We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cave hotel with excellent room and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cave hotel with excellent room and service!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very nicely kept, clean hotel. Ask your travel agent to put your here! We traveled during the low season, so no dinner at the hotel. There are restaurants within 10 minutes up and down the hill so no issue here. Truly an unique hotel with nicely cave finishes. Will definitely come back if we back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy to host you in Fresco. Actually you have to make reservation for our restaurant. Because we are making set menu which includes local traditional foods. We can also arrange private meal for our vegetarian quest too.
When you would like to stay with us again as we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
140
181
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

stay for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. excellent service! will go and stay this hotel if i have chance to go again. extremely friendly, helpful and kind staffs. very good breakfast. thumb up! recommend to all, couple, single, with family. Staff is helpful and show us the place to purchase the medicine. All of us are sick when reach hotel. highly recommend!! super cosy, super comfortable! the best hotel we stayed and enjoy very much

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airy2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. I hope you and your friends are better now. We really want to see you again. And I am very happy to hear that you enjoy your stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Fresco is a great family-run hotel, of course, there are people who prefer big hotels instead of family-run hotels, so it's not for everyone. If you're a guy who likes the Hilton and other big hotels with the softest beds, the biggest TV's, or have good restaurants in them then go somewhere else, but if you're the type of guy who loves hotels that put special care in helping each visitor than this is the place. For example, the family gave us:
- A free bottle wine
- Several bracelets

Fresco has a large and spectacular building as their hotel which gives you plenty of room to relax and enjoy the scenery while also giving a style that makes you feel like you're in a version of the caves in Cappadocia. The building is made out of sandstone blocks and until I started typing this I hadn't put the fact that they are a small family and that this is such a spectacular building together, I wonder how they built it, anyways the building has three different floors:
- Lobby
- Cafe/Hotel Rooms Floor
- Lounge/Hotel Rooms Foor
The lobby has the check-in area, a semi-business room that they sometimes used themselves, a mini-lounge with a few couches, a fireplace, and a stack of magazines and travel books, and the family's dog which you can play with. Because this is a family-run hotel the check-in area was happy to help you with lots of things, including:
- Giving visitors maps
- Giving advice about where to go to eat (They suggest Somine and Muti, both spectacular restaurants)
- Organizing hot air balloon rides for visitors

The cafe/HR floor had their cafe and some of their hotel rooms. The cafe has okay food and choices are:
- Chocolate croissants
- Cereal
- Fruit
- Bread
Along with a few other foods. The cafe is free but is only open for breakfast.

The lounge/HR floor is at the top. The lounge has a few chairs and has a balcony so you can sight see from the hotel.

Okay, now let's get started on the rooms, these rooms were actual caves and have lots of nice touches like:
- A TV, it's a little small, and the volume is always low but it still works and hear it as long as you aren't talking
- Free Wi-Fi, a little fuzzy because of all the stone but is still good 95% of the time
- A safe
Of course there a few bad things like:
- The twin beds aren't super soft, it was similar to the softness of rubber, or card board
- It's a long walk to the main part of the city, although that could be an advantage, you could lose weight

I also have a video describing it on YouTube
http://m.youtube.com/watchv=P00si_qcKw0

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Zach,
Wow!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and video. Your parents told me about your travel blog. I wish you could write here the address. We are very lucky to meet you and your parents and your parents are very lucky to have a boy like you.
Each guest is important for us and we are trying to do our best to make their holiday unforgetable one.
Our king size bed is the same quality and brand with the Hilton. But you are right, our extra bed is not soft. Because we use them for the sofa, in the living room, too. And because of being a new hotel, the sponge, inside the bed, is not super soft. But I wish you could tell me about this problem. Because when our quest request the soft bed, we put normal bed to their room. In these days we are going to make little changings in your room. For example we put more lighting and we changed the TV's place.
Thank you so much again for the review, We hope to see you and your parents again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights in this beautiful hotel. Things were great from the start as we were given free upgrades by two levels from what we had booked. The rooms are quite spectacular and really quite different from anywhere else we have stayed in the past.

The staff went over and above in making this a pleasant stay. They assisted in sorting out and fitting snow chains for us and organised airport transfers when the weather became too bad for us to drive as initially planned.

I have nothing but praise for both the hotel and the staff. Highly reccomend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Fresco.We were very happy to meet all of you.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, it was a short but perfect stay. If going to Capadocia, it is a must-stay hotel. People is extremely friendly and helpful, familiar atmosphere, excellent breakfest. We were in our honeymoon and they prepared a welcome flower and wine thing, really sweet. The hotel is cosy, full of pictures of the history of the place, a lot of culture in every space of the hotel. I really really recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilia_Nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Marilia,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy to host you in Fresco.
We hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I travelled with friends and they were kind enough to give us 3 rooms that joined together to become a beautiful suite. This was, by far, the best place we stayed in Turkey. It is lovely and the staff was wonderful. Very friendly, accommodating, gave us a great suggestion as to where to have dinner. The food at their restaurant was also lovely. Do not miss it! I would love to go back some time.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room, but if you need several rooms see if they will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llhcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here.It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back .
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed three nights at Fresco Cave Suites and Mansions. After a week in Istanbul and travelling in other parts of Turkey, it was wonderful to make this our home base. When we checked in they notified us that we had been upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. The room was lovely and very comfortable. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub.

The staff at Fresco made us feel very much at home and helped us with any advice we needed. Would definitely recommend Fresco to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirlBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresco K, Manager at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and we were very happy to hear that you feel that you are at home. We hope to welcome you again.
Warm regards
Gamze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.6 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions

Property: Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Address: Musa Efendi Mah. Esat Aga Sk. No:15 | Eski Kayakapi Girisi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you are ready to feel different, a taste of poetry, a vacation is waiting for you." Within walking distance of Urgup city's center and nestled in the old historical district, Fresco Konaklari is a wonderfully restored hotel that is the combination of several historically registered mansions featuring original wall frescoes dating back to the 19th century of the Ottoman period. Fresco Konaklari is centrally located on the edge of old and new Urgup, providing plenty of wonderful scenic cobble stone streets and paths to explore old ancient district Kayakapi or Temenni Hill and also offers the magic view of Erciyes Mountain in a distance with new Urgup spread at the front. Colorful Turkish Ottoman Style Rooms and cave rooms makes the hotel unique in Cappadocia. Mansions are also only an hour's ride away from both regional airports; Kayseri Airport is 60 kms away and Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 55 kms away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing