We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cave hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Charming cave hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Elkep Evi is in Urgup which is near the open-air museum in Cappadocia so a convenient stop for tourists seeing the sites.

PROS
1. We got upgraded to the large room with a large master bed and 2 single beds. Very spacious but with all the modern conveniences (CD Player etc). The bathroom was charming.

2. Breakfasts here are fantastic with the freshest, juiciest apricots I've ever tried. It was a great meal and one of the best breakfasts I had in Turkey

CONS

a. The staff don't speak much English so bear that in mind if you need help trying to book onward travel or tours.

b. As you would expect with a cave hotel, its a little dark inside so more lighting would be useful

c. Its a little far from the town centre so if you want to walk into town for a meal be prepared for a long uphill walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HongKongDivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    47
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
81
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great hotel starting from the design, room size, staff and room service, it's new experience which you will not forget in the such cave hotel, there were tow minor issues with this hotel, first is the breakfast hall is very small and narrow, but although you can take the breakfast in the terrace, and the second thing is the that there is no television in the rooms which is the hotel style as staff told us ( traditional style).

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We loved this little hide away. What a gem. The rooms were unique and comfortable. Perfect for lazing around and using as a base for the local sights.
Breakfast was simple and sufficient but what made this hotel was the staff. Forever attentive to your needs and questions. We hired our car and the balloon ride through the front desk after arrival and both were discounted and prompt in their service.
Make sure you venture up the hill behind the hotel. It's a very short stroll and the view along the ridge is unbelievable. You wouldn't know it was there unless you ventured up there.
We stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave.
The town has a great local feel about it. We found that Han Ciragan was a great place for a feed. But over the area of Capadocia we used the lonely planet and the trip advisor APPS which were spot on for recommendations of places to eat.
If you hire a car organise to drop it off at the airport as it's only an extra $30 as opposed to about a $70 taxi or private pickup.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with views over the vally. We preferred the ground level room as it had a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Staff is friendly; rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast.

It is at the top of the hill and away from the restaurants and markets. It is generally very quite.

There was a sewer smell outside..couldn't tell which hotel it belonged to.
Some sewer smell in bathroom from floor traps drying out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were 3 couples in 3 rooms. The 3 rooms were different but very nice, and the cave experience is very well executed.
Breakfast was included in rate and good.
Location is central to all the attractions in the region
We forgot a bag in our room, including my Kindle. The hotel sent me an email within a couple of hours, and shipped the bag to my hotel in Istanbul that same afternoon.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Tip: be sure you know how to get there if you are driving. It's not super-easy the first time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This cave hotel in Urgup provided us with another highlight in Turkey and a central location to explore all of Cappadocia. Highly recommended and advisable to book well in advance. We were lucky to arrive and get a fantastic suite high on the cliff.

Room Tip: It's a hike to the top but worth it and if you like lush gardens the bottom will satisfy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy221666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

One of the best hotels we stayed at during our two week tour of Turkey. Our cave room was spacious with two very comfortable double beds and a extra large bathroom with bathtub/shower and heated floors. the hotel had some great facilities with superb views. i particularly enjoyed the quiet and spent a couple of hours lounging on the swing enjoying the view and sun. breakfast had a good selection and eggs were made fresh to order. staff were pleasant and helpful. would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: some rooms on the upper floors have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#33 of 65 in Urgup
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#9 of 65 in Urgup
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 65 in Urgup
156 reviews
6.3 mi away
Oyku Evi Cave Hotel
Oyku Evi Cave Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ayvali
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#14 of 65 in Urgup
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Hotel

Property: Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#20 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites hotel. We also have new Cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing