We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adds to your Cappadocia experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed December 9, 2012

(Visited in June 2010)
We arrived in Urgup via a 75 mins flight from Istanbul and there were enough taxis to take us to Urgup. Apparently, there are lots of shuttle services, but we missed them. The drive to Urgup (another 60 mins) was lovely - cutting across the Central Anatolia region.

When we reached Elkep Evi Cave Houses, we were pleasantly surprised at the amenities in the cave room - it was like full of modern stuff, but kept the cave feeling alive. I especially loved the small windows in the cave room that were at odd places and were of odd shapes...adding to the cave atmosphere.

We loved Elkep Evi's morning breakfast...a decent spread to choose from, an lovely view from the terrace garden open-air sitting, families enjoying themselves, a couple of friendly dogs/cats flirting around...so much happening and even then, the place was absolutely quiet!

Just loved it...will definitely return someday if we get the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels seemed larger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay, so our room was a cave, how cool is that?! The beds were comfortable, and the pillows were a god send. The shower was a bit strange, as there was no shower curtain available, so you had to be careful about water getting on you clothes an towel. Other than that, the view was great, the breakfasts were wonderful, and the view from the dining area is the best in the region.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Elkep Evi is quite nice. Nicely decorated. Everything is just enough.. not too much.. not too little. there are two things missing: Dinner variety is not little. menu of the day is usually a combination of previous day. And bathrooms need to be renovated and made more like a cave bathrooms. Mainrooms are fine. Beds are comfortable. Service is very friendly and quick. Location is great. so these two missing points need to be done for the perfection..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Elkep Evi cave hotel is carved into the cliffs for an authentic, but upscale, experience. The rooms were spacious and gorgeously decorated with a few carefully chosen handmade carvings and textiles. Our bath had a jacuzzi tub which was really lovely in the cold evenings. The rooms stay a comfortable temperature on their own with the natural insulation properties of cave living. In addition to the gorgeous room, we had s nice outdoor area with a sun deck and an outdoor cave for hanging out. However we didn't have time for hanging out because there was so much to do in the cappadoccia area. The hotel organized a balloon trip for us, which is an absolute "must do". And last but not least, the included breakfast was one of the better Turkish breakfasts on our trip. Fresh fruits and cakes were also served. The only drawback this hotel really has is it's price, which was a splurge, but it is gorgeous. Also it's not right in town, but up the hill. However the advantage of this is that the views of the valley are outstanding.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Elkep Evi. Our room was incredibly comfortable and obviously very unique. The staff was friendly, informative and helpful and the restaurant was great for breakfast - we also enjoyed a lovely dinner there. It's an easy walk to town (but uphill on the way back). The area is stunning and this is a lovely place to call home for your visit to Cappadoccia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was the the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in. It was extremely romantic. Truly a one of a kind experience. Everyone needs to stay in a cave hotel once in their lives. My boyfriend surprised me with this room and it will be almost impossible to beat. The attention to detail was absolutely incredible. They thought of everything. The decor was perfect. We had wine and fruit waiting for us. They even had burned cds with all types of music for you to choose from. The private balcony was cozy and romantic. The service was impeccable!

Room Tip: Suite 102 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What an unique experience. There is no point in staying in a traditional hotel when you can stay in an cave hotel. They work on every detail, room was perfect, service was great, I have no negative to say about this place. It's just 7-10 minutes away to Goreme, but Urgup town is cute too, with a lot of options. There's a lot of options of cave hotels in Cappadocia and we did a lot of research before booking this one, and with no doubt, we did great selection. Not to mention that the rates are cheap for what you receive. We booked the room 105, jacuzzi suite and it was beatufil. I recomend this place without a doubt.

Room Tip: Our room had a lot of plants on the balcony that from the outside you can even know that there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaldostripdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#35 of 69 in Urgup
29 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
3.6 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $86 - $1,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing