We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2007

This place is a phenomenally lovely little gem. Our room was very large and opulently furnished: jacuzzi tub, fireplace, easy chairs, exceptionally comfortable bed, enormous bathroom, and fresh snacks and a decanter of homemade cherry liqueur left for us daily.

It's hard to describe how prettily decorated and designed the place is; full of antique furniture, decorations, and books. Sparkling clean. The rooms were quite warm, both aesthetically and temperature-wise, despite having few windows (the hotel is built into the hillside, as fits local tradition.)

The breakfast was lavish, with traditional Turkish breakfast items set out beautifully for each guest and cooked item served to order.

The staff were all wonderfully kind and warm, open and eager to chat, but not at all intrusive. The owner was present much of the time we were around and was also very kind and pleasant.

A sumptuously appointed lounge and lovely patio made for pleasant places for conversation with other guests.

The hotel arranges tours and other tourist needs through Argeus travel (located in a just steps away in a lovely office around the corner), which provided us with great value and service, without any hassles.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2007

Sacred-House ise a wonderful, amazing place. Here is where the day and night colours of Cappodocia change, a place where enjoyable and unforgettable moments are experienced. Sacred-House is what makes the unforgettable and unmissable difference in "Escaping to Cappodocia" – the quality of service, (specially mrs.Emel) the personalized approach and the discriminating cuisine that you can find only at Sacred House.
We said mmmm, mmmmm...

ÖZGEN KARADAYI (TURKEY)

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank DAVIDRIVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Although we have been to the Cappadocia area several times over the last seven years and tried more than 5-6 different hotels, this one is the best so far. It makes you feel like you are in a surreal place! It was the coldest time of the year, yet the room was very pleasant and cozy. We stayed at the "chapel room" with my husband and admired the details and elegance of the place. The staff was very kind and attentive. Next time I will ask the recipe for the cherry liqueur! The Turkish breakfast was amazing (too big for me!) with the addition \ of fresh fruits and “gozleme” and it can be customized if you let the staff know earlier. I can already imagine the joy of hanging out at the courtyard (or the terrace) in summer time so I can't wait until we go back.
Highly recommended!
O.E.Boyd, Chicago.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank OEB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Although difficult to find when driving yourself, this gem and its staff are truly wonderful. Anka's Lair is a luxurious bedroom with jacuzzi in the attached bathroom. The welcoming homemade cherry cordial, fresh lemonades and truly satisfying and bountiful breakfast are to be remembered with great pleasure - as well as having late night drinks and coffee on the rooftop terrace. Highly recommended for a very romantic stay in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1991Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2005

5  Thank JutaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2005

Stayed: September 2005
6  Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 71 in Urgup
167 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
5.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 31 in Uchisar
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $133 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing