We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not through choice...”
Review of Traverten Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traverten Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Pamukkale
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We only stayed here as part of an overnight trip from Marmaris to Ephesus and Pamukkale, so had no choice and only found out the name when we arrived. From the outside it looks tired. The rooms are very tired although they did have air con and a TV (from the 1970's). We looking for a hotel the basic required are 1) to be clean - to be fair it was. 2) reasonably comfortable bed - we had 2 single beds that were barely comfortable but fortunately we were so tired it didn't make a huge difference and 3) a half decent shower - failed miserably. Waited about 5 mins for it to turn to luke warm which lasted about 2 mins then it went back to freezing cold. The force of the water was little more than a trickle.
We had dinner and breakfast here too and to be fair they weren't any worse than some of the other offers of buffet lunches we had on the trip.
Good thing was diner and breakfast were on the roof and during dinner we had a beautiful sunset at one side and the Cotton Castles at the other.
Overall the no idea how much the hotel cost in the context of the trip but it couldn't have been much and just as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartanTeddyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We only stayed here as part of the Ephesus & Pamukkale excursion while on holiday in Turkey. We were told that the Traverten (and another hotel the name of which I have now forgotten) were the only choices. Before booking the excursion I checked the hotel on Trip advisor and was shocked at the -ve reviews. We were very sceptic of this hotel after this but as the Ephesus & Pamukkale excursion was the priority we went along with a "certain expectation". These expectation was duly fulfilled and much more. By the way before I continue, the tour of Ephesus and Pamukkale were fantastic and thoroughly recommended.

As for the hotel -

Dirty pool with moss or some sort of green scum visible from the outside. People were happily swimming in it but no way did me or my family dared to dip a foot in it let alone swim in it.

We had 4 rooms in our party - 3 on ground floor and 1 (my room) on the 3rd floor. No lifts by the way so I had to lug all suitcases up 3 flight of stairs to get to the room. one door in the room leads to the back in the garden area. The 3 ground floor rooms had this door not able to shut or lock. An obvious security risk. My room on the 3rd floor had a similar door leading to a balcony of sorts was locked but didn't dare open it in case it didn't shut again.

Doors that fall off - the bathroom door handle of 1 room came right off when pulling it shut. The screws were missing. It hadn't slammed shut so was at least able to use the bath room without closing the door shut. The bathroom had a shower cubicle with a sliding door. Although the shower worked fine, in all 4 rooms there was more water outside the shower cubicle on the bathroom floor than inside the shower it self.

The general decor of the room was probably about 15 years old. It appeared no decor work has been done for such a long time. Any evidence of any work done was to either renew the AC unit or add power points for which all cabling was surface with trunking. Very unsightly. Sheets/pillows looked washed but all had visible stains and to think you have to spend the night on or under these.

Our excursion agent said this hotel had been given 4 stars in Easter time. My take on it after first hand experience is 0.5 stars.

We were only there for the overnight between Ephesus & Pamukkale so minimum interaction with staff - only during dinner and breakfast so cannot comment much. They were helpful enough for what it was worth. Food was acceptable - We are all vegetarians so we knew to expect less, and much less we got.

Best part was the evening entertainment - A belly dancer who was great at what she did and interacted with the audience to join in making it the best part of the hotel stay, hence the 0.5 stars for this - 0 stars for the hotel itself!

In summary - this is purely used as an overnight for the Ephesus & Pamukkale excursions so I can categorically state that it only ever gets used 1 night per booking and there is zero budget for maintenance. So how did it get 4 stars? No idea! Down side - I didn't take photos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0lverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Traverten Hotel and have had the most enjoyable stay each time, the staff cannot do enough for you, always pleasant, kind and courteous although the rooms are a little dated, the beautiful surrounds more than make up for this. We will most defiantly be paying them a visit on our next trip to Pamukkale....thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longridge2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Emre Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nurhan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: suit odalar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seyahat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamukkale hotels
2.6 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bellamaritimo Hotel
Bellamaritimo Hotel
#2 of 28 in Pamukkale
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#5 of 28 in Pamukkale
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Venus Suite Hotel
Venus Suite Hotel
#1 of 28 in Pamukkale
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alida Hotel Pamukkale
Alida Hotel Pamukkale
#4 of 21 in Pamukkale
139 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kervansaray Hotel & Pension
Kervansaray Hotel & Pension
#14 of 28 in Pamukkale
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverten Hotel

Address: Kale Mah. Zakkum Sok. No 3, Pamukkale, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Pamukkale
Price Range: $31 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traverten Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Traverten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing