We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful stay and would love to return”
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful stay and would love to return”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our most enjoyable stay in this hotel started when we were warmly greeted by the owners Halil, his wife Brigitte and their son Selim. It was late when we arrived and they offered us some Mesas and wine to satisfy our appetites after a very long day of travel. We thought that this was very thoughtful indeed. The hospitality continued for the duration of our stay Staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing wa ever too much trouble when it came to making our stay a happy one.. We felt so welcome and all our needs taken care of in the best possible way. The hotel is set in a cave and decorated very tastefully. The room was very comfortable and charming . It was especially nice to have a door open up onto a private balcony where we could sit and rest in the mornings or at the end of a long day of sightseeing. Every attention to detail was taken care of and the food was delious! The hotel is also situated within a short walk to the small town. We loved our stay and can highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunqueenvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Staff were very friendly and welcoming,Food excellent and the Sultans room was superb.A wonderful rug shop is also attached to the Hotel and well worth a look,it has a very good reputation with good prices and efficient shipping service.In fact the rugs arrived back in Australia almost the day after we did!!

Would highly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The rooms surround a lovely courtyard, and are arranged on three levels. this is a recovered stone building, next to a Han that has been in the family for 6 generations. The breakfast buffet is traditional, authentic and more than abundant. We didn't do the dinner buffet, but it looked great.

Our room was clean, and furnished with local textiles, rugs and embroaderd linens - very nice, just as pictured. We had to climb some serious steps, so if you have mobility issues, take that into consideration. Some rooms are reachable via a standard staircase inside, the rest via exterior stairs that are sometimes a bit steep.

The hotel arranged for our balloon trip, and seveal guided tours. For all the tours we had the same guide, so we got to know each other and that really added to the enjoyment. We spent three days there - hit all the regular tourist areas and a few off the beaten path. It was amazing - take the time to hike Rose valley, and see the underground city.

We were invited to see the Han, which is now the business center and a capet store - so be prepared for the eduation/sales pitch. In fairness, I did buy two carpets there - his prices were far better than those in Istanbul, and the quality seemed comparable - though I am no expert.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Wanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I great tip is to book hotel through it's web site since the owner will arrange to pick you up at the hotel for free. Upon arrival, we met with the owner Halil who helped us plan all of our day trips. The hot air ballon ride is a must. There was not much to do out side of the hotel after the day trips, but we had a great time during the day and drinks at the hotel at night. See attached photos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSGHighland_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I went to this hotel. It was just perfect. It is situated near the village. All the room are different. The staff is very friendly. The food is delicious. The rooms are well decorated and spick and span. Here, i lived an unik experience. That's the turkish way of life. Tours and activities can be arranged. So i didn't have to think about it.
So, if you travel to Cappadocia choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmanNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This property is well put together. The rooms resemble the famous Cappadocia caves and were built, like the hotel, around them. The rooms are a bit quaint but that's what you are there for.

Location is good, right in the middle of Urgup, with nice views of the hills and the bizarre formations which make Cappadocia a unique place to visit.

Breakfast is well served and and the restaurant and cafe are very nice indeed.

Internet access is complimentary but only available in the restaurant and lobby.

The deco of the hotel is very elegant and appropriate. Staff are very attentive.

We had no complaints at all and enjoyed our stay a great deal.

I recommend this property to anyone wishing to use it as a base from where to explain this interesting part of central Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Very friendly staff. Rooms are quite uniquie every room isdifferent. Attention to details is obvious at every corner. Some rooms have AC's some are not but they will provide a standing fan upon request. You can organize any tour from the hotel. The owner is there all the time. Food is just great specially the dinner. For elederly people you need to request a room not so high since there is no elevator there. The terraces are just fabulous. We had a room that had a private terrace overlooking the street we spent a great evening before sunset in there. It is a great place to be there.

  • Liked — interior decoration, hospitality of the staff
  • Disliked — too many stairs, not colocated next to my children ( relatively)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RaafatZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akuzun
Hotel Akuzun
#32 of 65 in Urgup
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#18 of 65 in Urgup
534 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#37 of 65 in Urgup
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing