We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant & Relaxing Authentic Cappadocia Experience”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were were a family group ranging from age 6 to 84 staying in gorgeosuly appointed rooms for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. Co-owners Colleen & Adnana were excellent hosts and provided tons of advice regarding activities, excursions and restaurants that were all spot-on. The hotel is an atmospheric and central location in the lovely town of Urgup - we could easily walk to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable, large and well appointed. We had 2 large family suites with huge bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The breakfast had an excellent and delicious variety, omelets/eggs prepared to order and good selection of buffet style foods.
The service overall was great, property very clean, and the owners always available to answer questions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yylewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, which included so many good points. Actually we have just learnt that we are a TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner! So we would also like to thank all our former guests again for their wonderful reviews.

At Cave Konak Hotel, we have a big warm welcome for guests of all ages and we always love to share our knowledge of Cappadocia. Adnan has been a tour guide for many years, and I used to teach in the tour guiding department at the nearby university. So between us we can answer nearly all questions and help guests with great suggestions for activities and places to visit.

We loved having your charming family stay with us and hope to see you again some time soon. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 373 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for the incredible experience of sleeping in a cave, don't hesitate to stay at Cave Konak Hotel, Urgup, Turkey. The service is very personalized, and Coleen makes sure you are well informed and as she speaks Turkish, can help translate with any unforseen situation. The room we stayed in was large, confortable, roomy. The bathroom was very large and had two showers, very practical!
Be mindful that this is an authentic cave, therefore, if you think you are claustrophobic, take some precautions (like taking sedatives). We really enjoyed our stay, it's close to the center of town so you can walk around everywhere. Friendly staff, great value for the money, clean, great breakfast... cannot recommend a better place to stay in Urgup, Capadoccia, Turkey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, we like the personal touch and really want guests to feel that this is their home in Cappadocia. We have some very unique underground cave rooms as well as historical rooms above ground.

You are right; the underground caves are not for the claustrophobic. However I would never recommend pills – just care when choosing the room. Everyone can choose their own room from our website CaveKonak dot com – if anyone is unsure, please send us an e-mail for suggestions before booking.

Thanks again, and wishing you many happy future travels, love from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel during our recent visit to Cappadochia. We had a suite for three adults.Bathrooms are very modern and clean, we had two shower stalls . Colleen and Adnan are very helpful and gave us good recommendations for restaurants etc.
The hotel is located just walking distance to shopping, restaurants etc.
I should warn you that there's some construction going on right now,but we didn't have any problems since we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room – the Roman Suite, and we love helping all our guests. Our central location is ideal for evenings; the town square is just 2 minutes away. The repairs to the building next door have never bothered any of our guests; we are careful only to allow noisy work when guests are not around – and the new rooms are just about to be opened! Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel in Urgup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed great two nights in the Byzantine Suite.
The cave room was very charming, comfortable and silent.
Staying cave room was a unique experience for us.

Colleen and Adnan arranged an excellent balloon tour and
Cappadocia sightseeing tour for us.
The local restaurant that Mr Adnan recommended was the best
meal of our trip.
We had a dinner for 2 days at the same restaurants.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your charming review. Yes, we have some great balloon offers that are well loved by our guests, and there are some great restaurants in Urgup for all budgets; we can always make suggestions if asked. Please give the restaurant a great Tripadvisor Review too (if you haven’t already done so) – sounds like they deserve it! Love to all of you from all of us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is hotel is in a great location - right in the center of Urgup, all the shops and restaurants are right there. The rooms are very comfortable and interesting as well - we had a two level cave suite, with huge bathroom and very comfortable beds. The breakfast had good variety, omelets/eggs prepared to order and good selection of buffet style foods.
The service overall was great, property very clean, the owner always available to answer questions, make reservations and recommend restaurants, tours, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review – you included so many points so concisely :)) We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

I would like to let future readers know that it is now easier to book from our website at cavekonak dot com as it now shows room availability for the dates you enter in the booking section, and you can choose your own room easily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, stayed in the cave room which was very quiet and nicely furnished. Breakfast was good and the hotel is closely situated to downtown. Colleen was wonderful - full of fantastic information and suggestions on things to do and see. The tours arranged by her (Honeycomb Tours) were excellent. We had one private tour and two driver tours - all were well organized and staffed with very friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your complementary review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and that the arrangements we made were the best choice for you. Thank you for pointing out that our hotel is perfectly situated so close to the town center. Our own travel agency at its HoneycombTours internet home has so much information about places to see and can be used by anyone to help plan their stay in Cappadocia. Love to both of you from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We decided to take a spontaneous trip to Cappadocia while in Istanbul and found this charming hotel in Urgrup. We didn't know what to expected from a cave hotel, and were very pleasantly surprised. Colleen, one of the co-owners, was very welcoming, and really helped us get oriented to the region, setting us up with an excellent guide named Ali, organizing an unforgettable balloon ride, and generally making us feel comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious, with great beds. Breakfast was delicious, ample, and featured some regional delicacies. We slept quite well in the caves (despite the usual early morning call to prayer, which seemed somehow louder in Urgrup), and everyone will have wonderful memories of our stay at Cave Konak and of Cappadocia.

Room Tip: roman and Hittite were great for our family of four. The coming new addition to the hotel will likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaysLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks for such a lovely review. We just really try to do our best to help guests enjoy Cappadocia, and we were pleased to help you go walking in the beautiful countryside as well as seeing the important sights of the region. We were also lucky to be able to book a small basket balloon ride just for your family. Love to you all from everyone here at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 69 in Urgup
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#3 of 69 in Urgup
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing