We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am still a guest of MDC Hotel as I write this review, but I've been blow away not only by the beauty of this hotel, but also by the owner, Mustafa, and the staff. During my trip to Turkey my Mom became quite sick. The staff attending to our every need by extending our stay (no charge) until our flight departure, preparing food to help her feel better, providing medicine, and offering to call a doctor. I've never seen such amazing service or hospitality. I couldn't ask for more.

In addition, there are many, many cave hotels in Cappadocia, however, I think we picked the best. Aside from the amazing staff, the rooms are like mini places -- very regal and sophisticated -- I feel like I am sleeping in a mini spa. I wish our stay wasn't so short-lived. I will definitely be back and plan on staying much longer at the MDC Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for writing such an explicit review. We aim to please, that is what MDC tries to do best. We try to pass on to our travellers that MDC Hotel is a minimum three night stay. There is much to see in Turkey and people generally do not plan that day of rest. MDC Hotel's location, many balconies, room sizes, decor and views allow for that day to sit back read and sip your favourite beverage.
I hope your mother is well and that the rest of your travels went well. Again thank you for taking time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    114
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
232
379
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I moved over to this hotel after staying one night in the Cappadocia Palace & was incredibly pleased! Definitely felt like I was in my own little haven.

After a full day of tours, this was literally "heaven" to come back, too :) The Cave rooms were not too fancy, but were definitely nice, clean & had the right touch with certain details (toiletries came in a rich red/gold packaging making it a bit more lux). The property itself was gorgeous - pretty much out on its own & overlooking a nice set of mountains. I opted on spending both evenings watching the sunset and feeling the magic on the property rather than going out in town. The customer service throughout the property was first-class. Excellent Management. The food was the best I had during my 2 1/2 weeks in Turkey (try the mushroom appetizers - so delish!). I definitely felt that the MDC property did a great job at keeping things in alignment with Cappadocia itself - magical! Would highly recommend and looking forward to going back again in the future!
Thank you again, MDC Team!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vthokies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A recently built hotel , that we chose from reviews from this site - but we were disappointed by a few things.
The room had a very bad smell from the toilet, which they fixed ! after we had to put up with it for 1 day.
Our room was a fair up hill hike from the dinning area but the room was spacious well appointed with a large bath room and both a rear and front balcony (room 406) ....BUT has very poor window coverings which admit a lot of the outdoor garden lights of which there are plenty! And a LCD tv on the wall -opposite the bed that has the brightest led light - all add to poor sleeping conditions ...not ideal after a long day of touring. Doors that were extremely difficult to open added to the frustration , however the staff were pleasant and both Dinner and breakfast - great.
Would be hard to recommend to a fellow traveler.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Desarnolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had an unforgettable stay of 3 days in this magical hotel,they went out their way
to make our stay as beautiful as possible...The staff is above any expectations,very friendly,they follow excellency in everything they do,but my special thanks are for the best and truly helpful and kind person out of the whole hotel is Mr ERCAN, who was everytime so attentive and caring for my family, spoke excellent English,which made our communication easy and pleasant .
Thanks a lot Ercan
and all the team of this superior hotel,
MDC hotel is a place i always would love to come again
Respectfully Oksana

Room Tip: Suits are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oksana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a family from Saudi Arabia, We are always traveling and we went to a lot of countries allover the world this place was one of the best places that we visit. Overall we spend an unforgettable and great time in MDC cave hotel, it is a HEAVEN in cappadocia, it was really comfortable cave suites, the view was great on farm rich of fruits and vegetables the farmer was kind person he did a rotation for us in farm and shows us everything :), the staff welcomed us and they were very friendly and kind especially Mr. Ercan he was very kind and nice with us, his english was really good, he gave us a nice souvenirs from cappadocia :) The breakfast was yummy and rich of many kinds of food in a Turkish style; "dried & fresh fruits, cheese, omelette done in front of you, and Aysha & Fatima made for us a yummy turkish pies. We really wished that we spend more time in this hotel, definitely we will come back and stay in this great cave hotel. Thank you all for everything :) <3

Room Tip: The King Suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were 3 in our group and checked oput trip advisor for accomodation at MDC Hotel.We were sceptical as so much praise was being heaped on this hotel. However from the moment we arrived to the time we left we were pampered.The complimentary shuttle on demand to the town was wonderful. General Manager and co owner Ahmet was so very receptive to suggestions and very attentive. The framed beadwork passed down 3 generations from his family was special. The immediate purchase of body cream which was out of stock, was impressive The pancakes made in the traditional way were very tasty and wholesome.The fruit garden, of which we toured was so enchanting - fresh aubergines, tomatoes, peaches, grapes, apricots..... the dining area which spilled out on a lazy terrace was magnificient.Thye view from the very top part of this cave hotel really put its location into perspective. Remote, rural yet so close to all facilities.Excellent value for money.Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get bigger room (2 rooms ,lounge and bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahomed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a great review, thank you. We are always looking for suggestions to enhance the qualities of MDC Hotel. It was nice that you too took time out to tour the hotel grounds. The original rooms and restoration have many unique stories and designs.

Our gardener takes tremendous pride in his little “kingdom”. I am glad you enjoyed viewing and tasting the fruits of his labour.

Thank you for adequately referencing our location.

MDC thanks you for choosing us, please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed at MDC for three nights. Mustafa welcomed us to the hotel and proudly took us to our room, which was simply beautiful. It is hard to imagine these rooms before they were restored, but they are lovely, especially the bathrooms, which seem to be set into the rock walls and have large spa baths. fantastic luxury after a day tramping round in the heat.
The room itself had had plenty of space to spread out, the outdoor area had a small table and chairs on which it was nice to sit and absorb the atmosphere.
The hotel is in a back area of Urgup, and it was very relaxing to sit and watch the cows come home and the lights come on at night! At any time we could ask for a car and be dropped off and then picked up anywhere in town - very helpful when the only other alternative would be a taxi. The restaurant was excellent - we ate there two out of the three nights. Music was a pleasant accompaniment to the meal. Breakfast was varied and fresh.
The icing on the cake for this hotel is the attitude of the staff. Every single person greeted us warmly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The atmosphere was one that encourages visitors to relax and be taken care of, which is a wonderful experience. MDC has set the bar high for other hotels in Turkey!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xenathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of the hotel. You were fortunate to pick a time of year when our garden is at full harvest. Turkish people take pride in their natural food.

I love the fact that you sat back and tried to imagine the original rooms - believe me MDC wasn’t built in a day!

Your “icing on the cake” reaches the soul of all our staff and they are happy that they met your needs. Our location and design is suited to make one relax and we are glad you took advantage of relaxing.

Again, thank for staying at MDC Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing