad if you are walking it, but the owners will also drive you to the entrance for free if you want. They also drove me and my luggage to the bus stop in town the day I was leaving. The staff are very helpful and can provide any information you need about the area as well as trips to other nearby sites. There are several small grocery stores close by (on the main road) if you need anything. The hotel has an onsite computer and good wi-fi. Beds and bedding are clean and very comfortable. The hotel, including the onsite restaurant and swimming pool area, is beautifully decorated with Turkish art everywhere. Normally, I am not a fan of eating in a hotel restaurant, preferring instead to venture out. Pamukkale is the one exception. Without a doubt, the food at the Venus was better than anything I found in the center of town, so I can easily recommend eating here, even if you don't stay here. Food prices are a little higher, but still worth it.

But, here were my two issues: (1) Several times during my stay there was a strong smell of sewer gas or mold in the bathroom. Nowhere else, just the bathroom. It was the one blotch in an otherwise great room. (2) There is a disco or club about a block away from the hotel. I am a light sleeper and the music was going late into the night. Needless to say, I was not able to sleep as a result. Your best bet then, is to close the windows and run the A/C to block the sound. Not a good choice for me since I wanted to get some fresh air in the room. Not really a fault of the hotel, but just as an FYI.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived in a warm late afternoon September 14 2013 after a 250 km easy drive from Ephesos. Welcome was very friendly by the good English speaking staff. Our rooms were not big, but clean with bathroom and perfectly suited for a few days stop. No elevator. The most important sight, Pamukkale and Hierapolis is situated only 1 km away. Many tourists visit this historical area between 10 AM and 16 PM, but there is abundant space and nerver really crowded. Outside the rush hours only few visitors can be seen.
We were happy to have a shower and then a chilling swim before dining. The hotel has an in- and outdoor restaurant which serves good Turkish food. There are several good local wines on the list and prices are fair. Breakfast buffet is completely sufficient. In the room is an information booklet with relevant information. The staff is also helpfull with suggestions. We also visited the ancient town, Aphrodiasis, 50 km away. This area is only to be recommended for its great history! Please prepare yourself and read a few articles or books.
In the hotel they sell local handmade crafts. The table cloths are really nice and of a good quality - price only 75 YTL = 35 Euro. The hotel do not accept credit cards, but several ATM are situated only 1 km away. Parking is easy on the street and only few meters away.
We can strogly recommed this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the garden an swinningpool, but all rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff are polite and do a good job in ensuring that you have an enjoyable stay. The restaurants in Pamukkale only cater for tourists so the quality of meals and value for money leaves a lot to be desired. That being said, the food and service at the Venus Hotel restaurant is great, albeit costly.

The travertines, whilst impressive, aren't as impressive as they once looked (in the photos you find online and see in brochures), but if you are going to spend a night in Pamukkale, make sure it's at the Venus Hotel.

And avoid the "travel agents" in town. Make sure you do any bookings through the hotel as the staff will ensure that you aren't ripped off.

Room Tip: A balcony is nice, so try and get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkelz_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pamukkale
3.0 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
3.0 mi away
Pamukkale Ninova Thermal Spa & Hotel
3.6 mi away
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
#1 of 11 in Karahayit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ozbay Hotel
Ozbay Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aspawa Pension Hotel
Aspawa Pension Hotel
#10 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hal-Tur Hotel
Hal-Tur Hotel
#2 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Property: Venus Hotel
Address: Pamuk. Mah Hasan Tahsin Cad. No. 16, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venus Hotel is a charming family run hotel located in the pleasant Pamukkale villiage. Facilities include a swimming pool, tranquil garden, free internet, and a relaxing 'Ottoman' corner. You can see Pamukkale's famous travertines or enjoy mountain views from the balconies of our sunny rooms. We also serve a large variety of homecooked Turkish meals for lunch or dinner in our popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Pamukkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing