We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Assiana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Assiana House
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I absolutely loved my time at the Assiana. The rooms are lovely and look exactly as shown in the video and photographs. Suna was away while we were there but Mevlut couldn't have been a kinder more thoughtful host. I felt like his family. He took care of all arrangements instantly and everything he arranged was wonderful. He even drove us to Goreme the first day as we arrived in the afternoon. And he didn't just drive us - he sent us to a local restaurant for lunch (which was great) and picked us up from the restaurant and drove us. Who does that! I would come here again simply to lounge around this peaceful, wonderful hotel. Really, no need to go anywhere!

Room Tip: I loved my suite room. Just felt like such a lovely spurge for the price of a non-splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the hotel that I was whisked to after flying into Nevsehir in Cappadoccia. Upon reaching the hotel which is on the outskirts of Urgup, I entered the hotel and was greeted by pretty flowers, a little cat and the friendly owners of the hotel who took my luggage and took me to my room, (#6). I was thrilled to see that it was spacious but cozy and completely constructed of stone, with a beautiful arch along the ceiling. The bed was firm and comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely shower unit with every possible option for a relaxing shower from extra back water jets to a beautiful rain shower head. The room opened up onto a large communal balcony area with a view of the countryside where guests could sit for meals or relax and while away the evening with conversation and a glass of wine.
Breakfast was served under the shade of large white umbrellas and it was typical of my Turkish breakfast experience, slice cucumber and tomato, olives, fresh bread and jam, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and other yummy items.
I stayed here for three nights and toured the regional sights. In the evenings I was able to walk into the central area of Urgup ( a twenty minute stroll) and go out for dinner or do a little shopping.
My hosts were a lovely couple, always willing to help me out, and when I had to do a real estate transaction back home, call my bank in Canada and send a fax, they bent over backwards to assist me. This was the perfect hotel for couples and I would highly recommend it as a place to begin your visit to the intriguing region that is Cappadoccia.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms are equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved our time at the Assiana House. Suna and Mevlut were welcoming and helpful and provided us with good guidance as we organized our precious days in Cappadocia. The rooms were large (which we appreciated having stayed in several very small rooms in our Turkey travels up to this point), spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfasts on the beautiful terrace were delicious and large--Suna's homemade jams topping off all kinds of other delicious treats. The location up the hill from the center of town moved us a short walk out of the main touristy area, which we appreciated. We'd love to repeat our Turkey adventure some day. If we do, we'll definitely stay at the Assiana House again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalulaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Assiana Cave House, a great selection by our travel agent. Owners Mevlut and Suna were welcoming and ever helpful, ensuring we knew exactly what time we were supposed to surface to be picked up for whichever tour we were going on that day. We were open-mouthed when first shown to room number 1 set into the rock, beautifully cool and quite spacious with a shower plus bath and a low-cushioned seating area. On two nights Suna prepared an evening meal for us, modest but delightful home cooking, loved the yoghurt soup! (On the other nights we sampled Ziggy's (on the left as you go down the hill), the Han Ciragan (on the right further down) and Somine (in Urgup centre), all of which were excellent and very reasonably priced.) As noted by other reviewers, with it being such a small hotel we got easily into conversation with our fellow guests in a way that might not have happened in a larger place. Oh, and the Turasan winery is a few minutes walk from the hotel, we dropped in out of curiosity and came away with a couple of bottles of their lovely Emir 2011.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This family-owned cave hotel was a highlight of our Turkish trip. We immediately felt like family when we arrived. The room was very well-apppointed with lots of room, and the bathroom offered all of the modern amenities. We marvelled at how staying in a cave could have such an magical and elegant feel to it. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Home-baked meat pies and sweets were an excellent complement to the fine coffee. The terrace had a nice view of the area. A relaxing and satisfying way to start the day. The family who owned the hotel were very welcoming and warm. The Dimrit restaurant which is within easy walking distance offers excellent Turkish food. A truly wonderful and unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Room #1 is a must see with a very large and comfortable bed and sitting area for 10 people. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svendiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very nice hotel and very nice people to stay for two nights in the Cappadocia region. The rooms were beautiful and exotic, and a true cave experience that was unforgettable. Close to town and close to two good restaurants (Dimrit and Ziggy's). Would highly recommend staying in this hotel and spending two nights in the region to see as much as possible. Our two days were fantastic, but we still couldn't take it all in. Would not hesitate to stay at Assiana House again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very good hotel with not a single complaint.
Perfect and Helpful people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GurolEvcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#31 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#47 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#27 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#37 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Minor Hotel
Asia Minor Hotel
#36 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magic Cave House
Magic Cave House
#15 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Property: Assiana House
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#23 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing