We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to call home during your stay in Cappadoccia”
Review of Serinn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serinn
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A group of 4 of us stayed for 2 nights in August and had a wonderful, wonderful time. The hotel is lovely, inviting and relaxed. The rooms were very comfortable, but best of all are the staff. Eren and her team made us feel very welcome. On our first night, a late arrival, they called to make us last minute dinner reservations and then drove us there. The next night they booked our dinner and whirling dervish visit and again, drove us there and back. Eren also booked our tour of the area and our hot air balloon ride. The service is absolutely excellent, the breakfasts are wonderful and the hospitality are unbeatable. Combine all this with the fact that you can walk into Urgup and it's a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Serinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 307 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and overall was our best hotel in all of Turkey. We booked the hotel within a tour+hotel package with Rock Valley Travel (which i might add is an excellent agency to book tours around the Cappadocia area - i also wrote a review about them). Similar to most of Serinn's reviews we loved hanging out with their dogs (especially Lily), complimentary bottles of water every day, their generous spread for breakfast (freshly squeezed OJ every morning, homemade jams, eggs to your liking, great selection of fresh fruits e.g. figs/peaches) and Erin's homemade dinner. Since the hotel only has 5 rooms there is no restaurant but if there are enough guests willing to participate the owner will cook up a delicious and homey Turkish dinner of grilled eggplants/green peppers, yogourt mixes and beef stewed in a claypot (for a reasonable price).

The downside of the hotel is that there was no Wifi in our room and there is stucco from the ceiling that creates dust in the room. However, there were more positives and i would defenitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mang079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Entering Serrin House we knew we had found a very special place. Of course it is an absolute must to stay in a cave hotel when you are in Cappadocia, and this wonderful, chic, boutique lodging fuses the best of ancient cave cosiness with modern design. But that's only half the story. The thing that makes Serrin a real find is the love and attention to detail that its owner, Eren, has invested into the place.
Eren worked for many years for British Airways and has travelled extensively, so she knows what guests want. Serrin House was little more than a crumbling wreck when she bought it and she has restored it into something even better than its former glory. She's really put her heart and soul into it.
When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome from her two lovely dogs, Lily, a King Charles Spaniel, and Findik, a Dachshund cross. As dog lovers it really gladdened the heart to have them around the communal areas - an expansive courtyard and breakfast terrace with breathtaking views across the Cappadocian mountains.
Breakfast at Serrin House is wonderful. The day we were the we had the most incredible gözleme (Turkish stuffed pancakes), a huge selection of fruit, omelette and freshly baked biscotti.
Eren was a great source of advice, making sure we made the best of our precious few days in one of the world's most incredible regions.
When returned to the hotel after exploring this magical place, we chilled out on the terrace and watched the sun set across the mountains, a beer in hand, Lily and Findik dozing at our feet. We were home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Serinn House during our honeymoon and had a fantastic experience! The hotel itself is gorgeous - beautiful courtyard, balcony where they serve breakfast every morning, stunning rooms and, because it's up on a hill above the town, you have great views of the area.

That said, the highlight of our stay was the service. We were originally set to do a cooking class with Eren, the proprietor. Because she was out of town, she arranged a free dinner and complimentary car service to and from the hotel. We were completely blown away by this gesture. Not only that, but the gentleman who was running Serinn in Eren's absence was totally on top of it; he arranged reservations, pick-up times etc.

We HIGHLY recommend Serinn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A wonderful cave hotel in charming and picturesque Urgup. The rooms are well-appointed and nicely furnished. The views from the breakfast patio over the hills and valley below are stunning. The breakfasts are splendid and highlighted by pastries made by the owner and hostess, Eren Serpen, who couldn't be more helpful. We had a problem with a rental car, and in addition to making numerous calls to assist us, she sent one of her small staff to accompany us to a dealer over 20 km away to direct us there and to translate. She is also a font of information on local restaurants, tours for those without their own transportation, and hot air balloon trips. I can't recommend Serinn House highly enough. It is the obvious choice in Urgup, and indeed in all of CappadociaA, if one is seeking a small, personal, custom property.

Room Tip: We stayed in several different ones, and they were all lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobbyist777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I loved my stay at Serinn House, it's a lovely, comfortable, well-appointed cave hotel with a fine view and great owner and staff. I enjoyed the hotel, the relaxed atmosphere and the hospitality so much, it was hard to leave and I would return in a flash. The hotel is situated on a hillside overlooking the valley to the hills beyond. It was so enjoyable sitting outside on the breakfast balcony looking over this view while eating the delicious breakfast prepared by Çem and the staff. Sitting there was also lovely in the evening. The comfortable, charming cave rooms, restored from ancient caves in the hillside, are nicely arranged around a pleasant, stone-paved courtyard containing a large cluster of lovely plants.

Ms. Eren, the owner, is a wonderful host. She has created a fine environment, enhanced by her excellent hospitality and staff. Her cheerful and friendly manner makes one feel at home right away and she is very knowledgeable about the area, how to get around the region, where to eat and how to see the interesting places in Cappadocia. She is widely traveled and speaks excellent English (as well as Turkish and Italian.) She and the very competent and helpful Mr. Çem and the friendly staff made every effort to make sure that I and the other guests were comfortable and well-looked after, including arranging sightseeing tours, making recommendations and reservations for restaurants in town, helping on several occasions with transportation, providing bottled water in the room, making various kinds of eggs to add to the very delicious buffet breakfast, among other thoughtful things. The free wifi worked well, very convenient for me. Eren is also a good cook, and although dinners are not part of the stay here, as a special occasion one evening she made a fine meal of stuffed peppers . Enjoying this dish on the balcony looking out at the twinkling lights in the valley and the distant hills was a special treat.

My room was a real and delightful cave, very clean, quiet and cozy, furnished in a refreshing modern style. The room has a comfortable bed where I slept very well, a sitting area, and a great bathroom with nice lighting, scented lavender shower gel and other complimentary toiletries, excellent shower, which was very refreshing in the morning and after an active day of touring around. The soft, warm beige of the rock from which the cave room has been carved is accented by modern furnishings with a few well-placed touches of color. The natural light in the room I had is lovely, coming from the main window and two smaller colored glass windows. Just outside my room door there is a shaded sitting area facing the courtyard, a pleasant place to sit, chat, read and relax. The hotel is very well maintained overall, the excellent and friendly housekeeping staff keeps everything very clean and well-taken care of. I really enjoyed staying here.

Serinn House is located on the outskirts of the town of Ürgüp. I walked into town (about 10-12 minutes, mostly downhill) to go to restaurants and browse around shops. It's easy to get a taxi either way, and rates are reasonable. Ürgüp is different from the nearby larger town of Göreme, which is also nice but somewhat busier and different in character. I prefer Ürgüp, personally, and the quiet, charming, relaxed atmosphere of Serinn House, where one feels more part of the landscape while still being in a comfortable, hospitable environment. At Serinn House, there is very convenient access to tours of the area (such as the excellent Rock Valley Tours) and all the interesting things to see in Cappodocia. I strongly recommend Serinn House for a delightful stay in this amazing region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paloma26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Since the moment we got to this beautiful hotel the owner and hostess gave us a warm welcome. We stayed for three days in a beautiful and good taste decorated room and wished we had stayed longer. Eren, the owner and her whole staff make your stay unforgettable filling your whole day with little details and good food and wine.
They even drive you downtown for free and do your laundry for a very reasonable price and always with a wide smile. I definitely recommend this experience to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#8 of 66 in Urgup
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#10 of 66 in Urgup
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Assiana House
Assiana House
#38 of 66 in Urgup
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#24 of 66 in Urgup
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
#40 of 66 in Urgup
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serinn

Address: Esbelli Sok. No: 36, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#13 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $67 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a fresh perspective on the stunning Cappadocia skyline, discover the new Serinn Hotel, a unique boutique cave hotel that incorporates cutting-edge design with the intimacy of the natural caves. Nestling in the heart of Urgup, Cappadocia, with magnificent views of the town and surrounding mountains, the Serinn is a stylish hotel with just five guest rooms. Elegantly furnished rooms have been designed for your utmost comfort with sumptuous beds draped with fine cotton linens, fluffy towels and custom-made toiletries, as well as seamlessly integrated modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Serinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serinn House Hotel Urgup
Serinn Hotel Urgup
Serinn Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing