We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Journey”

Mazi Underground City
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.34*
and up
Explore Cappadocia Full Day Tour From Goreme
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The scenery was a complete new experience. It was great to
see a vista often described as a lunar landscape.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another interesting site to see in the region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This site is located in the middle of a neighborhood where the locals farm. It is heavily visited and can take about an hour to get through the underground city. You will need to bend and hunch down to get through some of the site. It is dark and has some unstable footing areas so becareful. If you are claustrophobic you might not want to go in. Bring a small flashlight.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fascinating experience, but tough for tall people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The whole idea of an underground city is pretty amazing to begin with, and when you see what they built, and begin to understand the effort that this required, it is truly humbling. I only went down to the second level since I am fairly tall (6'2" / 188 cm) and the tunnels are much lower, making it unconfortable for me to go any deeper. The tour I was on went down to the fourth level, but there are nine levels in all, plus a 7km (four mile?) tunnel that connects it to the other large underground city. Definitely worth visiting!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajeroLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urgup, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mazi has changed too”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went back to Mazi 12 years later to find that while still small and cute, it has taken great strides to follow the suit of the other underground cities. Now there are even electric bulbs on the walk, well marked routes, and the guides have the story down to a T. Mazi is no longer worthwhile as an offbeat visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClauTravelGoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great if you're not claustrophobic or wearing good clothes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We saw this underground city about 6 hrs ago, and would second everything written in the March 28, 2012 review posted previously. We didn't take Ihsan up on his offer for tea & dinner, but really wish we would have. His son Ramazan (?sp) joined us for a remarkable tour of the caves. It involved some tight spaces and some challenging climbs that would be out of the question for the average tourist, and a few antics on his part, but all in all it was a rare experience to be treasured by anyone who likes to get off the beaten track. But be warned, I am tall, 200 lbs, and in good shape for a 50 yo, and it wasn't easy. We offered him 50 TL at the end, and he seemed alright with that. For context, Derinkulu cost 60 TL at the gate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ack a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazi Underground City also viewed

 

Been to Mazi Underground City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing