We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Staff is friendly; rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast.

It is at the top of the hill and away from the restaurants and markets. It is generally very quite.

There was a sewer smell outside..couldn't tell which hotel it belonged to.
Some sewer smell in bathroom from floor traps drying out.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were 3 couples in 3 rooms. The 3 rooms were different but very nice, and the cave experience is very well executed.
Breakfast was included in rate and good.
Location is central to all the attractions in the region
We forgot a bag in our room, including my Kindle. The hotel sent me an email within a couple of hours, and shipped the bag to my hotel in Istanbul that same afternoon.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Tip: be sure you know how to get there if you are driving. It's not super-easy the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This cave hotel in Urgup provided us with another highlight in Turkey and a central location to explore all of Cappadocia. Highly recommended and advisable to book well in advance. We were lucky to arrive and get a fantastic suite high on the cliff.

Room Tip: It's a hike to the top but worth it and if you like lush gardens the bottom will satisfy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paddy221666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

One of the best hotels we stayed at during our two week tour of Turkey. Our cave room was spacious with two very comfortable double beds and a extra large bathroom with bathtub/shower and heated floors. the hotel had some great facilities with superb views. i particularly enjoyed the quiet and spent a couple of hours lounging on the swing enjoying the view and sun. breakfast had a good selection and eggs were made fresh to order. staff were pleasant and helpful. would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: some rooms on the upper floors have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed there with friends for the weekend. The room was a cave room and it was really expansive and comfortable. There was a kettle and a fridge inside the room. If it was cold outside the cave was hotter inside and if it was hot outside the cave was colder inside. It was like a natural air conditioner. There were no TV, wi-fi or mobile phone connection inside the cave. You feel there were only you and the nature. You can really have rest. There weren't any noise. We woke up with the marvellous pipes outside and very well rested. It was really amazing to sleep in a natural environment. You felt like the stone purifies all your negative energy. Room had a small garden outside to the lounge and there were day beds which were really comfortable.The staff was very kind and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. We could find different types of cheeses, olives, bread, fruits...etc...The dinner was a fixed menu and not too much expensive when you compare with the ones in town. We preffered kebab and mantı (Turkish ravioli) and they were delicious.

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular cappadocian landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shs00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband, my parents and myself stayed here for three night while we enjoyed the spectacular cappadocian landscape. The hotel has authentic cave rooms carved into the hillside and great views from the terrace (unbelievable sunset views). We landed quite late at night, and they still had a hot dinner waiting for us.
The rooms are spacious both our rooms had a single bed as well as a double bed, what I loved was the tub and instant hot water (cappadicia even in summer was quite chilly at night)
We also loved the day beds outside our room to lounge on and read and watch the sights. (you can see the baloons early in the morning)

Its quite a walk from town (ok going to town cause its down hill, its the walk back that can be tough for older people, we did it everyday it was fine :)
but close to the winery, and to Ziggys (must go!)

Breakfast is not just the standard turkish fare, they include freshly baked patisserie items, their own fruit preserves and at least three fruit options, their breakfast spread was perhaps one of the best through our turkey trip.

Dinner is a set menu (15 euros per person) which is displayed everyday so you can make up your mind to trudge into town or eat here. The service is super, and they even gave me fruit during the day when I requested it at no extra charge.
Loved it and would deff go back.

Room Tip: If you don't like to climb choose a ground floor room that opens into the garden, there are rock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Novel, fun experience staying in a cave. Heated bathroom floor, fridge, kettle, Wifi on terrace. Cute but not well appointed. It is a cave after all...
10 minute walk to cute town of Urgup. walk back is uphill but not difficult for 60+ couple. Saw 40 hot air balloons each morning at 7am from our own terrace.
The food was excellent and service superb. Dinner was good quality for price (15 euro)

Could use a bit of attention to detail on property but then we were there in April before the crowds.

Room Tip: ask for authentic cave, not newer block models
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashbeth_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#35 of 69 in Urgup
29 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
3.6 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $87 - $1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing