We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience!”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Puttlingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best hotel experience!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel. We did not know what to expect, but it was more that any possible expectation we could have had. We had the Roman room. This room is fantastic and spellbinding, and it is the cleanest room I have visited so far in a hotel in Turkey and other parts of the world! It is so comfortable that is difficult to wake up and leave the room. The breakfast was lovely and the service incredible. The two ladies in the kitchen will do anything to make you happy! Eating at the breakfast with a great view is also unforgettable. All these great things and experience were constantly enhanced by the warmth and hospitality of the hotel staff, especially Adna and Colleen. They made us feel at home! They gave us tons of tips and they taught us a lot of things about Cappadoccia. Colleen sat down with us several times over breakfast to go over the things to do and see, and one can see that is a pleasure for her to do that :-) Adna took us to experience some adventures in the area! It was really fantastic. A great experience that I recommend to anyone visiting Capadoccia.
Unfortunately, we had planned this trip in advance with two cave hotels, so after 4 nights we left to our second booked hotel which had some premium caves, but this one did not match (by far) the hospitality, service, and amazing feeling we had in Cave Konak! Hotel Konak is now our best hotel experience! Thanks Adna, Colleen, and staff for this experience. We'll come back!!!
Dr. Amauri Cruz

Room Tip: We were happy with the Roman room! I think is excellent and brings the experience of a cave to its f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amauri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your extremely thoughtful review. We have of course already passed on your praise to our staff, who smile even more to know their hard work both at breakfast and in cleaning the rooms is truly appreciated.

Having a small hotel means that we can get to know each of our guests individually, especially if they stay for a few days. Chatting about everyday things and life experiences as well as Cappadocia is truly a pleasure for us; an integral part of our hospitality that can help you feel at home even in a foreign place.

We thank you, too, for sharing your hospitality with us on your last evening in Cappadocia – I shall send the photo as soon as I post this reply :)

We hope to see both of you again – you are always welcome at your special “cave home in Cappadocia”. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
120
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Location fantastic as you are right in heart of Urgup and you can walk around the shops and restaurants etc especially after a hard day of tour.
The caved hotel is what it says it is you have to climb up and down all over the place and there is so many small lovely cozy corners. Breakfast is right on top in the terrace. The view there is fantastic. And the room is lovely decorated in Turkish style although it could have been equipped with a kettle for coffee and tea. The bathroom is very modern and as big as the bedroom.
The jewel of the hotel is Colleen. We planned out trip and booked all our tours through her before arriving. She resolves all your problems and get everything arranged for your holiday. Most hospitable and warm and friendly. I chose the hotel as I read about her from other travelers. No regrets!
The mosque in right in front you might want a room facing another direction. We were not disturbed by it as we were knock out after the day´s outing. Thanks once again Colleen!

Room Tip: Avoid room on the ground floor if you want to be totally isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your interesting review. You hit the spot when you point out that our hotel is located in the heart of Urgup – we are in an old street overlooking the town center, so everything you need is literally at your feet. Our hotel is really a collection of old houses joined together, so there are surprising ways to get from one area to another. And yes, we can help with tour arrangements and balloon flights before you get here – so important for the busy season: millions of people come to Cappadocia every year, so please don’t assume that we can get what you want at the last minute – while we always do our best to help, advanced booking can usually get exactly what you want. Wishing you many happy travels with love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days in this great Hotel and had great hospitality from Adanan and collin .
It is lovely place with nice and clean rooms and with lovely breakfast at marvelous terrace.
Both were extremely helpful and I strongly recommend this hotel if u r visiting capadosia.
Dr Nitin.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your contribution is very valuable to us. We love to help all our guests make the most of their time in Cappadocia. and we all wish you many happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked only one night at this hotel for a whirlwind tour through Cappadocia.
We arrived early @ around 0900 and had requested an early checkin prior to arrival.
While they were not able to guarentee the early checkin we were able to go straight to our rooms.
No hassle at check-in, and they were extrememly helpful in getting our bags to the rooms and just making us feel welcome.

Rooms - We booked two rooms. Both were very unique. We have four kids so we booked one room which was the Seljuk Suite. This room had two seperate bedrooms with a communal hallway. There was also private rooftop terrace access which gave you a nice view of the city and access to the break fast area. My wife and I booked into the Byzantine Suite which was one floor down from the main lobby area. Reputedly it had been used for making wine in the past. This room definitely had a cave feel to it, but had all the modern ameneties to make for a pleasant stay. Wifi, hot showers, nice lighting, etc.

Food - Didn't eat the breakfast just due to our scheduling. We saw it the first day. I would term it a basic Turkish breakfast. Looked fresh, kids ate after our balloon ride with no complaints.

Serivce - Excellent. Colleen could not have been more helpful and friendly. She gave great advice on dining venues (she had suggested Ikinci Bahar which fed a family a six a fantastic meal of more than we could eat for less than 60TL). She helped book our guided tour the first day and also helped with arranging the transfers from the airports. She also suggested a good bar for us to watch the world cup just around the corner.

Location - Excellent location for walking into town. Plenty of eating establishments and shopping within a few minutes walk.

Return airport shuttle was about one hour, crowded, with a very hilly and curvy route. If you have kids that get carsick, take a bonine before you get on the bus we almost had an incident...

Room Tip: Byzantine Room for Cave experience. Suljuk Room comfortably sleeps four (two singles in one room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couchczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your appreciative review. We also thank you for helping us to help you. You were clear about the main aims of your visit as well as any special requests and concerns. All this help us to understand you before we ever met – hence we were able to make the best recommendations. Warmest wishes from all of the Cave Konak Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

had a wonderful stay for 2 nights at cave konak. the host Colleen helped me finding the best ballooning experience and helped me to discover the best of Cappadocia region. would definately recommend this hotel to anybody going to Cappadocia. The hotel has a wonderful location near the main market aswell. Breakfast served is great. Terrace views are awesome

Room Tip: rooms in the basement are typical cave like
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockafellerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for your thoughtful comments. Our guests typically spend just a couple of nights here and we are always willing to help with suggestions of how to see the best of the best in Cappadocia. Being right next to the town center is an added bonus (so handy for everyday needs), and we are so lucky with the spectacular views from our terrace. Love from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay for an incredible visit to Urgup! Our room was a beautiful surprise – the amenities, design, lighting, furnishings, cleanliness all created a superb experience, you are surrounded by ancient authenticity, but in the comfort of new luxury! Such attention to detail! Our favorite spot was outside, up above the rooms, on the terrace for breath-taking views for our morning breakfast, and peaceful sitting after dark with all of the lights in the town. Adnan and Colleen were so helpful in guiding us to the right locations for experiencing all of Cappadocia, and then the perfect spot for our dinners in Urgup. You can walk to everything in town. Their hospitality is over the top – They genuinely express care for their guests in every way! The entire staff is attentive and hospitable. I can not think of anything that could be better !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for your “perfect” review! Our central location and the views from our terrace are certainly an advantage for all our guests. But thank you most of all for appreciating the “ancient authenticity” of our restoration. We definitely feel rewarded by your comments :) Wishing you many happy travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A beautiful ,clean and friendly small hotel.The eastern hospitality and British standard of cleanliness has made this lovely boutique hotel a success .Right next to town center and surrounded by beautiful scenery .The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated ,matching the feel of this area ,beautiful new bathrooms, good and plenty variety for breakfast. There were 16 of us and all the rooms were fantastic. Great for family and friends travelling in a group.Highly recommend it.Thank you Colleen you were amazing helping with all balloon and great tour leader Senam.

Room Tip: The WiFi is not very good but I think this is every where in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and for your warmth and friendship. We loved having your group stay with us. You made everything easy for us to arrange so your trip ran smoothly. Love to all of you from all of us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 76 in Goreme
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Property: Hotel Cave Konak
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing