We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkish Delights in Cappadocia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Assiana House
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Turkish Delights in Cappadocia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our American family, our Turkish "daughter" (our exchange student 12 years ago) and her parents had the most wonderful accommodations at Assiana House. The setting and the rooms were unique and beautiful. Mevlut is a master gardener and his wife, Suna is not only an excellent cook, but also capable of telling your fortune by reading your Turkish coffee cup!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grimescity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
55
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Mevlut and Suna (owners of the hotel) were so nice to all of us. They were so helpful and very kind. They answered all our questions about the area, restaurants and sightseeing, etc. They even gave me a jacket to wear on the balloon tour at 5 in the morning. We had dinner at the hotel and Suna cooked us a delicious Turkish dinner. I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maschko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I can only add my comments to those which encouraged my wife and I to stay here whilst in Cappadocia.
Nothing was too much for the gracious owners and we were even given a lift into the city by Melvut when we decided to try somethng other than the superb home-cooked meals made by his wife Somine the night before.
Staying in a cave was never this comfortable!!
This place is a long way from home but I hope that one day we can return

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

There are two things to take you to Cappadocia – the incredible scenery and a stay in the Assiana Cave Hotel. This small, family-run pension is a delight! The helpful owners, Mevlut and Suna and their staff make their guests feel immediately welcome. They are the most friendly and helpful hosts you can imagine. Whatever you want to do they are ready with suggestions, guidance, arranging airport transfers and car hire, balloon flights, and should you need it, restaurant bookings (but see below!). There are only 5 rooms, on two levels, the lower ones cut out of the living rock, the upper elegantly built out of the same rock. The rooms, all en-suite, are tastefully and comfortably furnished and the breakfasts, set out on the terrace in the warm morning sun, are quite special with homemade jams, yoghurt, fruit, borek, eggs and cheese. Suna will also provide delicious evening meals, which, once sampled, could make your restaurant bookings redundant! What can be nicer than sitting on the terrace after a long day, looking at the fascinating scenery, enjoying a beer and watching acrobatic swifts and a hoopoe flying in and out of its nest?
Colin & Angela Scrutton

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Assiana is a great family hotel. It has just a few rooms. All rooms have stone walls, the lower floor roos are carved in a mountain (like a cave) and designed in Cappodocia style. The bathrooms were very clean. The terrace is great to have a drink at nights and to have a decent breakfast. Mr. Mevlut and his wife are great homeowners. They are very friendly. You feel yourself like at home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umurcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

The reviews on Tripadvisor could not be more accurate. What a gem of a place, thanks to the wonderful owners Mevlut and Suna. They were the perfect hosts suggesting all sort of travel tips and helpful advice. The Assiana was gorgeous - very clean and comfortable. The rooms were furnished with real character. There was a wood fireplace and the fire lit for us on the first evening. The food which Suna prepared was first class. We could highly recommend this small hotel for travellers to Urgup - The owners are also planning an extra suite in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

This is the most wonderful place to stay in Cappadocia. The hoteliers were nice and warm and the cave hotel was impeccable with the cozy towl warmers and the wonderful family suite. It was wonderful and so clean and the breakfast was served like a five star resort. Can't wait to return to Cappadocia and this wonderful treasure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.4 mi away
Asia Minor Hotel
Asia Minor Hotel
#35 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#15 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#29 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
#36 of 64 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Property: Assiana House
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#23 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing