We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special place with wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were fortunate to stay here for 3 nights in June. Arzu and Muammer are the most special hosts you will ever encounter. They designed and built the hotel and their love and care is everywhere. Muammer showed us the video of the creation of the hotel which was such a special treat. Our room, Sevig (Love) was a cave room with a window so it had light during the day. The room was good sized with a nice sized bathroom. The hotel is multilevel with sitting areas everywhere and a terrace bar overlooking Cappadocia. Breakfast is a huge buffet taken inside or outside. Treat yourself to at least one night of Arzu's gourmet dinner. On our first morning, Muammer sat with us and using his own hand drawn map set up a wonderful sightseeing day (which he repeated again for day 2!). The tour of the pottery factory in Avanos was great. We will definitely be recommending this to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcplanner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

In July, my husband and were fortunate to stay at the Meleklerevi Cave Hotel in Urgup. We were warmly greeted by our lovely hosts, Arzu and Muammer Erinal. The Erinals came to Urgup from Istanbul to renovate ancient caves which had been a stable until seven years ago. Words can't capture the beauty surrounding this property. The rooms are modernized, but still retain the cave aspects. We awoke each morning to a sumptuous breakfast buffet of local foods as well. as anything else one could want. We ate amid a garden terrace filled with flowers. At dinner, we ate by candlelight, enjoying the Arzu's gourmet cooking and the warmth of the Erinal's friendliness. As stated in the title, we felt like their family. Meleklerevi means house of angels. We can recommend this small hotel wholeheartedly. Also, the central location is convenient to the major sights of Cappadokia

Room Tip: Imthinkmthat all eight rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amieduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The ower's hospitality made my short stay in Cappadocia unforgettable in my life. As other guests already checked out very early in the morning, I was only one guest left in that morning. So, he kindly took me to several view points in Urgup including Baloon points. Also, I had a chance to have a bite of wild apricot which was so nice, and he also took me to a Turkey Bakery shop for our breakfast, where I had a trully fresh bread which was the best bread I've ever had. Yes, he gave me a surprise morning short tour around Urgup.
In addition to this tour, his wife and his staff were so kind, and my short stay in Meleklereve Cave hotel made my memory in Cappadocia really unforgettable.
The hotel ower is an architect and he designed this cave hotel and several other cave hotels in Urgup. So, it is, not to mention, nice about its facility and atmosphere.
I'd like to stay here again when I have a chance to return Cappadocia!!

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel with only eight guest rooms. It is said each room is different size and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiroSayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was, by far, the best experience we have ever had at a boutique hotel. Not only were the rooms unique and the grounds enchanting, the owners were genuinely warm and hospitable. They were interesting to talk to and even though I'm sure they've answered our questions hundreds of times before, we felt as if it was being answered for the first time. We only stayed two nights but there were hugs and kisses when we left. A three night stay would be the MINIMUM I would recommend. You can walk to town and there are plenty of restaurants. Make sure you eat one dinner at the hotel because it was wonderful as were the breakfasts!

Room Tip: There are lots of steps, so if that is an issue, request a room on the ground floor. Also if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

we spent 2 nights in Meleklerevi. one of the best hotels we have ever visited. each room has unique design with fireplace. breakfast was marvelous with numerous kind. dinner accompanied by music from old records. best choice for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onur857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Ister bir gunlugune ister cok uzun , eger kapadokya seyahati yapacaksaniz hic dusunmeden melekler evine gidin ve kalin. Bolgeyi biliyorsaniz veye hic bilmiyorsaniz farketmez tereddutsuz burda kalin ve kendinizi Muammer ve Arzu'ya teslim edin. Magara otelde kalmanin keyfini surun, odalarin ve otelin sicak ortaminda , sahiplerinin samimiyeti ve yonlendirmeleriyle mukemmel bir tatil yasayin. Ben bundan sonra sadece kahvalti etmek ve uyumak icin bile oraya tekrar gitmeyi dusunuyorum.


Doesn't matter how many days you will spend in capadocia, doesnt matter if you know the area or you visit for the first time, just stay in MELEKLER EVI and let the owners Muammer and his wife Arzu show you the way how to spend your visit. I will visit soon again just for having breakfest and rest in a magical way.

aram

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I recently had the priviledge to stay in this wonderful hotel during our visit to Turkey. The hotel name, loosely translated means house of angels which is certainly befitting.

We paid for a standard room, but our lovely hosts, Muammer and Azru set us up in a suite, simply because it was available during our stay.

Our room, which is said to have been carved out of the rock around 4000 years ago, used to serve as wine cellar for its inhabitants. It has since been transformed into a lovely suite by this design duo from Istanbul.

Muammer as an architect and Azru and interior designer, transformed a once derilict wasteland into a true halow of Cappedocia. Lovely terraces overlooking the town of Urgup, a warm reception room that make you miss your favourite grandma and a room lost in a bygone era of romance are but some of the things you are to experience here.

The best part how ever, were the people. In all of our travels around the world, we have never been so overwhelmed by genuine hospitality such as theirs. Muammer helped us with anything from a hand drawn map of Cappedocia, to travel tips in Istanbul. We visited over Easter, which meant the evenings were rather nippy. When we entered our room in the evenings, a fire was burning in the fire place already. A staff member waited with us outside the hotel at 5:30 in the morning for the shuttle which was to collect us for a hot air balloon ride and we were presented with the most incredible three course meal one could ever ask for in Turkye.

Muammer and Azru, thank you so much for a lovely stay. You made us fall in love with Turkye even more than we already were.

To potential visitors, here are some tips for Cappedocia:
a) Eat at least one dinner at the hotel. It is fantastic.
b) Ask Muammer to book your hot air balloon excursion. I booked it independently and almost ended with a rouge operator.
c) If you rent a car in Cappedocia (airport at Kayseri) which I strongly recommend, there really is no need to rent a SatNav. Roads are clearly marked and we were actually lead on a terribly back road by the Sat Nav, all the while ignoring the signs.
d) Opt to rent a diesel car, as petrol is much more expensive than diesel.

Happy travels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.3 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Has Cave Konak Hotel
Has Cave Konak Hotel
#12 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#21 of 69 in Urgup
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#30 of 69 in Urgup
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
6.2 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#47 of 69 in Urgup
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meleklerevi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Address: Dereler Mahallesi, Dere Sokak No: 59, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Price Range: $48 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meleklerevi Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first beating of Angel Wings...The first time we saw this land of beautiful horses, Cappadocia, and its magical fairy chimneys, we knew we had to leave our own mark on this land that has been home to different civilizations for centuries. In Cappadocia nothing is as it seems. We lived this with each throw of the axe and with each stone that we lifted from the soil. As we removed hundreds of cubic meters of dirt from the garden and from the top of the main building, we discovered the remainders of centuries past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meleklerevi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing