We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great staff and over all great experience. The morning breakfast with Gozlemes, the cave rooms with kilms, the helpful smiling staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Urgup. Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Selcuklu Evi Cave Hotel is a wonderful hotel. The staff and the owner obviously put a lot of importance in keeping the guests happy and we felt just at home. Our room, Köprülü Oda, was very charming and with a big terrace. It seems that all rooms have their own entrance, so guests won't disturb each other so easily. At least we didn't hear any noise when at our room.
We stayed in other hotels in Turkey where the interior was new but built with cheap materials. However, at Selcuklu Evi Cave Hotel everything is really beautiful and of the best quality. It was a pleasure to just admire the interior design.
The breakfast buffet was big and in the charming hotel restaurant - or ouside in the garden - and there was even a local lady making gözleme (pancakes with filling) on request. We didn't eat there for dinner but the evening buffet looked really delicious at well.
The hotel is also well-located only 5 minutes walk from the town center of Ürgüp, up the hill, which is perfect in order to 'retreat' from the noises of the center.

I recommend everybody to chose this hotel for their stay in Cappadoccia. I will definitely stay here again if I come back to the region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knorredk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very good hotel in the best place of Urgup.Friendly stuf Halil the manager very kind and helpfull exellent apartments .Generaly,very nice hotel. I will come again in winterThe breakfast wonderful,the king suite in wich we stayed big and comfort it was cave I think that Selcuklu evi cave hotel is one of the best hotels in urgup. the hotel is friendly quite and the stuf nd the manager HALIL ELALAN very kind and helpfull, THe YUNAK MAHALESI is one of the most interesting places in urgup

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKOLAOSElassona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay here. My little girls really enjoyed the courtyard garden. The turtle roaming around in the garden was the highlight for my 1 year old :-). Mr. Halil gave us a good idea about Cappadocia and helped organise our tour. All in all a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fantastic, the hotel was lovely, very well restored and our room delightful. The owner Halil and his staff could not have been friendlier nor more helpful. The food was very good and excellent value for money compared with other restaurants in Urgup. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Marmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere a bit more upmarket and you can cope without the necessity of staying in a fairy chimney, I can highly recommend this beautifully restored, former Ottoman house. Its myriad of hidden nooks and terraces (for a reflective beer or peaceful cay) have wonderful views over the rooftops to the cave-houses and promontories nearby.
The decor is traditional stone with ornate carvings and there is an authentic feel to the historic details.
I stayed for three nights with my sister in April - before the hot weather really begins and the room was perfectly cosy with the heating on in the evening. However, I can well imagine how lush and cool it will feel in the hot months, as the thick stone walls keep the dry heat at bay.
Breakfast is a delicious Turkish buffet, supplemented with omelettes (menemen) to order and the traditional gozleme (pancake) stove, complete with head-scarved teze awaiting your choice.
It's a 5 minute walk down the hill into the quaint town centre (and a 10 minute, slightly more fatiguing climb back), where all the local amenities can be found within 200m of each other.
I would recommend this for any sort of group - there were two families staying at the same time as us, we had a family room with three single beds and there were also several couples who seemed to be enjoying the romantic setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divinfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had heard, read about and finally took a deep breadth and headed to Cappadocia, wonderland of cave living and unique formations at display by nature.
In general temperature in Cappadocia is very high, therefore reserved only for two nights and on arrival found a bit chilly (day temp. around 20-25c), need warm clothing in the evening. Urgup is a small town for a base to explore all around.
Hotel had 14 rooms in all, we got a double room which is only original Cave-room. Very comfortable inside, living room plus a bedroom with one double and a single beds, modern bathroom. However, we had to climb 17 uneven steps up and down, to the dinning room and additional 13 steps to go out. Good exercise if you have strong knees. Our grand children had no problem, they were having fun. Staff was courteous and helpful. Dinner was excellent with large variety of salads, fruits and freshly baked bread in front of the guests, plus choice of meat dishes all very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you cannot take stairs, this hotel is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Has Cave Konak Hotel
Has Cave Konak Hotel
#12 of 69 in Urgup
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#8 of 69 in Urgup
972 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mustafapasa
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $78 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing