We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel we stayed at in our 11 night tour of Turkey”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel we stayed at in our 11 night tour of Turkey”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We traveled around Turkey for 11 nights and our 2 nights here was one of the most memorable stays of our trip. The rooms were really nice and well done not to mention a bathtub with a Jacuzzi!

We also had dinner there and the Sac Tava was also one of the best meals we had in Turkey. The staff were very friendly and attentive although we were the only ones in the restaurant at the time.

To top it all off, this hotel really deserves a 5 star rating not because of all the above mentioned but because of the staff. Mustafa was probably the best manager we have ever experienced in any hotel. He was very attentive to our needs and literally provided us a level of service that we have never experienced. He almost felt like a personal butler and chauffeur. Even though the hotel was fully booked Mustafa seemed to be almost everywhere ready to help us the best he could.

Anyway great rooms, great staff, and great food, what more can you ask for. I highly recommend the hotel as a stay in Cappadocia!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel but if need be, the restaurant in the city called Han C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for the the 5 star rating and "great" review. Our front staff headed by Guest Relations Manager, Mustafa work very hard to exceed customers expectations. I am pleased you highlighted the rooms as well as our fine restaurant. Ibraham our chef is one of Cappadoccia's finest continues to enhance his skills and ensure customers satisfaction.
The staff wishes you safe travels in the future and thanks you for taking time to write a review.


Sincerely the Management and Staff
MDC HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    117
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
237
382
47
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pros

1. Luxurious Caves (jacuzzi, TV, WiFi & a fireplace)
2.The restaurant serves delicious food and they have a guy playing Turkish string instrument during dinner hours
3.The manager Mustafa is very friendly and helps you with all you may need to make your trip memorable.
4. They arrange local tours & hot air balloon rides and are prompt
5.Rooms & Surroundings are clean
6.Free one way airport transfer
7.Free WiFi inside a cave :-)

Cons

1. Living in a cave hotel is not everybody's cup of tea. So if you are claustrophobic you may want to think twice. ( MDC Hotel has windows and is well ventilated)

A very different experience and would like to return during spring when the Fruit orchard in front of the hotel is full of fruits. All the rooms layout here are different and hence no room tips.

Room Tip: All rooms layout are different and hence no room tips but you may want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suraj_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I really had so much fun at MDC Hotel. People who work for MDC Hotel are very kind and professional. MDC Hotel is so mystic. It was designed perfetly.Each every detail was thought deeply. Thanks for everyting Mr. Ahmet who owner of MDC Hotel

Room Tip: They could choose two-storey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duygu e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

It was a first time for us to stay in a cave hotel, and MDC hotel seem to provide us with the most unique experience ever. The staff was very nice and friendly.

The room was spacious, complete with daybed and jacuzzi bathroom. Breakfast was great with variety of food selection. I personally enjoyed trying Gozleme (Turkish pancake) and fresh fruits provided.

In case you need to go to the town, the hotel can arrange for shuttle service. Overall, it was a good experience for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京, 日本
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed this cave hotel on a tour around Cappadocia and other places in Turkey, but this hotel was great in every possible way.The view from the roof was fantastic, the rooms exotic and comfortable and the service was excellent! The staff was really nice, especially the manager.

A definite recommendation if you're staying in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voladorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you are looking for the incredible experience of sleeping in a cave, don't hesitate to stay at MDC caves .
They deserve five stars for the hotel location, food, cleanliness, room space, Staffs ( Mr. feyzullah – Mr ali ), Services and almost all was very good.
we stayed here for 2 nights and loved this place, especially the welcoming staff. Besides the clean large ,spacious and comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast, it is the extremely friendly and kind staff who makes this place truly special. They were all very attentive, pleasant and helpful - they were always on hand to see if there was anything that we needed and happy to offer advice on what we could do during our stay
They are always willing to serve us a cup of Turkish tea. we highly recommend this place!
The hotel was very comfortable and very warm which was great as it was cold when we visited.
Super-romantic experience.we would have been thrilled to stay longer. I'll repeat the experience again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hana_br22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our whole entire trip to Turkey, MDC cave hotel is the hotel i looked very much forward to as i have never stayed in a cave. This experience is unforgetable, unique and i love this hotel in all aspects. the size for the room is like junior/ executive suite room in any city hotel. The price we paid for is well worth as the hotel is simply beautiful and the brekafast offered is by far the best among the hotels i stayed at Istanbul. i love most is the bathroom in their room.
although rooms are scattered with steps, you need not worry as you can count of their reliable staffs to move your luggages during check in/out.
There is nothing i can complaint on this hotel and i will recomend this hotel to anyone especially to couples or newlyweds on they honeymoon. Splendid view with romantic ambience,
I will definately stay in this hotel again if i go back to Urgup someday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing