We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Last month, we stayed at Fresco with our friends from Adana. Fresco is an old ottoman-muslim house that was restorated in recent years. It is new and so welcoming. Manager, staff is so helpful and hospitable. Hotel is as if living now but taked you to 1800s. The photos on the walls which are related to building in past, people lived in this house in 1908 and others. Cats and a sweety dog are also so nice. Even they have taken the possession of hotel. You do not have time to get bored. All the time the hotel staff can find you activities like balloon tour, horse riding, trekking or close area trekkings within walking distance from hotel... Regarding the hotel physical structure, rooms are well decorated. All decoration is so lean and charming. Breakfeast is well enough and options of local foods.

If you are planning to go Cappadocia, one of the best destinations is Urugup. It is small and sweety town like village. Since the hotel is in old city center, you can find both historical and modern city in walking distance. Restaurants are so close. As a summary, we were so satisfied from Fresco, staff and location. We discovered lots of things like local foods, local culture, history of Urgup city via hotel staff and the owner of the hotel. Hope to see them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on the site for us and we are very grateful for your wonderful feedback.

Also, The team and I are delighted that your experience was enjoyable. It was our great pleasure taking care of you.

Please do not forget you have a home and lots of friends in Cappadocia. Hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 491 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

I traveled with my girlfriend to Cappadocia and found a great hotel in a very nice city called Urgup.

The hotel is like to be in heaven. With experience in high quality hotels around the world, I can say that Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions overcome our expectations in every aspect, turning it in our favorite.

Great location (near down town and restaurants), comfortable, clean, nice breakfast, nice restaurant, safe, quiet to sleep, perfect service will make your best choice in Cappadocia.

Also I would like to express my best regards to Gamze who is the Manager of this great hotel. She helped us a lot during our stayed with a very professional and high quality service.

Thank you for make our stay in Fresco one of the best of our life and we hope to come back soon.

Best regards,

Tomás Valdivia Sáenz

Room Tip: I checked all room and all are perfect. It will up your budget but I can say that worth all the ti...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomasvaldivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Tomas,
I would like to thank you for your great review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivate us more than anything and show us we are on the right path.

Please donot forget you have a lots of friends and a home in cappadocia

Hope to see you again.

Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel was exceptional in every way. Gamze, the general manager always helped my family with recommendations for food, places to visit, etc.. The buffet in the morning was nice and had many egg options. The rooms- cave and mansion room- were both large, clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great locations to walk to town. Fresco really made our trip to Cappadocia incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSRtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. It is a pleasure to meet you and your family. I am also happy that you enjoy your programmme, I was made for you. Please do not forget you have a home and lots of friends in Cappadocia.

Hope to see you soon

Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was close to town, and because we wanted the experience of sleeping in a cave. It satisfied both needs, but especially thrived in service, always going beyond our expectations. Because my family went off season, Gamze, the manager, helped us with anything we needed. The rooms were very big as were the bathrooms, and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMRtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. I am very happy to meet you and your wonderful family.Off season and high season, everytime, me and my team are ready to help and give comfortable accamondotion to our quests.We try to do our best to make your stay unforgettable. I wish you could come Cappadocia and visit us again.

Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We traveled with a multi-generational party of 8. Every single member of our group felt this was a fantastic hotel. We stayed in a cave room, which was charming including natural light through the ceiling. Others stayed in a mansion room which was very large with a large sitting room and adjoining sleeping rooms.

What was most impressive about the hotel was Gamze's service and helpfulness. When someone in our party needed some medical advice for minor issues, she helped contact local doctor friends to provide some assistance. We were looking for a cooking class and she arranged a home visit where the kids got to prepare dishes and visit a local family. Her restaurant recommendations were excellent. Gamze is an example of why small boutique hotels have an important role in the travel industry, as no large chain hotel can replace the personnel warmth and attention to detail that she provided.

Even without the service, I would recommend the hotel for a couple of additional reasons - especially if you don't have a car. The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the small town of Urgup. It is a charming town (especially compared with Goreme which is more commericial) with enough restaurants to choose from for a few days visit. There was a supermarket in town where we bought wonderful oranges for the equivalent of USD $0.07. You can also walk into the non-touristy part of Urgup. There are other hotels which appear to have high ratings and also good reviews - but I would recommend a hotel where you can walk to a town (whether Urgup or Goreme) as taxis can be somewhat expensive.

We traveled to Urgup in late December which was off-peak. We could walk into any restaurant and get a table. My sense is that travelling to Urgup in peak season would be a different experience.

When you book request either a cave room or mansion room at booking.

Room Tip: When you reserve, book either a cave room or mansion room at time of booking. Each room is unique.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Richard,
Thank you so much for such as a great review. We are really happy to meet you and your great family. We always think that travelers are not our customer, they are our guests and Fresco is our home. When our quests visit us, we apprciate to show them our culture and our hospitality. Thank you so much for mentioning the location too. We are very close to city centre.Ürgüp is in centre of Cappadocia, our quests can reach every where by bus or taxi.
Thank you so much again for taking your time to write this great review.
Please do not forget that you have friends and a home in Cappadocia.
Hope to see you soon
Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at two places in Cappadocia, this was another one that exceeded our expectatons. It was offseason and not many guests but it only made it more friendly when enjoying a top breakfast buffet.

What made this hotel was Gamze's, manager's exceptional service, the restaurant service and food and nice short walk into town for more delicious food.

Thank you Gamze for recommendations on sightseeing!

Room Tip: We had the second level suite near the restaurant and was fine, some might not like being right in t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abcsAbcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am happy to hear that you enjoy your visit. We are only 150m away from city center so it is easy to recommend our quests restaurants and shoppings.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. I am very happy to meet you and your wife.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel built into the rock with beautiful views and only a short walk from town. The rooms were large with all the amenities and we found the staff very attentive and friendly. My mother had a birthday at the time of our visit and we where treated to complimentary fruit and wine which we thought was a nice touch. The hotel was an option on a tour we booked to the region and for what we got, we thought it was great value. Deserving of its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Brad,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a great review and I am delighted that you found the whole experience amazing
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warmest regards
Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 66 in Urgup
960 reviews
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
960 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions

Address: Musa Efendi Mah. Esat Aga Sk. No:15 | Eski Kayakapi Girisi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $80 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you are ready to feel different, a taste of poetry, a vacation is waiting for you." Within walking distance of Urgup city's center and nestled in the old historical district, Fresco Konaklari is a wonderfully restored hotel that is the combination of several historically registered mansions featuring original wall frescoes dating back to the 19th century of the Ottoman period. Fresco Konaklari is centrally located on the edge of old and new Urgup, providing plenty of wonderful scenic cobble stone streets and paths to explore old ancient district Kayakapi or Temenni Hill and also offers the magic view of Erciyes Mountain in a distance with new Urgup spread at the front. Colorful Turkish Ottoman Style Rooms and cave rooms makes the hotel unique in Cappadocia. Mansions are also only an hour's ride away from both regional airports; Kayseri Airport is 60 kms away and Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 55 kms away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing