We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Pampered Caveman or Cavewoman Experience”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For a Pampered Caveman or Cavewoman Experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

So you want to sleep in a cave—maybe just to say you’ve done it?—but you’re not inclined to rough it. In that case, I’d recommend the Hotel Cave Konak in Urgup, Turkey. The rooms are huge and clean, the amenities are plenty, and the service goes far beyond the call of duty. After looking at the websites for the other cave hotels in the area we decided on the Cave Konak based on the photos; they were the coolest looking and they were exactly as shown.

British-born Colleen and her business partner run the Hotel Cave Konak, where my husband and I stayed from Wednesday, February 28, through Saturday, March 2, 2013. We stayed in the Byzantine Cave Suite. We enjoyed the wireless access, the heated towel rack, the comfortable bed, and a bathroom big enough to roller-skate in. (Sadly, we’d left our roller-skates at home.) The bathroom also included a double-sized, double-header shower and a separate make-up mirror.

But Colleen added the personal touch. We were treated each morning to a breakfast that included an array of different breads, cheeses, jams, pastries, cereal, and Turkish tea, and she also offered to cook eggs for us any way we liked them. Colleen also arranged an early-morning balloon flight for us and, when we accidentally overpaid the company, she made sure we got the correct amount of money back.

In addition, Colleen hooked us up with an excellent tour guide, Feray Kalafatoglu. A native Turk, Feray has a superb proficiency with English. She’s also very knowledgeable and personable. We spent two memorable days with Feray. She made sure we saw the places we were most interested in seeing, introduced us to some delicious Turkish dishes, and taught us a great deal about ancient Christian history in Turkey.

We were also grateful to Colleen for helping us find our way to the airport on time Saturday morning.

Tom and Frances
Farmington, MI, USA

Room Tip: We recommend the Byzantine Suite, but the others looked just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwtrw1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your unique review of our unique cave rooms! When restoring the property we worked hard to keep them as original as possible at the same time as adding such basics as water and electricity and making them lovely and comfortable, too! If any readers are not certain about cave rooms, we also have some very traditional and historical stone arched rooms. Thank you also for your comments about your guide Feray – she will be so pleased to get this feedback. Glad you got to the airport on time! Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
119
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As a couple traveling for the first time in Turkey, we could not have been happier with our stay at Hotel Cave Konak, We stayed in the Roman Suite, which has an above ground sitting room with bedroom and bathroom in what remains of the cave structure. I had some misgivings about staying in a cave hotel, worrying that it would be cramped, dark and damp. How wrong I was!

The bathroom was big and well done with two beautiful rainfall showers and a full vanity and the bedroom is well done with plush comforter and extra pillows. The upstairs sitting room had a day bed (which could certainly be used for another person) and comfortable arm chairs. Overall the room was well done and very comfortable. A real pleasure to come back to after chilly days spent walking the local sites!

Colleen, the hotel's owner was there to welcome us on our arrival and was extremely helpful. As we only had a short time in the area, Colleen presented us with the touring options and took care of arranging a private guide and driver (both of whom were exceptionally warm, knowledgeable and very funny!) as well as a balloon trip, all on very short notice.

We truly enjoyed our stay and I hope to visit Hotel Cave Konak again and for a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Many thanks for your delightful review of Cave Konak Hotel – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Roman Suite, and we are very pleased our tour suggestions helped make your time here special. As we said when you left, there is always more to see, so if you find yourself in Cappadocia again we hope you will come and stay with us – we have many suggestions for lovely walks around the area. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family (two adults and two children) just spent two delightful days in the hotel. We had a two-bedroom suite (Seljuk Suite) which worked out perfectly for our family. The rooms were beautiful, the beds were comfortable, with a large bathroom. Although it wasn't a "cave" room, it was a stone style room common in the region. There was a large rooftop balcony which would be fantastic in the warmer weather. The staff was fantastic. The British ex-pat co-owner was a great source of information for the city and region. The hotel is a short (2 minute) walk to the center of Urgup and had plenty of close parking. The breakfast was delicious with many choices of local products.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of you and your children and wish you many happy travels together in the future. Best wishes from all of us – and that includes a miaow from Patik the cat :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I visited Cappadocia over the Christmas break. My family included my daughter, son-in-law and my three and a half-year-old granddaughter. The co-owner of the Hotel Colleen Raceway (a British ex-pat) was absolutely charming and welcomed us all into her place high on a hill overlooking Urgup and a beautiful Ottoman hammam. She was just the beginning of the many delights to be found at the Hotel. Asli, the head chef and person in charge of housekeeping, turned out to be an amazing cook. When you stay there, please ask for her Many Men breakfast and her Marmara Spread. Truly they were delicious and probably came from her family's generational recipes. Breakfast just isn't the standard Turkish fare: tomatoes, cucumbers, bread, tea. No, it's a feast! Homemade jams, omelettes, hot dogs... Asli even catered to the eating whims of my picky granddaughter and made fresh fried potatoes every morning. Colleen even went to the store to buy ketchup for them. We were very touched. Adnan , the other co-owner, and Colleen have decorated the place beautifully and we all truly felt like we had stepped back into time and inhabited another place. Many antiques, rugs, and art are beautifully placed throughout the hotel and make the experience feel authentic. After scrambling around all day climbing hills, monasteries and ancient churches, it was wonderful to come back to a firm, comfortable mattress and comforting vibes. The mattresses are static-free so you don't wake up in the morning with your hair looking like an electrical experiment. We knew how confortable we were when my granddaughter said, "Let's go home to the cave" after a rather long day. We will miss being cave men, even if it was just for a few nights. Hotel Cave Konak was an excellent experience and really family-friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are buried deep within the hotel. My family had a triple room there. I preferred to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgyptJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderfully detailed review. It was great having you stay with us – and of course we love to help with special diets, whatever they are! We were all tickled by the “Let’s go home to the cave” comment from your granddaughter. We hope you will be able to visit us again some day. Love from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Cave Konak. We stayed in the Byzantine Cave Suite, which was beautifully renovated, cozy, and unique. The staff are incredibly friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They arranged our tours (our guide was exceptional), and gave us good recommendations for nearby authentic restaurants. The breakfast is great, and the staff are eager to provide options for all tastes and preferences.The location is conveniently situated in downtown Urgup, and there are wonderful restaurants, bakeries, and shops/sites to check out within walking distance. The town is less touristy than nearby Goreme, and ideal for exploring. The owners take great pride in their hotel, and it shows through every detail. Colleen was kind enough to show us the vacant rooms and explain the restoration process and history behind each room-truly fascinating. The owners were very thoughtful in their renovations and service--we highly recommend staying here

H & T

Room Tip: We loved staying the cave suite-very quiet and warm (we traveled in November, so that was ideal).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The Byzantine Suite that you stayed in is an underground cave suite with skylights for a unique experience in Cappadocia. We tried to keep all the rooms as authentic as possible whilst being modern and comfortable – so thank you for your lovely comments about our renovations. We love helping our guests make the most of Cappadocia and we work with the best free lance guides of the region. You also described Urgup perfectly – thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hotel Cave Konak is ideal located in the city of Ürgüp, walking distances from Restaurant and Market. Incredible rooms with astonishing decorations, every room is an experience by itself, a must when you come to Ürgüp. If you come in Winter you will appreciated to good heating and hot shower. The service was very personal and friendly and the excellent breakfast will give you a good start in the day. I am still exited about this place therefore I recommend you to make reservation for not missing the experience of this unique authentic Cave Hotel.

Room Tip: Von super schönen Gewölbezimmer bis zum Mehr-Raum(Cave)Höhlen Zimmer mehrere Stockwerke Untergrund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix-Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
So good to hear from you – and thank you so much for all the photos you sent us. We are open all winter with central heating so lovely warm rooms :) Also being so close to the town center is a great advantage – after a tiring day in Cappadocia no need for any taxi for your evening meal :) Thank you for your highest recommendation of our authentic cave and stone built rooms. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our 3 days holiday was so great.The room we had was wonderful - a premative cave with ultra modern facilities. The owner pays great attentive to details thus made our stay as comfortable as at home. Besides, the hotel is conveniently located, short walk to restaurants, shops, Turkish bath etc.
LPL

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
So great to hear from you. Thank you for your lovely review – we are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Cappadocia. We really want guests to feel that their cave is a ‘home from home’, and as you say we are ideally situated so close to the town center for restaurants and shops. News for all readers: we are open all winter with central heating! Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 65 in Urgup
938 reviews
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Property: Hotel Cave Konak
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing