We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Selcuklu Evi Review August 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Selcuklu Evi Review August 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights while exploring Cappadocia. It was an excellent place to stay to do this. Halil and his wife and all personnel at the hotel were eager to please. In fact, everything - from the actual room to the splendid breakfast to the beautiful, landscaped gardens - was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    45
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in July in this hotel and enjoyed not only the nice rooms but also the wonderful romantic garden. Great breakfast and dinner, modern rooms in old building, friendly staff and a good location to visit Cappadokia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a classy, relaxing cave hotel, which had been superbly restored. It was a joy to walk
around and enjoy all the attractive attention to detail, both in the rooms and in the garden/terraces. Our room was beautiful, with a delightful bathroom, which included a jacuzzi -
most welcome after tiring touring days! The owner, Halil, was most friendly and helpful, even
arranging a pick up from the bus station. Breakfast was impressive, with a wide choice. We
especially enjoyed the made to order Gozlemes (Turkish pancakes). Urgup is a lovely town to
wander around at night, with far less tourists than Goreme. We loved climbing up to the hilltop
views at sunset and exploring the abandoned caves without any hassle. We would highly
recommend both this hotel and the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The owners of the hotel, Halil and his french wife, are ever present at the hotel, eager to please and generous with their time and knowledge. My shower door was stuck and they had someone in minutes to repair it. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and create a lovely respite in dusty cappadocia. The stone fountain spigots actually run local white and red wine!! Urgup town center is an easy walk. Each room is unique, some cave, some in the old Turkish houses. The details of decor and functionality are excellent (lovely kilims and turkish textiles adorn walls, floors and beds). Like another visitor my room did not have enough lighting, especially in the bathroom. I didn't bother to ask for additional lamps because I wasn't in the room much... too much to see and do in cappadocia! The breakfast buffet is excellent. A totally comfortable, clean, beautiful and authentic Turkish hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had an excellent two night stay in this luxurious cave room hotel. Ours was a spacious room with an amazing spa bath / shower and a small balcony for enjoying nibbles and drinks in the evening. Staff were really helpful, collecting us from bus station on arrival and offering general advice. We spent our evenings in the hotel rather than going in to Urgup town as it really was the best place to eat and relax. The evening meal was delicious and there truly is a wine fountain - where you can fill up your glass for free!!! This hotel was much more upmarket than the other places we stayed during our four week tour of Turkey, but we got a surprisingly cheap offer as a result of a cancellation and it gave us a wonderful taste of staying in luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, small hotel. What sets this apart from other small, similar hotels of its class is attention to detail. The owner is on site most of the day. He personally greets you and inquires about your day. The rooms are very clean. The restoration of the site is beautiful, we had a look through their photo album, what an endeavour!!
We only had breakfast there - the buffet is better than others we have had in other Turkish hotels with omelette station and a lovely lady making local pancakes. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Had dinner at local restaurant next door called Cafe Dimrit. The food we very good. The service was both good and not so good. One young waiter a bit indifferent, one older waiter was one of the best we have ever had. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJT155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Gorgeous, atmospheric room with split level. Nice winding metal staircase within the room leads to a nice bed looking over the rest of the room. Very clean, nice bathroom and a lovely stone balcony with seating area. Staff were friendly and very accommodating of our needs and provided breakfast at 3-4 am because we were fasting in Ramadan. Hotel is on top of the hill only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Urgup is quite steep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#2 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
4.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing