We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cave Konak
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$85
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elvan(Urgup)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surban(Urgup)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cappadocia Palace(Urgup)(Great Value!)
$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia(Mustafapasa)(Great Value!)
$203
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
354
25
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
25
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeya high end hotelthe ownermoment you arrivegreat hospitalitycappadocia experiencehot airturkish bathbeautiful hotelcolleenadnanregiontourscaveterracebriefingederim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 382 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I visited Cappadocia over the Christmas break. My family included my daughter, son-in-law and my three and a half-year-old granddaughter. The co-owner of the Hotel Colleen Raceway (a British ex-pat) was absolutely charming and welcomed us all into her place high on a hill overlooking Urgup and a beautiful Ottoman hammam. She was just the beginning of the many delights to be found at the Hotel. Asli, the head chef and person in charge of housekeeping, turned out to be an amazing cook. When you stay there, please ask for her Many Men breakfast and her Marmara Spread. Truly they were delicious and probably came from her family's generational recipes. Breakfast just isn't the standard Turkish fare: tomatoes, cucumbers, bread, tea. No, it's a feast! Homemade jams, omelettes, hot dogs... Asli even catered to the eating whims of my picky granddaughter and made fresh fried potatoes every morning. Colleen even went to the store to buy ketchup for them. We were very touched. Adnan , the other co-owner, and Colleen have decorated the place beautifully and we all truly felt like we had stepped back into time and inhabited another place. Many antiques, rugs, and art are beautifully placed throughout the hotel and make the experience feel authentic. After scrambling around all day climbing hills, monasteries and ancient churches, it was wonderful to come back to a firm, comfortable mattress and comforting vibes. The mattresses are static-free so you don't wake up in the morning with your hair looking like an electrical experiment. We knew how confortable we were when my granddaughter said, "Let's go home to the cave" after a rather long day. We will miss being cave men, even if it was just for a few nights. Hotel Cave Konak was an excellent experience and really family-friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are buried deep within the hotel. My family had a triple room there. I preferred to be on the ground level - less stairs to climb. The hotel was truly accomodating for our different preferences.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgyptJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderfully detailed review. It was great having you stay with us – and of course we love to help with special diets, whatever they are! We were all tickled by the “Let’s go home to the cave” comment from your granddaughter. We hope you will be able to visit us again some day. Love from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Cave Konak. We stayed in the Byzantine Cave Suite, which was beautifully renovated, cozy, and unique. The staff are incredibly friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They arranged our tours (our guide was exceptional), and gave us good recommendations for nearby authentic restaurants. The breakfast is great, and the staff are eager to provide options for all tastes and preferences.The location is conveniently situated in downtown Urgup, and there are wonderful restaurants, bakeries, and shops/sites to check out within walking distance. The town is less touristy than nearby Goreme, and ideal for exploring. The owners take great pride in their hotel, and it shows through every detail. Colleen was kind enough to show us the vacant rooms and explain the restoration process and history behind each room-truly fascinating. The owners were very thoughtful in their renovations and service--we highly recommend staying here

H & T

Room Tip: We loved staying the cave suite-very quiet and warm (we traveled in November, so that was ideal).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The Byzantine Suite that you stayed in is an underground cave suite with skylights for a unique experience in Cappadocia. We tried to keep all the rooms as authentic as possible whilst being modern and comfortable – so thank you for your lovely comments about our renovations. We love helping our guests make the most of Cappadocia and we work with the best free lance guides of the region. You also described Urgup perfectly – thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hotel Cave Konak is ideal located in the city of Ürgüp, walking distances from Restaurant and Market. Incredible rooms with astonishing decorations, every room is an experience by itself, a must when you come to Ürgüp. If you come in Winter you will appreciated to good heating and hot shower. The service was very personal and friendly and the excellent breakfast will give you a good start in the day. I am still exited about this place therefore I recommend you to make reservation for not missing the experience of this unique authentic Cave Hotel.

Room Tip: Von super schönen Gewölbezimmer bis zum Mehr-Raum(Cave)Höhlen Zimmer mehrere Stockwerke Untergrund, wie auch eines mit Privater Terasse ist alles zu haben. Empfehle desshalb früh zu reservieren
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix-Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

So good to hear from you – and thank you so much for all the photos you sent us. We are open all winter with central heating so lovely warm rooms :) Also being so close to the town center is a great advantage – after a tiring day in Cappadocia no need for any taxi for your evening meal :) Thank you for your highest recommendation of our authentic cave and stone built rooms. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our 3 days holiday was so great.The room we had was wonderful - a premative cave with ultra modern facilities. The owner pays great attentive to details thus made our stay as comfortable as at home. Besides, the hotel is conveniently located, short walk to restaurants, shops, Turkish bath etc.
LPL

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank PL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

So great to hear from you. Thank you for your lovely review – we are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Cappadocia. We really want guests to feel that their cave is a ‘home from home’, and as you say we are ideally situated so close to the town center for restaurants and shops. News for all readers: we are open all winter with central heating! Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our favorite hotel on a 2+ week long trip to Turkey. Our stay was the high point of the trip. We were in the Byzantine Suite, one of the cave rooms, like a luxury version of the rooms in the underground cities. Both owners were friendly. Colleen was extremely helpful from start to finish of our 3 night stay. I wish we had planned for 4 nights there. We had a rented car, so Colleen showed us a good driving itinerary and also was available for restaurant recommendations and the like. Breakfast was very good. The entire hotel is very charming and the owners have a good eye for continuing to improve. The location is right off the town center in Urgup and so is convenient to several restaurants, shops, and so forth. It is only about a fifteen minute drive to main sites in Cappadocia, a bit farther to the underground cities. (They do steer you to Sultan balloons and get a relatively good price from them, but the owner told me that they will make arrangements with another company if you like. While I was happy with Sultan, I did notice some other companies really got better views right in some of the key valleys than we did. Maybe it was all just a matter of luck and I only saw one day of ballooning so I don't have much to go on, but on the day we went, 'Voyager' balloons was one of the companies that got right into the best stuff.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi there, and many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the Byzantine Cave Room – a unique experience in Cappadocia, like staying in an underground city with skylights. The Hittite Suite is a similar underground room for 2 or 3 people. To choose your own room, you need to book through our cavekonak website.

You mentioned our great location just off the town center – so easy for evenings and hopping to the bank or post office. Much better than a long walk or even a taxi after a tiring day.

There are a couple of balloon companies that give us great rates – something our guests have been very interested in. Positioning on the day is rather up to the wind – it’s the luck of the draw. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews