We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful”

Mazi Underground City
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.32*
and up
Explore Cappadocia Full Day Tour From Goreme
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grateful”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Being able to actually tour this underground city was amazing. Those who lived there in the past were full of ingenuity - and were not claustrophobic! An experience to remember for a lifetime.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    50
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“set the alarm for EARLY”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Fascinating if a little under explained,, but that could have been my guide…
As said ,, get up early and be first that day to get down there and explore . I am 6ft2 and around 15 stone but I could move around and bended knee. As other groups arrive it will get more claustrophobic down there . One strong word of advice, as you emerge , you will get the urge to stand up ,, avoid giving in , as you stand up too early and catch the last of the rock roof ,,OWE ,,it hurts

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P_J_Murphy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Underground city experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

it was an interesting underground experience not for those on the larger/tall side. Without a guide one could easily get lost with tunnels in all directions some were quite narrow with low headroom as my husband found out. worth a look.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Underground city for the adventurous”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited Mazi, Derinkuyu, and Kaymakli underground cities. This one is smaller, much less visited, and more obstacle course than the other two (all three were great). Try to work this into your itinerary if you like to get a little bit off the tourist track. If you only have time for one city, go to Derinkuyu or Kaymakli, add this second. We came late in the afternoon by car and were the only visitors at the time. Took maybe 30 minutes.

No ticketbooth, just a friendly guide at the entrance that gave us a flashlight tour complete with climbing up shafts between levels using makeshift built in ladders. The cave generates a lot of dust so you if you have a scarf or facemask bring it. There was a good bit of scrambling and climbing. If you love to explore, i highly recommend visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underground City”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Amazing site! Hard to comprehend how strategic the early Christians were with their system of tunnels. Alyep, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable about the history and construction of the underground cities. One or two people on our tour were claustrophobic, and missed out on this engaging experience. I think there were only two areas where claustrophobia could be an issue, but you're moving through tunnels, so it's not so bad. Definitely doable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KittyTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazi Underground City also viewed

 
Urgup, Cappadocia
Mustafapasa, Urgup
 

Been to Mazi Underground City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing