We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely base for touring Cappadocia”
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Assiana House
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Assiana Cave House, a great selection by our travel agent. Owners Mevlut and Suna were welcoming and ever helpful, ensuring we knew exactly what time we were supposed to surface to be picked up for whichever tour we were going on that day. We were open-mouthed when first shown to room number 1 set into the rock, beautifully cool and quite spacious with a shower plus bath and a low-cushioned seating area. On two nights Suna prepared an evening meal for us, modest but delightful home cooking, loved the yoghurt soup! (On the other nights we sampled Ziggy's (on the left as you go down the hill), the Han Ciragan (on the right further down) and Somine (in Urgup centre), all of which were excellent and very reasonably priced.) As noted by other reviewers, with it being such a small hotel we got easily into conversation with our fellow guests in a way that might not have happened in a larger place. Oh, and the Turasan winery is a few minutes walk from the hotel, we dropped in out of curiosity and came away with a couple of bottles of their lovely Emir 2011.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

This family-owned cave hotel was a highlight of our Turkish trip. We immediately felt like family when we arrived. The room was very well-apppointed with lots of room, and the bathroom offered all of the modern amenities. We marvelled at how staying in a cave could have such an magical and elegant feel to it. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Home-baked meat pies and sweets were an excellent complement to the fine coffee. The terrace had a nice view of the area. A relaxing and satisfying way to start the day. The family who owned the hotel were very welcoming and warm. The Dimrit restaurant which is within easy walking distance offers excellent Turkish food. A truly wonderful and unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Room #1 is a must see with a very large and comfortable bed and sitting area for 10 people. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svendiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very nice hotel and very nice people to stay for two nights in the Cappadocia region. The rooms were beautiful and exotic, and a true cave experience that was unforgettable. Close to town and close to two good restaurants (Dimrit and Ziggy's). Would highly recommend staying in this hotel and spending two nights in the region to see as much as possible. Our two days were fantastic, but we still couldn't take it all in. Would not hesitate to stay at Assiana House again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very good hotel with not a single complaint.
Perfect and Helpful people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GurolEvcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Assiana House on our honeymoon in Turkey. The staff was so helpful and kind, we had a beautiful suite, and the food was simple and good. They even left a bottle of local wine and glasses on the table after finding out we were honeymooners! Our only regret was that we only stayed two days there.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank livingintheusvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a nice little spot on the hill in Urgup. My room was large as was my bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained. There were no English channels that I could find on the television. The wifi signal is strong in the communal areas, but not always in the rooms given the stone and rock. Always had hot water, which apparently not all hotels in the region do. Was also happy to have a bathtub. About a 10 minute walk from the town's centre.
The breakfast spreads are delicious and typically Turkish, and there is something a little different each morning. Having dinner at the hotel is also very affordable. It's also delicious and you feel like you are guests in someone's home rather than a hotel. Being as there are not very many rooms, you also have the opportunity to easily speak to other travellers.
The proprietors are warm and helpful. The tour companies they have connections with are good. The tours I went on arranged by them were reasonably priced, small in tourist number (~15 people) and didn't spend much time at the obligatory sales stop (carpets, pottery, etc).
Everyone who works at Assiana House is very warm and welcoming and makes you feel taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historical_Art_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Staying in a cave hotel was truely a unique experience. Combined with the calm and beauty of the surroundings - it was just so amazing. And the people at Assiana were just as charming as the hotel. Run by a family, it has a very nice, friendly staff. I was really happy to have such a proper bathroom in a cave :)
The breakfasts at terrace gave beautiful view.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misbahAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#7 of 69 in Urgup
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
#43 of 69 in Urgup
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
#24 of 69 in Urgup
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
3.6 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#23 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing