We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really?? Very romantic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After looking at Cappadocia beautiful landscaping with all the rock formations, the caves, the underground cities, you can't imagine this hotel will offer you a piece of such a beauty right there at your room. This hotel is amazing! Great location, great staff, and the greatest room!! It looks like a cave but feels like a palace, it' huge and beatiful. The breakfast was delicious, be ready to eat a lot, and the property is so chic and romantic, I didn't want to leave! Excellent!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Adriana,
Thank you so much for your great review. Your comments are really important for us, when I and my team read our quest reviews, we become very happy all day:). We hope to see you again.
Warmest regards
Gamze T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 515 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel set into the hills just above Urgup in walking distance to all downtown facilities. Great views from the terrace. We were upgraded to a deluxe cave room which included a sitting area, large sleeping area, and huge bathroom with tub and separate shower. Everything was first class. Breakfast was very good, not excellent, because the coffee was "Nescafé". We've taken more of a liking to Nescafé which is ubiquitous inTurkey but it still doesn't measure up to fresh brewed. Management tells us they are looking into adding a real Turkish coffee in the near future. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Alex, Thank you so much for your positive review and grade that you gave us on tripadvisor. We are very lucky to host you. And your comments are really important for us to improve our selves. We have to improve our drink's menu. Especially coffee types.Now we are working on it. Thank you. We hope to see again in near future.
Warmest regards
Gamze T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was surprisingly beautiful. Large rooms and bathroom. Separate sitting room with a sofa. High arched ceilings and very spacious. The service from the staff is very good and friendly. The location is very good , just a short walk to the center of the town, yet isolated and peaceful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cappadocia area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoO350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Eduardo,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cappadocia.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in March with a group travelling around Turkey. Loved the room, spacious, huge ceilings, lovely amenities. Breakfast was carefully thought out - all homemade products, great service. Loved this area - Urgup - cute little town. We wandered just a couple streets over from the tourist area to where the locals shopped and ate...had the most amazing Turkish pizza which they served with sprigs of parsley and lemon...my mouth is still watering.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a cave room to get the full effect. The Mansion rooms were well appointed but jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for you positive review and room tips. You are right our cave room and mansion room hasnot got the same ambience. One of them is original cave room and the other is historical colorful mansion room. In that mansion rooms, we have 150 years old frescos. We have 17 rooms but all is diffrent tah the other:) We were very happy to host you in Fresco. We hope to see you again.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very nicely kept, clean hotel. Ask your travel agent to put your here! We traveled during the low season, so no dinner at the hotel. There are restaurants within 10 minutes up and down the hill so no issue here. Truly an unique hotel with nicely cave finishes. Will definitely come back if we back in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy to host you in Fresco. Actually you have to make reservation for our restaurant. Because we are making set menu which includes local traditional foods. We can also arrange private meal for our vegetarian quest too.
When you would like to stay with us again as we would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

stay for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. excellent service! will go and stay this hotel if i have chance to go again. extremely friendly, helpful and kind staffs. very good breakfast. thumb up! recommend to all, couple, single, with family. Staff is helpful and show us the place to purchase the medicine. All of us are sick when reach hotel. highly recommend!! super cosy, super comfortable! the best hotel we stayed and enjoy very much

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airy2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. I hope you and your friends are better now. We really want to see you again. And I am very happy to hear that you enjoy your stay.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Fresco is a great family-run hotel, of course, there are people who prefer big hotels instead of family-run hotels, so it's not for everyone. If you're a guy who likes the Hilton and other big hotels with the softest beds, the biggest TV's, or have good restaurants in them then go somewhere else, but if you're the type of guy who loves hotels that put special care in helping each visitor than this is the place. For example, the family gave us:
- A free bottle wine
- Several bracelets

Fresco has a large and spectacular building as their hotel which gives you plenty of room to relax and enjoy the scenery while also giving a style that makes you feel like you're in a version of the caves in Cappadocia. The building is made out of sandstone blocks and until I started typing this I hadn't put the fact that they are a small family and that this is such a spectacular building together, I wonder how they built it, anyways the building has three different floors:
- Lobby
- Cafe/Hotel Rooms Floor
- Lounge/Hotel Rooms Foor
The lobby has the check-in area, a semi-business room that they sometimes used themselves, a mini-lounge with a few couches, a fireplace, and a stack of magazines and travel books, and the family's dog which you can play with. Because this is a family-run hotel the check-in area was happy to help you with lots of things, including:
- Giving visitors maps
- Giving advice about where to go to eat (They suggest Somine and Muti, both spectacular restaurants)
- Organizing hot air balloon rides for visitors

The cafe/HR floor had their cafe and some of their hotel rooms. The cafe has okay food and choices are:
- Chocolate croissants
- Cereal
- Fruit
- Bread
Along with a few other foods. The cafe is free but is only open for breakfast.

The lounge/HR floor is at the top. The lounge has a few chairs and has a balcony so you can sight see from the hotel.

Okay, now let's get started on the rooms, these rooms were actual caves and have lots of nice touches like:
- A TV, it's a little small, and the volume is always low but it still works and hear it as long as you aren't talking
- Free Wi-Fi, a little fuzzy because of all the stone but is still good 95% of the time
- A safe
Of course there a few bad things like:
- The twin beds aren't super soft, it was similar to the softness of rubber, or card board
- It's a long walk to the main part of the city, although that could be an advantage, you could lose weight

I also have a video describing it on YouTube
http://m.youtube.com/watchv=P00si_qcKw0

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Zach,
Wow!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and video. Your parents told me about your travel blog. I wish you could write here the address. We are very lucky to meet you and your parents and your parents are very lucky to have a boy like you.
Each guest is important for us and we are trying to do our best to make their holiday unforgetable one.
Our king size bed is the same quality and brand with the Hilton. But you are right, our extra bed is not soft. Because we use them for the sofa, in the living room, too. And because of being a new hotel, the sponge, inside the bed, is not super soft. But I wish you could tell me about this problem. Because when our quest request the soft bed, we put normal bed to their room. In these days we are going to make little changings in your room. For example we put more lighting and we changed the TV's place.
Thank you so much again for the review, We hope to see you and your parents again.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
4.6 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.5 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#8 of 69 in Urgup
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions

Address: Musa Efendi Mah. Esat Aga Sk. No:15 | Eski Kayakapi Girisi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $64 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you are ready to feel different, a taste of poetry, a vacation is waiting for you." Within walking distance of Urgup city's center and nestled in the old historical district, Fresco Konaklari is a wonderfully restored hotel that is the combination of several historically registered mansions featuring original wall frescoes dating back to the 19th century of the Ottoman period. Fresco Konaklari is centrally located on the edge of old and new Urgup, providing plenty of wonderful scenic cobble stone streets and paths to explore old ancient district Kayakapi or Temenni Hill and also offers the magic view of Erciyes Mountain in a distance with new Urgup spread at the front. Colorful Turkish Ottoman Style Rooms and cave rooms makes the hotel unique in Cappadocia. Mansions are also only an hour's ride away from both regional airports; Kayseri Airport is 60 kms away and Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 55 kms away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing