We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great homestay kinda hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great homestay kinda hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went with doubts about a cave hotel, especially being expensive compared to a normal hotel room.But once we reached and saw the place ,we knew we will not have the heart to leave this one.The owners and their dog and the staff all were so friendly and made us feel as if we were staying in our own home .I wish I owned such a place! Well, you will see pictures on the net and who they are(Arzu and Muammer) in the many reviews here.These people have a passion about the whole thing.They are not totally commercial minded ,though they run this as a business.There is an eye to detail in everything that we see or use.Beautifully done up place We lived in their best suite(probably) HOPE suite.Awesome .Large, as is seen on photo in their site on the net.We had the luxury of almost 3 rooms and a lovely bath But no doors(its a cave room).Every room has a window and is well ventilated The weather was so good being early October.As for the hosts, they were warm and as friendly as any old friend of ours could get.One morning we asked them for directions to go to Devrent valley and get us a taxi.After breakfast, Arzu told us amidst laughter that her husband will be our driver.We felt happy .At least he will understand english .We then had doubts on how much it will cost us.But we were in for a surprise when he dropped us off on his way to a neighbouring town and after finishing work, picked us up on his way back.NO CHARGES at all.
So sweet of them.Even if they had charged us normal taxi fare/guide charges, we would have paid.It was nice to stay here on another count,They both can converse in English and we could sit and chat over breakfast and tea.When we sat around enjoying their lovely garden,where pears were hanging in bunches,she used to give us tea with out charging again.That is why I am repeating that it is a passion for the husband -wife team, and not just a commercial venture.Lovely folks .We felt sad leaving them after 3 days .We have given their address to a few travel agents here in Muscat,the least we could do, by way of a THANK YOU
Excellently located, so near the main street/town circle, walking distance to restaurants in the evenings.We are vegetarians .As soon a s we checked- in, she gave us names of 3 best places to have vegetarian food.They were names we had noted down from the net before leaving Muscat too.They are very genuine people who have a love for the work they do.Wishing them all the very best Would recommend this place to one and all.Not expensive too for what we enjoy, in terms of proximity to town center, hospitality and the lovely garden area thrown open to all of us.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.They all have a view of the wellkept garden and access to the garden.The cav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    13
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Following an early morning flight from Istanbul, we were received with open arms at Meleklerevi Cave Hotel at 8:30AM. We were offered breakfast which was quite good, and a nice surprise (modest extra cost since we were not checking in until later afternoon). We had 2 rooms among our party of 4. Both were very nicely appointed and clean. The room below was somewhat humid, and the room at the top was somewhat dry (we attributed this to the nuances of cave living!). The beds were like-new firm, the rooms were quiet and we all slept well. WiFi strength and speed was good. We had dinner at Meleklerevi on the first night, quite good. We had 2 bottles of locally produced red wine from the wine cellar, also very good. The owner Muammer Erinal began with a smile, and proved to be quite personable, greeting us each day upon our return. We shared a beer with him on the terrace on the 2nd evening and learned enough about other venues in Turkey to form another vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodNomad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely hosts who also designed the unique restoration. Great dinner in old stable, good when arriving in the evening. This is the only hotel in the old part of town. Hosts were very gracious and even show a video of the construction. Turkish breakfast has a lot of selection. Our room, named "Love" was originally a fruit storage cave. Lovely terraces and views.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great experience at Meleklerevi Hotel. The owners are very welcoming and helpful in deciding what to do in the area. Not only did they give us great information and help us map out our stay, they also invited us into the hotel like we were good friends. They also set everything up for us once we decided what we wanted to do. The rooms themselves were exactly what we wanted - comfortable and clean at a reasonable price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Frankly, I was not certain that I wanted to stay in a cave hotel, but we came with open minds. This small hotel, with its beautifully designed and decorated rooms (they are not dark), many terraces (there is a stunning view from the top one), a small garden, very welcoming and attentive staff, and extremely helpful owners, was just perfect. Breakfast and dinner (you need to request the latter in advance) were just delicious - obviously a great deal of care is given in the kitchen - and served to us on the terrace under the hanging grape vines. The kind owners helped us arrange several activities and provided a lot of information. Magical hotel and I highly recommended it!

Room Tip: They are all different, so take a look if possible, and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Meleklerevi Cave Hotel in June of 2012. It was the best place we stayed in Turkey.

We chose a cave room which was called Sevgi. I wasn't sure before we arrived what a cave room would actually be like, but it was well apointed, spacious, clean and a cool refuge from the Cappadocia sun. The cave interior made the room exotic to us as visitors, but also made us understand the essence of Cappadocia. And with a name like Sevgi ....

The bathroom was very modern and certainly would be the envy of any cave dweller in the area. The shower even had body massage jets!

I think the thing that I most remember was how much at home we felt in the Meleklerevi. Arzu and Muammer, the owners and builders of the hotel, are some of the kindest and friendliest people you will ever meet anywhere. If you've been to Turkey, you will know how hospitable the people are; however, Arzu and Muammer take hospitality to a new level. I remember my surprise when Muammer carried our two bags up to the room. It was at least three flights of stairs and a hot day, but he insisted on carrying them, opening the door to the room and showing us around.

The meals are simply magnificent. My wife loves to entertain, so we are not strangers to good food with nice touches. She loved it. We found ourselves lingering over our meal, savouring the new tastes and enjoying the fading sun. What else could you ask for on a vacation?

The hotel's web site tells you a little bit about Arzu and Muammer. Being curious, I asked Muammer why he'd left Istanbul for Urgup, a small town in a somewhat remote part of the country. He said that he wanted a more tranquil life (actually he said that Istanbul was very busy and took a lot of time to commute, which I translate as 'I want something different than haste'); you will find this tranquility and the quality of life it brings in the Meleklerevi hotel.

I'd recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: There are pictures of each room on the hotel web site. I liked our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Servator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were fortunate to stay here for 3 nights in June. Arzu and Muammer are the most special hosts you will ever encounter. They designed and built the hotel and their love and care is everywhere. Muammer showed us the video of the creation of the hotel which was such a special treat. Our room, Sevig (Love) was a cave room with a window so it had light during the day. The room was good sized with a nice sized bathroom. The hotel is multilevel with sitting areas everywhere and a terrace bar overlooking Cappadocia. Breakfast is a huge buffet taken inside or outside. Treat yourself to at least one night of Arzu's gourmet dinner. On our first morning, Muammer sat with us and using his own hand drawn map set up a wonderful sightseeing day (which he repeated again for day 2!). The tour of the pottery factory in Avanos was great. We will definitely be recommending this to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcplanner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#31 of 64 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
1.9 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Magic Cave House
Magic Cave House
#14 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#27 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#19 of 64 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meleklerevi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Property: Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Address: Dereler Mahallesi, Dere Sokak No: 59, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meleklerevi Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first beating of Angel Wings...The first time we saw this land of beautiful horses, Cappadocia, and its magical fairy chimneys, we knew we had to leave our own mark on this land that has been home to different civilizations for centuries. In Cappadocia nothing is as it seems. We lived this with each throw of the axe and with each stone that we lifted from the soil. As we removed hundreds of cubic meters of dirt from the garden and from the top of the main building, we discovered the remainders of centuries past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Meleklerevi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing