We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful & comfortable”
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful & comfortable”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in one of the cave rooms for 3 nights during a two week trip to Turkey in May 2014. Our welcome was effusive - and the warmth and friendliness we experienced every day from the owner and all members of staff was a highlight of our stay.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and two dinners, the food was very enjoyable and the service excellent.
In addition to our stay we organised some local activities through the hotel (whirling dervish and balloon ride), both were great... especially when we heard of some experiences others had had with whirling dervish 'performances' at other venues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    47
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Although traveling with a group which was staying at a large, modern hotel, we chose to spend a night at Selcuklu Evi to experience the "cave" style dwellings of the Cappadocia area. We were not disappointed. Not only was the atmosphere and decor all we had hoped for, the staff and owner were extremely accommodating and charming, assisting us in departing and re-joining our tour. The dinner we had at the hotel's restaurant was superb, and the dining room comfortable and elegant. The location, a short distance from the center of town is perfect. The King suite we stayed in was extremely comfortable and spacious, with the most modern conveniences as well as charming touches in the "cave" decor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry-Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Selcuklu Evi offers a blend of traditional Seljuk and European ambience, warm turkish hospitality and excellent location to nearby Urugup town. Owners 25 years of business experience and network of friends are open, friendly and easily share their insight into the local arts, traditional culture and activities which offers interesting insights into turkey's ancient history and an appreciation of the beautiful natural cappadocia landscapes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShafinazN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here with my wife, 2 young (1 year & 3,5 years) kids and my sister for 4 nights in the family suite.

The hotel is very charming (my oldest daughter thought it was a castle and she was the princess) friendly staff, clean, comfortable and pretty rooms and pretty good food (breakfast and dinner). A very nice place to stay.

I was still walking on crutches after knee surgery a few weeks back, and the recovery went a bit slower than expected so this cappadocia trip was a bit ambitious for me. The Hotel has a lot of steps and the family suite was on one of the upper levels so going up to the room was somewhat challenging. So if you have trouble with walking steps make sure to book a room on the lower levels and escaping steps all together is impossible (its built onto a rock after all)

Also, the layout of the family suite is not really ideal. It has a bedroom with a double and single bed, and a living room with two sleeping benches intended for kids. But when your kids go to bed at 7 pm you lose your living room. And the thick walls/caves have a serious impact on the range of a babyphone. It is supposed to have a 250 meter range but in the restaurant, less than 50m from the room we did not have contact (but off course we cant blame the hotel for this).

Our kids loved the garden and the tortoises living in it. And my oldest daughter loved climbing up to the rooftop terrasses and exploring all corners (it has a lot) of the hotel. But for children there is not too much else to do. In the restaurant they have some toys to keep them busy during dinner, but those are ready to be replaced. Staff was very friendly and relaxed towards the kids.

To sum it up: a great place to stay, but not 100% ideal with children and not ideal for people who have trouble walking stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trottlesnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stay here. That's it. Just stay here. The rooms are wonderfully decorated. The owner, Halil, is a wonderful host. The breakfast is fantastic, as is dinner. They arrange their own tours, but we did not use them mostly because we already had arranged. Just stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank graffka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are spacious, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. I was really looking forward to staying in a cave and I was not disappointed. This is a great hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angleles
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very lovely hotel. The owner greeted us everyday and was more than happy to help us in any way. Our room was quiet and had a comfortable queen size bed. Very large bathroom with full amenities including slipper. But they do not have an elevator. We climbed three flights of stairs everyday which was okay for us. Also wifi didn't always work in our room. The owner helped us reserve our tours and airport transfers.
The breakfast buffet was good. We especially enjoyed the Turkish pancake made to order and also my husband enjoyed the made to order omelette as well as a variety of cold dishes and fruits. It was nice that they had a restaurant at the hotel so that we didn't have to go out again after a long day of sightseeing.
We enjoyed the dinners at the restaurant. They have the clay pot kebab which is the regional specialty as well as the usual beef, chicken and lamb Kebab and fish. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel especially if you are flying in and out of Kayseri Airport.

Room Tip: Third floor room facing the courtyard in the main building was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2trave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 65 in Urgup
667 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#36 of 65 in Urgup
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing