We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave stay in beautiful Cappadocia.”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cave suites. I believe ours was the 'Byzantine'. Who knew a cave could be so luxurious. We stayed for 2 nights and would have been thrilled to stay longer. Such lovely warm staff. Fabulous and generous breakfast.
We had limited time so Colleen helped us hit the ground running with two amazing day tours and an unmissable balloon ride. So grateful for her sound advice. It made our stay.
Urgup is a great choice of village to stay. Big enough to explore. Not so big that it loses that special village feel.
Thankyou to Colleen and all at Hotel Cave Konak.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flickola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks for your beautiful review! We are pleased our efforts helped make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one. We have been so lucky with our staff; they are so willing to help and they do put on a wonderful breakfast spread.

The Byzantine Suite is a well loved underground cave suite having a large bathroom with two showers in the same large shower unit. (Information for other readers: it is easy to check availability of particular rooms and any offers from our own cavekonak website)

If I could add anything about Urgup I would say that it is big enough not to become touristville, it mixes traditional and modern life in a very comfortable way, and the local people are very friendly. Thanks again for your fabulous review. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

From my initial interactions via email through to departure on the final day, my experiences with this hotel were nothing but positive. I received a wonderful warm welcome on arrival, with the accommodation exceeding my expectations. A big plus for this hotel is that it is so conveniently situated close to the centre of the town but it offers a peaceful retreat at the end of the day.
The staff (and in particular Colleen) went out of their way to assist me with a number of things (including booking me onto 2 great day tours) but particularly when the flights for the next leg of my trip were unexpectedly cancelled. They also offered support (even if it was just a shoulder to cry on) when, due to a bank issue, my credit cards would not work and I found myself temporarily cash-less. I can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Ottoman Stone Arched Suite. This is comprised of 3 rooms on different levels - the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gregcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and high recommendation. We are glad we could help with your flight problem, even if it was simply by providing Internet access via our own computer, handing you the phone and offering tea and sympathy.

We hope that you now have your bank problem sorted and that it was not a major difficulty. Hope you have many happy travels. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the Byzantium Suite at Hotel Cave Konak for 3 nights in late April. We wanted somewhere that would let us experience the famous Capadoccia caves but wouldn't entirely break our budget. Hotel Cave Konak was absolutely perfect. The people who run it - Adnan and Colleen, are really wonderful hosts. They were so helpful and understanding about the fact we couldn't really afford all the guided tours and explained the local busses, drawing out fantastic maps that would let us do beautiful walks in the valleys on our own. The accommodation itself was also fantastic. In all honesty, despite the beauties of Capadoccia, we struggled to leave the hotel room as we felt so comfy and at home in our cave, which possessed possibly the comfiest bed I have ever stayed in. And definitely the best bathroom we have ever used!

All in all I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great tay in Capadoccia with amazing local insight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Great to hear from you, and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We knew you enjoyed your stay, and it’s so rewarding to know that our suggestions made your time here special.

The Byzantine Suite is an original underground cave (with skylights) and all our rooms have the same comfortable beds.

Both Adnan and I are very knowledgeable about Cappadocia and we can help anyone with any budget have an incredible time here. If you are relying on local transportation only, you should allow an extra day or two in the area because local busses are not geared to tourism. We also have contacts with the best private guides of the region, and we can advise on value for money group tours, too.

Thanks again for your fantastic review. We wish you many happy travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were were a family group ranging from age 6 to 84 staying in gorgeosuly appointed rooms for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. Co-owners Colleen & Adnana were excellent hosts and provided tons of advice regarding activities, excursions and restaurants that were all spot-on. The hotel is an atmospheric and central location in the lovely town of Urgup - we could easily walk to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable, large and well appointed. We had 2 large family suites with huge bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The breakfast had an excellent and delicious variety, omelets/eggs prepared to order and good selection of buffet style foods.
The service overall was great, property very clean, and the owners always available to answer questions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yylewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, which included so many good points. Actually we have just learnt that we are a TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner! So we would also like to thank all our former guests again for their wonderful reviews.

At Cave Konak Hotel, we have a big warm welcome for guests of all ages and we always love to share our knowledge of Cappadocia. Adnan has been a tour guide for many years, and I used to teach in the tour guiding department at the nearby university. So between us we can answer nearly all questions and help guests with great suggestions for activities and places to visit.

We loved having your charming family stay with us and hope to see you again some time soon. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for the incredible experience of sleeping in a cave, don't hesitate to stay at Cave Konak Hotel, Urgup, Turkey. The service is very personalized, and Coleen makes sure you are well informed and as she speaks Turkish, can help translate with any unforseen situation. The room we stayed in was large, confortable, roomy. The bathroom was very large and had two showers, very practical!
Be mindful that this is an authentic cave, therefore, if you think you are claustrophobic, take some precautions (like taking sedatives). We really enjoyed our stay, it's close to the center of town so you can walk around everywhere. Friendly staff, great value for the money, clean, great breakfast... cannot recommend a better place to stay in Urgup, Capadoccia, Turkey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, we like the personal touch and really want guests to feel that this is their home in Cappadocia. We have some very unique underground cave rooms as well as historical rooms above ground.

You are right; the underground caves are not for the claustrophobic. However I would never recommend pills – just care when choosing the room. Everyone can choose their own room from our website CaveKonak dot com – if anyone is unsure, please send us an e-mail for suggestions before booking.

Thanks again, and wishing you many happy future travels, love from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel during our recent visit to Cappadochia. We had a suite for three adults.Bathrooms are very modern and clean, we had two shower stalls . Colleen and Adnan are very helpful and gave us good recommendations for restaurants etc.
The hotel is located just walking distance to shopping, restaurants etc.
I should warn you that there's some construction going on right now,but we didn't have any problems since we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room – the Roman Suite, and we love helping all our guests. Our central location is ideal for evenings; the town square is just 2 minutes away. The repairs to the building next door have never bothered any of our guests; we are careful only to allow noisy work when guests are not around – and the new rooms are just about to be opened! Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel in Urgup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed great two nights in the Byzantine Suite.
The cave room was very charming, comfortable and silent.
Staying cave room was a unique experience for us.

Colleen and Adnan arranged an excellent balloon tour and
Cappadocia sightseeing tour for us.
The local restaurant that Mr Adnan recommended was the best
meal of our trip.
We had a dinner for 2 days at the same restaurants.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your charming review. Yes, we have some great balloon offers that are well loved by our guests, and there are some great restaurants in Urgup for all budgets; we can always make suggestions if asked. Please give the restaurant a great Tripadvisor Review too (if you haven’t already done so) – sounds like they deserve it! Love to all of you from all of us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 68 in Urgup
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.6 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#20 of 68 in Urgup
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $46 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing