We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urgup Inn Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Urgup Inn Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Urgup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

very nice little place in urgup, omer went out of his way to help me out with my travel plans and accomodate my various requests. room was spacious and comfortable. i wish i had arrived in urgup without making any plans and let omer take care of everything.

its not really like a hotel. its like another home. dont expect to indulge or be pampered but well worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ram s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    70
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
79
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The USP of this place is convenience that comes with a homely B&B. Omer and his family make sure that you can focus on having a good time when visiting the area while they take care of the arrangements. Omer got us great deals on ballooning and local sight seeing and made all arrangements. And all this was done based on a single phone call I made a couple of weeks before landing in Turkey. The prices were so good, that I am certain he didn't charge us any commissions. They seemed to be more concerned about us then us ourselves. It was nice not to have to worry about logistics, etc. and just focus on our vacation. We needed a taxi one evening to go about in the area and explore. He called someone he knew, negotiated a price, and in minutes, we were off - no fuss.

Our room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable - but not really like a hotel. The inn is part of the family home and a few rooms are rented out. So no indulgence or pampering but then one is out most of the time anyway.

Breakfast was simple but workable. The bathroom was too basic for my liking but clean and functional.

The property is located about 8-10 minutes easy walk from hub of activity in town with nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for the cave rooms that they show on their website. They may be better. We had other rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Staying in this pension was a truly unique experience. Within three days we learned more about Turkey than during the rest of our three-week trip in this country. The owner, Omer, who is fluent in English and French, assisted us with everything - from booking tours and a hot-air balloon trip to contacts with local businesses such as the marvelous carpet shop, "Silk Road." It did, indeed, feel like home from the first minute. The three rooms we saw before choosing ours were all different and even nicer than on the pictures we saw when booking online. Most importantly, they were all naturally cool in the midst of a very hot summer. (This is not a cave, but the stone walls are very thick.) We enjoyed talking with Omer and his friends, one of whom was a saz player and gave us a wonderful concert in the pension's garden, under the vine shade. All in all, a memorable stay! Thank you, Omer!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures when booking. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent three nights here in August and had a great time. All of the service personnel were quite friendly and accomodating; we have a small daughter and they made sure she was taken care of. They were also very helpful in arranging sightseeing tours of all sights. We did not take the balloon ride, but we did take an organized toure booked through the hotel. I would highly recommend this.

Another plus is that Omer and his staff are clearly concerned about their image and reputation and go out of their way to make sure you are having a pleasant stay. I had multiple conversations with Omer about Turkey and the Cappadocia area, and that added to the experience.

A couple drawbacks that kept us from giving Urgup Inn Cave Hotel full marks - we felt that the sales pitch was a little pushy to offer us services (tours, balloon rides, etc) We were happy to get the information but very nearly felt pressured to book things. The only other drawback was the room was not as clean as we would have liked. You are in the middle of Turkey in semi-cave rooms, so we didn't expect spotless, but there were a few bugs that detracted from the experience.

Final note: breakfast is in a beautiful courtyard with a grape-vince covered trellis, and this is also a great place to relax at the end of the day; also a good opportunity to interact with other travellers - not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's the first time for us to Turkey. Unlike Istanbul, a big city, Cappadocia is totally unknown for all of us. But people in Urgup Inn Cave Hotel are nice, just like family members, recommended the events for us and made a great offer for the fire balloon flight. Thanks you so much. We all had a good time. Annie from Shanghai, China.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieWang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very charming place with large, clean and beautiful rooms, cosy courtyard, central location and great view. Always ready to offer Turkish tea after a long, hot day (for free!), advice, travelling tips / Cappadocia tours, conversation and entertainment, the staff was hospitable with capital H, though sometimes maybe a little too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Is0bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Coming home to Urgup Inn Cave hotel was like coming home to a quiet little paradise. The shady garden lobby was a wonderful place for us to rest, have afternoon tea, and take some time out from the bustle of travel and touring activities and the pounding sunshine. Omer and his team were relaxed, helpful, and wonderfully hospitable and it was always a pleasure to see them in the morning or at the end of a busy day. Our room was spacious, quaintly decorated, and very comfortable, with all necessary amenities, and the breakfasts were lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something more homey than simply a room to sleep in, or for a place that makes it possible to meet other people and enjoy a slow pace and nice conversations. If you are on a business trip, consider taking a room on the second floor as some of the first floor rooms have windows opening onto the courtyard and if there are people there late at night, the noise may affect your sleep. Otherwise, great choice of a place to stay, within walking distance of the wonderful Panorama restaurant and Urgup town center with its lively nightlife.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.5 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
6.4 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#27 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#2 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ayvali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#10 of 65 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urgup Inn Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urgup Inn Cave Hotel

Property: Urgup Inn Cave Hotel
Address: Temenli Mah. Sagir Mescit Sok. No 22, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Urgup Inn Cave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urgup Inn Cave Hotel is at the very heart of Cappadocia, in the centre of Ürgüp. Nearby there is a open shopping centre, where you can find all kinds of souvenir and antique shops, home-made carpet and wine specialists/retailers, super markets etc.. The bus terminal is only about 100m (a few walking minutes) away from our hotel.Around Ürgüp there is numerous interesting sightseeing, such as famous fairy chimneys and other impressive geological formations, like early Christian cave churches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Urgup Inn Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urgup Inn Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing