We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History re-written”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alfina Hotel Cappadocia
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Cambridge
Level Contributor
319 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“History re-written”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

An extremely imaginative re-build of possibly Cappadocian Greek troglodyte houses. As a result no two rooms are the same and no two experiences will be the same either. We had room 115, which had a sitting room, bedroom and enormous bathroom as you go back into the rock. Our own cushioned sofa outside, leading onto a spacious terrace. Beautifully furnished with a massive bed and a wood stove if needed. No air conditioning but radiators for the winter.

Some rooms are equally delightful but others have no view and feel like living in a cellar.

Breakfast good Turkish down some stairs into a cave but the coffee is definitely not the Lavazza that it says on the samovar. No conventional tea amongst the tea bags in the rooms. Apparently you can only have tea at breakfast. Still don't understand why.

The night club and the dogs can be a bit of a pain; you can ask reception to do something about the former but the latter are part of the Turkish soundscape.

Room Tip: Do check very carefully whether you have a proper window giving a view facing across the road. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittlesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is built into a hill. The guest accommodation consists of hollowed-out rock which forms a modern cave. The individual rooms are quite spacious - a sitting room (with TV), a bedroom and a large bathroom. There is heating but when we were there - late September - it was too hot and we had to ask for the heat to be turned off. Even then the rooms remained rather too hot for comfort at night.

There is little ventilation in the room and opening a window does little to cool down the bedroom area.

The bed in our room was exceptionally large, but the duvet did not cover it fully! The bed is hard. The pillow likewise.

Dinner one evening (travelling with a small group) was disappointing - flavourless and cool soup, dried out and cold chicken. A complaint to the management resulted in an improvement in the following night's meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I just love everything about this hotel. Location, interior, landscape, weather im aug just amazing if you can spent night here. Breakfast was good with varieties of local dish. For asean bring some chili sos if you are hot food fans..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe Double Room in 506. It was on the top floor and had the best private terrace of all the rooms. Because this hotel is built into the mountainside into pre-existing caves, it had no elevators. So be prepared to walk up lots of stairs. It's worth it though for the view. We stayed for 2 nights in the first week of June and during the day it was warm, but at night was fairly chilly. We work t-shirts / shorts in day, and long sleeve shirt / pants at night. It's about a 10 minute walk to center of town. Hotel is on top of the hill and has amazing views. There is a weird night club in the lot next to the hotel and we could hear the music from the club if our windows were open at night. Also, from our terrace, we could hear the Ezan, call of prayer from the town mosque during the day, which was wonderful. Skip the complimentary breakfast, it was nothing exciting. Our room came with a big jacuzzi tub, and a refrigerator. Which was a great bonus. Also the bathroom and room itself was super spacious! And very large king size bed. Upon arrival, they had a complimentary fruit plate, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Book the airport shuttle van service through the hotel for a pickup from Cappadoccia airport. We too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meemsnyc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Alfina. We had booked a deluxe room, but the room we had was very new and huge- large bedroom space with large living area attached, gorgeous bathroom with a jacuzzi which was very welcome after long days sightseeing. The receptionist said he had given us the best room, and it certainly felt Special. We felt very spoiled and found it a wonderful base from which to explore this amazing area. We would definitely stay there again particularly with an upgrade like that.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyndell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A 300 yr old hill made into a swanky cave hotel was definitely what we wanted to stay at while in Urgup. It has natural air conditioning The rooms are very cool in summer and stay warm during the winter.

Lovely place to be put up at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The place is built on the side of a hill. One gets a great view of this place from the road, as one enters Urgup.

They have a gorgeous view, clean and well done rooms, also very spacious. The staff was great, in service and also hospitality. The kitchen did a great job in meeting our travel food needs. They had good collection of Cappadocian wine at reasonably price.

The town is 7 minutes walk from the hotel. This was one of our favorite hotels from our 1st trip to Turkey. My wife is clear, if we get another chance to visit, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor does not have good WIFI connectivity. The Suites at the end are great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#18 of 65 in Urgup
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Assiana House
Assiana House
#36 of 65 in Urgup
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
#26 of 65 in Urgup
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mustafapasa
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#24 of 65 in Urgup
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfina Hotel Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfina Hotel Cappadocia

Property: Alfina Hotel Cappadocia
Address: Karagandere Mah. Istiklal Cad. No:89 | Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#25 Family Hotel in Urgup
#26 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfina Hotel Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely restored cave hotel in Cappadocia, Urgup. Some rooms dating back 300 years, cozy bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Alfina Hotel Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfina Hotel Urgup
Alfina Hotel Cappadocia Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing