We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Place :)”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a family from Saudi Arabia, We are always traveling and we went to a lot of countries allover the world this place was one of the best places that we visit. Overall we spend an unforgettable and great time in MDC cave hotel, it is a HEAVEN in cappadocia, it was really comfortable cave suites, the view was great on farm rich of fruits and vegetables the farmer was kind person he did a rotation for us in farm and shows us everything :), the staff welcomed us and they were very friendly and kind especially Mr. Ercan he was very kind and nice with us, his english was really good, he gave us a nice souvenirs from cappadocia :) The breakfast was yummy and rich of many kinds of food in a Turkish style; "dried & fresh fruits, cheese, omelette done in front of you, and Aysha & Fatima made for us a yummy turkish pies. We really wished that we spend more time in this hotel, definitely we will come back and stay in this great cave hotel. Thank you all for everything :) <3

Room Tip: The King Suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 997 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were 3 in our group and checked oput trip advisor for accomodation at MDC Hotel.We were sceptical as so much praise was being heaped on this hotel. However from the moment we arrived to the time we left we were pampered.The complimentary shuttle on demand to the town was wonderful. General Manager and co owner Ahmet was so very receptive to suggestions and very attentive. The framed beadwork passed down 3 generations from his family was special. The immediate purchase of body cream which was out of stock, was impressive The pancakes made in the traditional way were very tasty and wholesome.The fruit garden, of which we toured was so enchanting - fresh aubergines, tomatoes, peaches, grapes, apricots..... the dining area which spilled out on a lazy terrace was magnificient.Thye view from the very top part of this cave hotel really put its location into perspective. Remote, rural yet so close to all facilities.Excellent value for money.Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get bigger room (2 rooms ,lounge and bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahomed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

What a great review, thank you. We are always looking for suggestions to enhance the qualities of MDC Hotel. It was nice that you too took time out to tour the hotel grounds. The original rooms and restoration have many unique stories and designs.

Our gardener takes tremendous pride in his little “kingdom”. I am glad you enjoyed viewing and tasting the fruits of his labour.

Thank you for adequately referencing our location.

MDC thanks you for choosing us, please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed at MDC for three nights. Mustafa welcomed us to the hotel and proudly took us to our room, which was simply beautiful. It is hard to imagine these rooms before they were restored, but they are lovely, especially the bathrooms, which seem to be set into the rock walls and have large spa baths. fantastic luxury after a day tramping round in the heat.
The room itself had had plenty of space to spread out, the outdoor area had a small table and chairs on which it was nice to sit and absorb the atmosphere.
The hotel is in a back area of Urgup, and it was very relaxing to sit and watch the cows come home and the lights come on at night! At any time we could ask for a car and be dropped off and then picked up anywhere in town - very helpful when the only other alternative would be a taxi. The restaurant was excellent - we ate there two out of the three nights. Music was a pleasant accompaniment to the meal. Breakfast was varied and fresh.
The icing on the cake for this hotel is the attitude of the staff. Every single person greeted us warmly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The atmosphere was one that encourages visitors to relax and be taken care of, which is a wonderful experience. MDC has set the bar high for other hotels in Turkey!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank xenathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of the hotel. You were fortunate to pick a time of year when our garden is at full harvest. Turkish people take pride in their natural food.

I love the fact that you sat back and tried to imagine the original rooms - believe me MDC wasn’t built in a day!

Your “icing on the cake” reaches the soul of all our staff and they are happy that they met your needs. Our location and design is suited to make one relax and we are glad you took advantage of relaxing.

Again, thank for staying at MDC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Room and ambient are very nice and comfortable. Kind staff. Good breakfast with good choice but I suggest to put labels at each food to understand it. I did not taste many plates or jams because I could not distinguish them. In addition I suggest to clean sofas outside each room because they were full of sand.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloMI74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We live in an underground house in Australia having been burnt out in the bush fires, so we chose the MDC. We were not disappointed . The inclusion of us as guests with the staff made us feel really at HOME. The service and the setting was so peaceful after the stress of our past 4 years of personal difficulty it was regenerating for us. Durans music was amazing and the staff went over expectations to demonstrate their joy of their culture and their wish to share it. The restaurant provided traditional breakfast which were amazing, the pancake ladies and omlette makers food was fattening in its temptation. At dinner we ate traditional local food which was excellent,washed down with local wine.
The MDC Hotel is a must if you like to be spoilt and made to feel special.
Edd Williams

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The MDC Cave Hotel is simply fabulous! My suite of rooms led back into the hillside and the magnificent bathroom was truly a cave. The bedroom was also built into the hillside and the behead was carved out of the rock. In addition the staff are warm kind and generous and the food is ambrosia. An absolute must if you are visiting Cappadocia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are more than good. Mine was on the ground floor with a huge patio. Room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyRoseBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at MDC in june 2013. We had the most incredible experience! The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great, the bathroom excelent! The staff, the best part of it!
The restaurant is delicious, great food, great turkish wines.
The manager Mustafa is an amazing and generous person, and so all waiters.
The music played by Duran during dinner was beautiful! My daughter felt in love with turkish music, she even had a class of Bahlama with Duran!
I wish to be there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 71 in Urgup
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#21 of 71 in Urgup
167 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $74 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing