We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property and good location”
Review of Alfina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfina Hotel
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2012 as recommended by a friend who had stayed there several months earlier. We were not dissapointed with our choice. We chose a deluxe room which had a seperate living room with a fireplace. Bedroom was huge with a king size bed. Bathroom was a really good size with a jetted bathtub. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and it had a lovely view. Large patio area outside our room; but too cool to use at this time of the year. A short walk into the centre of Urgup, and a short drive to Goreme. Breakfast was included in our rate and we got a better deal as paid with cash rather than credit card for our room.

Room Tip: Room 108 was great and on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is one the best in the city with excellent rooms. however the nights could be a bit scary with dogs, wolf n foxes screaming. The shopping district is 5 min walk and serves all purposes. The hotel has nice heater to keep the rooms warm as its freezing cold at night

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Alfina Cave Hotel in Urgup, Turkey, is wonderful! Everyone should be fortunate enough to stay there. The setting is beautiful with verandas and lovely gardens to enjoy the landscape. Rooms offer every comfort. Delicious food is served in the dining room. The staff is absolutely superb and always make us feel like family. We have been their guests for six visits and look forward to more. We can't say enough to give it the recommendation it deserves.

Happy & Grateful Guests,

Faye & Quentin Allen
Kentucky, USA

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FayeAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Alfina is a truly special place. We stayed in a suite room which was magnificent. The furnishings, the fittings, all combine beautifully with the architecture of the cave rooms to create a quite magical ambience. The bathroom was also spacious and excellent - fitted out very well and impeccably clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is good - only about 10 minutes walk into Urgup town. We stayed 2 nights and each morning we awoke it was almost a case of pinching ourselves to remind ourselves it was real.

The only negative is the breakfast. The breakfast is fine but just not up to the same lofty standards of the rooms. With a room like this you want an equally classy breakfast.

But overall, we were very happy indeed.

Room Tip: I would go for a suite rather than a standard room (there are 10 suites, i believe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We, me and my wife, were there for three nights

Our room was in the 5th. floor, it was a deluxe room, and that`s description perfectly describes it.

Big, with a huge bathroom and a semi circular whirlpool, but the free space was amazing.

The room has a very nice decoration, mostly carved in the rock, a king size bed a fireplace and lot of light.

The service was even better than the room.

All in all, I wouldn't stay in any other hotel in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candidtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A beautiful hotel – wonderful room - absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded so I can’t vouch for the regular rooms. A bit warm so we asked for a fan. AVOID eating DINNER here. You can walk to the center of town in 5-7 minutes. Don't be afraid on your first night. Breakfast was adequate. One drawback is if you’re ELDERLY is that the shower has a giant step. I woudn’t recommend it for people over 65 (unless you're very fit or there are rooms with a different type of shower).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCNicolet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Without doubt, our room at the Alfina Hotel was the BEST cave I have ever stayed in. In fact, it's the ONLY cave I have ever stayed in!
The room itself was huge, with an enormous bed, and spacious bathroom.
Because it's a cave, no air conditioning was provided or required, and even though it was the middle of a heat wave, the room was beautifully cool.
The Alfina is a unique hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussie_Grey_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.4 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#3 of 69 in Urgup
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Assiana House
Assiana House
#41 of 69 in Urgup
134 reviews
3.1 mi away
Magic Cave House
Magic Cave House
#15 of 69 in Urgup
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfina Hotel

Address: Karagandere Mah. Istiklal Cad. No: 89, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#18 Family Hotel in Urgup
#26 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely restored cave hotel in Cappadocia, Urgup. Some rooms dating back 300 years, cozy bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alfina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfina Hotel Urgup
Alfina Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing