We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic experience! Would recommend in a heartbeat!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urgup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic experience! Would recommend in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were a group of 11 travelling for the first time to Turkey and based on Trip Advisor recommendations, booked suites at the Esbelli Evi Cave hotel and boy! Are we glad we did! The larger family stayed in the Family Cave Suite and the smaller family in the Twin Arches Suite. Both were way above expectations and the children LOVED the cave like feel of the suites. They are large, extremely comfortable and amazing - in that they have managed to put all these luxuries into, essentially, a cave!
But, if it can even be possible, the staff was even better than the rooms! From being extremely prompt in replying to emails (no matter what time I sent them!), to making all arrangements feel seamless, they were superb in every way. Friendly, courteous, polite and treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel (which was certainly not the case). The breakfast was wonderful - freshly squeezed orange juice, made to order breakfast along with the usual buffet spread. Snacks (brownies and crackers) were always available and the kids took advantage of that BIG time! Drinks (sodas and wine) were also available on a honor system.
After our 2 nights there, we were sad to leave and wished we had planned to stay at least one more night. There is so much to see and do in Capadoccia - we LOVED every minute of it!
Thank You Yasemin and Tarik for making our experience so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyJ520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
138
238
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I struggled here and almost gave a fifth star, but settled for four. Here's why...

The rooms are enormous. They are really more like homes, which makes sense because that's what they were converted from. Rest assured that you will have room to move around. We stayed in the family cave suite and another family travelling with us stayed in the twin arch cave suite. Both were wonderful, though the family cave suite gets the nod for feeling more like being inside a cave. Furnishings are functional and I would say that the beauty of the rooms is absolutely better than represented by the hotel's website pictures. This is one of those rare places where the pictures online just don't do justice to the in-person experience. Toiletries are basic. Stocked fridges and honor system drinks are a nice touch.

The location itself in Urgup is not spectacular. While he view from the breakfast deck is nice in one direction, the view isn't going to take your breath away. The hotel is certainly convenient to anything you'd want to do, but I think the hotels in Uchisar have an advantage for setting.

Service was absolutely perfect, and that is actually important here. We had planned nothing in advance. We just showed up with a vague list of things we wanted to do in the area. The hotel staff arranged everything for us within minutes. Drivers and air conditioned vans, balloon rides, restaurant recommendations, airport transfers. They were spectacular. Perfectly fluent in English (though we had several Turkish speakers with us so it wouldn't have been an issue anyway). Breakfast was basic turkish - cheeses, breads, olives, tomatoes, cucumber and made to order omelets. I will add that the omelets were amazing. It is hard to make an omelet amazing, right? But both mornings, everyone in our party had the same conviction. Perfectly cooked, perfect concentration of ingredients. Whatever. It is a weird point to highlight, but I felt like I had to say it.

When you stay at Esbelli you feel like you are part of the family there. You live among a group of cave homes and feel like you are part of a compound - not a hotel. It is unique and special. It doesn't get the fifth star just because the view from the breakfast area is not breathtaking, and there is no full service restaurant for meals other than breakfast. There is also no pool, which could be a drawback if you need to occupy half a day without wandering through fairy castles or underground cities.

But I would recommend this hotel absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pharmanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time in Esbelli Evi. If you ever plan a trip to Cappadocia then this is the place to be.Excellent location very comfortable and big rooms. Yasemin and Tariq were really helpful. Very efficient management. Hospitality par excellence. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smritib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful, tranquil, unique hotels I have ever experienced. My husband and I stayed in the Colorband suite. The afternoon that we checked in, a thunderstorm moved through and as it quietly rained, we relaxed on our little private patio, sheltered by the cave watching lightning in the distance. The staff is extremely helpful, the breakfast is beautiful and fresh, the view from the breakfast patio is amazing. It is simply a most beautiful place and I highly recommend a stay here. We stayed for 3 nights. There is so much to do and see in this area, I would have liked one more night. We were traveling with two other couples. There are lots of places to socialize with friends throughout the hotel property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a wonderful small hotel! It hits all the right buttons - the location in Urgup is fantasic; the rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable (we stayed in the family suite - it was HUGE!); Yasemin and her warm, friendly staff go above and beyond to accommodate your requests and make you feel comfortable; and the amenities are great - terrific breakfasts on the lovely terrace, cold beverages in the mini-fridge, delightful wines and cocktails available for self-serve. I felt so well taken care of.

After we left Esbelli Evi, we went to a super fancy five star hotel in Istanbul and I must say, it paled in comparison (well, except for the pool - that is the *only* thing I would add to this otherwise perfect spot).

I am sure there are other nice cave hotels in Cappadocia but I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our friend recommended this hotel and we booked without asking questions. We were surprised and delighted upon our arrival. Yasemin greeted us warmly upon our arrival and showed us to our lovely, elegant cave suite. Very comfortable with quality, lovely furnishings and more amenities than we expected. The location is quiet and convenient and we wish we we're staying longer than two nights. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and we were more than pleased. What a delight!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Okay, you are staying in a cave, but you would never know it. Suha Ersoz makes you feel right at home. Our room was large as was the bathroom and everything was spotless. We had a little patio outside the door where we ate snacks and enjoyed the sunshine. Situated at the top of a hill, it's a bit of a walk to and from town, but the cab ride is cheap and when you are at the hotel, the views are fabulous. Complimentary water was so nice and appreciated for the hot hikes in the rocks. Complimentary fruit and snacks were available in the afternoon. Beer and wine was available on the honor system. Breakfast was very good and they even had an egg menu. My husband had the omelet one morning and scrambled the next. I ordered soft boiled, all were perfectly done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.1 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.4 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 65 in Urgup
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hezen Cave Hotel
Hezen Cave Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Property: Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urgup
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine small inn of comfortable cave rooms hewn from the golden stone, with beautiful views of the Cappadocian landscape, and the warmest welcome you'll receive in Turkey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esbelli Evi Urgup
Esbelli Evi Hotel Urgup
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing