We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This was a great location to see Cappodocia. The walk into town down the hill was about 15-20 minutes. From there, you can take the bus straight to the Goreme park (took a taxi back though - its up a steep hill). The hotel itself is comfortable and our room was "modern cave living". Our front porch featured a sofa and table so we had a bit of outdoor space. There were a few glitches - there was no safe in our room. I had to borrow a hair dryer from the front desk. Also, one night the neighborhood dogs went crazy barking all night - very annoying! The next evening it was as quiet as could be...

But, the hospitality at the front desk was genuine, the restaurant had lovely views and featured delicious Turkish dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazytravelernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

Despite what other reviewers wrote, I found the room to be old and worn, and just not as nice as it should have been at this price. Even though spacious, it seemed like it hadn't been painted or gotten new furniture in decades. I definitely had that sinking feeling when I walked in: "I paid this much money and I got this?" The bathroom had a large vent cover that was coated with years of dust. An enormous spider dropped into our bathtub. Free wireless internet works in reception area only.

Each room has an outside sitting area on a common area, and these spaces were lovely. Breakfast was terrific. The staff was nice. Nonetheless, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I was going to say Wow, but my wife says it HAS to be MAGIC!!!
We're sitting on the patio under the stars writing this after a wonderful day. Like the others we didn't know what to expect, but what a place. The room is spacious, dry, it has architectural elements (like a column and a carving in the ceiling) and a wonderful inside sitting cavelet where one can snuggle up with a book. Outside there's a small patio with a settee, table and a lounge. As mentioned before, the staff at the hotel are young, friendly and enthusiastic and go out of their way to help. After our arrival we asked about things to do that are not on our 7-day tour and were told to try the Red Valley for a sunset spectacular. We were told in detail how to get there via bus and had an adventure making it there, walking up a small mountain and enjoying the incredible view. After relaxing with a book we got ready for dinner at the hotel.'s restaurant Once again we were pleasantly surprised. You come around the corner of the terrace on one of the buildings and there are trees, grass, and tables arranged at the edge overlooking the entire valley. It's an incredibly romantic setting and not to be missed. The food was good. We had the best filled grape leaves ever and my wife got an egplant dish. I had some grilled chicken. The only minor point would be that I would have liked a bigger portion of the chicken. Keep in mind that the region is known for wines, so dinner might be the time to try some of them (well, there are also wineries in the area where you can try small samples).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSuperV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Cappadocia is beautiful, the cave hotel is very unique and I recommend it.

the positive: nice big rooms, great Jacuzzi, great design for the room, absolutely impressive and very nice cozy bed.
Absolutely amazing view!

The negative: the service and customer service was very disappointing, the breakfast was just ok and there were tons of bees which made it almost impossible to eat.
room doesn't have a television for some reason.
also no wireless internet in the rooms, only in the reception which closed around 10:30-11:00.

generally, the place is great to visit, the hotel is quite expensive, not good and plesent service at all, beautiful view.
it's ok, but I believe there are better choices in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuskus12002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Kapadokia was the most spectacular place we visited while in Turkey. Elkep Evi was part of what made spectacular. Yes, it is an honest to goodness cave but it did not lack any of the modern conveniences. We arrived at 3 in the morning and there was someone to welcome us to the hotel. We were very tired and of course we did not see anything out because it was dark but when we got up the next morning and look out of the window we were very pleasantly greeted but a gorgeous view from our window. We only ate breakfast at the hotel wish is served outside overlooking the the valley and the town. The food is fresh and the service is excellent. The staff and the reception was very pleasant and efficient. Ferda and the rest of the staff are there to help make your stay a delightful experience. Keep up the good work and best of luck to you guys!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Our amazing 4 days in Cappadocia had a lot to do with the gracious and beautiful cave hotel, Elkep Evi. Who would have thought a room carved out of a cave could be so comfortable, relaxing and well-appointed? Breakfast could not have been in a more beautiful location - a grassy rooftop garden with fruit and pine trees, roses, vines and a panoramic view of Urgup, the countryside and distant mountains. We never tired of the bountiful and healthy breakfast buffet of fruits, yogurt, cucumbers, tomatoes, olives, cheese, fresh-baked bread, spicy eggs, whole fruit preserves and more. The multi-course prix fixe dinners were delicious and reasonably priced. We found the staff accommodating and gracious, offering cookies, tea,lemonade, rides, and touring suggestions. All that and free internet wireless in the rooms and reception area - who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We were overjoyed when we walked into our room. Not knowing what to expect, but knowing the size of a typical hotel room to find not a cave room, but a cave suite was fantastic. It was decorated with class and had all the amenities and then some. The view from our "balcony" was fantastic and a short walk to stand on the "roof" had even more great views.

The staff and hosts were there to help us with every need and answer every question. They helped us arrange travel, tickets, and what sights/sites to see. They were always there with a smile and hello.

The breakfast was great and the dinners were always very good and the price was extremely fair. The view from the dining terrace was also a nice to look forward too.

The only problem for us was that all of the things we wanted to see were not in Urgup so we spent a lot of time waiting for the public bus or paying for a taxi.

If you need to stay in the Urgup area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#35 of 69 in Urgup
29 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
3.6 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $87 - $1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing