We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cave livng at its best.”
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yunak Evleri
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cave livng at its best.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Truly unique setting; suites carved into the face of a steep rock formation following the outline of thousand + year old dwellings.
Extremely good taste in appointing the apartments and baths.
A visitor gets the sense of having gone back through time andcan more fully appreciate the surroundings of the Cappadocia area.

Room Tip: All exit to terraces and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    97
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
176
267
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Cappadocia, Turkey. Famous for cave dwellings, hot air balloon rides, and cave HOTELS! This accommodation seemed so appropriate for our visit to the area. We stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was ideal to top off our Cappadocia experience. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff friendly & helpful, and from the moment we walked in & were offered a welcome glass of wine, we felt like we'd arrived!

The entire country of Turkey is not user-friendly if you have physical limitations - by the time we arrived at Urgup & the Yunak Evleri cave hotel, we were expecting stairs. We were not disappointed! 2 steep flights to access our room - thank goodness we had help with our luggage!

However, that's the only "negative" thing about this hotel. And in all honesty, it's a CAVE hotel. Where would you put an elevator?

The rooms are cosy & modern, albeit a little dark. But again, that's to be expected - you are, after all, in a CAVE. Morning breakfast is delightful and not missing a thing. Fruit, cereals, cheeses, meat, eggs.... whatever you could possibly ask for. The staff was helpful & friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cave!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or suggest this hotel to anyone in the Cappadocia area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

you must stay at a cave hotel if you go to the region of Cappadocia and this hotel has it all. Great view from your balcony, great view from the rooftop restaurant. The breakfast is fullsome with lots of healthy choices.

the room we were in (room 101) had a couple of steps down from the bedroom to the main floor where the bathroom was. if you have to get up in the middle of the night for the bathroom, we found these steps to be problematic and as a result had to leave a light on.

the mattress in the room we were in was as hard as a rock and we found ourselves sore in the morning.

Room Tip: i would not recommend room 101 due to the steps to navigate from bed to toilet. you cannot do it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleballdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Two nights were spent here recently in a cave room. On arrival, the staff were so friendly and accommodating and ensured we had a room to our liking. Large rooms, darkish but what else would you expect in a cave.
Breakfast and dinner in the outdoor rooftop restaurant were magical.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved staying in this authentic cave hotel. The interior design and furnishings were extremely well done. The staff was extremely professional and 5 star atmosphere. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgtrubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My fiancee and I have stayed at many hotels around the world, but the hospitality in this one exceeded our expectations and was better than anywhere else we have been. In addition, this is the most unique cave hotel in the area. We walked around a lot, and this one seemed to have the most in-cave rooms, comparing to other hotels.
First of all, upon our arrival, 3 hotel staff greeted us. They actually were waiting for us, standing outside - we felt like kings :D We arrived at 10 AM, they immediately offered for us to have breakfast (which would not be normally included on the day of the arrival), before we would even check-in. After a beautiful breakfast surrounded by caves, with a relaxing music coming from a music room, we checked-in.
The staff immediately learned my fiancee's name and only referred to him by name from then on. They gave us a tour around the hotel and amenity rooms, and arranged for our luggage to be brought up for us.
To our surprise, they kindly offered us a free upgrade to a suite room, for the whole duration of our stay (5 days). Initially, we have requested the nicest looking room from the pictures, which was room #102. But upon checking out the suite room, we were excited to accept such a generous offer. We had complete privacy, our suite room (#111) was on the top floor, had a jacuzzi, a sitting room and very romantic bedroom carved out of volcanic rock, with carved-in wardrobe and candles ready for lighting up... Just like in the movies..
We did not eat our dinners at the hotel, their menu was quite limited and overpriced. There were so many options to choose from in the surrounding area of the hotel, that we had delicious dinners at a different restaurant every night.
Every time we would pass a staff member of the hotel, they would greet us with a courteous smile and a warm greeting. They arranged a private Cappadocia tour for us upon request, called for a taxi, offered free shuttle service to and from the Nevsehir airport, arranged room service, gave their recommendations on what to visit and more.
We were very, very satisfied with the stay.
Highly recommended to all who are looking for a romantic, beautiful place to spend time with their loved ones, surrounded by amazing scenery, breathe the history, and be spoiled with the most excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulina7m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yunak Evleri for 5 nights during our trip to Turkey and had a wonderful experience ! The hotel is located on a hillside in Urgup , Cappadocia and has a beautiful view over the town- espcecially from the breakfast & dining area .
Our cave room was just great & although having all the modern comforts & amenities gave us a wonderful experience of actually living in a 2000 yr old cave !
The staff was very helpful & the breakfast very sumptuous !
Would love to visit again in some time !

Room Tip: The cave rooms do not have A/C - so try to get one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAWAS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.4 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
5.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Property: Yunak Evleri
Address: Yunak Mahallesi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urgup
#2 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunak Evleri 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing