We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at MDC for two nights and found it to be an excellent hotel.The place is beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff, especially Mustafa, does everything it can to make you feel at home. The restaurant as well as the breakfast is very nice and complete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgaviria12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 972 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at MDC for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a great stay from start to finish. Mustafa made us feel at home right from the time we arrived and the rest of the staff were great too.

Our room was wonderful - it was very big and really was in a cave. We had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and the food and service were great.

The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the centre of Ürgup and they have a free shuttle to drive you in and pick you up if you would prefer not to walk.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fabulous hotel with very nice rooms. Mustafa was wonderful. Rooms were clean and nice. Urgup itself has a lot less going on than Goreme and the walk from MDC to Urgup is not particularly nice, although not unpleasant.

The best part of the hotel was the restaurant. Every meal we had there was superb. Our waiter at all of our meals was Ercan Seruce. We told him we were vegetarians the evening we arrived. The first night he recommended items off the menu and they were all good. Once we had exhausted those options, he spent time with us at each meal, describing various options that he thought of or made up. Once we agreed on what we were going to have, he would go explain to the chef what he had dreamt up and every single dish turned out to be amazing.

The one negative (and the reason i give them less than five stars) was the custom tour they recommended. This tour was expensive (300 Euros) and certainly not worth the money. We ended up going to a pretty awful place for lunch, spent a couple of hours being sold to at a carpet coop and a pottery place. The guide could not even accompany us into the exhibits at the Open Air museum in Goreme. She was nice enough, but certainly not worth the price. The balloon tour was pretty pricey as well, but well worth the money. Not sure if it would have been more reasonable if we had booked either of these on our own, without going through the hotel. I did not have time to look into that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It's beautiful, and abuts a national park. The buildings were built over old stone caves and looks like a Four Seasons hotel. Service is great. Staff were hardworking and tried to make sure that we were comfortable. Example - one evening we came back late from the hamam and were too tired to go out to eat downtown. The late night receptionist made us sandwiches and delivered them to our room. Ercan and Mustafa (both of them) were also wonderful. I loved the stray white and black dog that wandered the hotel. It made me think of home. But it made me sad because although nourished, it looked like he wanted human friendship. I wish they would bathe him and take care of him - adopt him- I think this touch would be appreciated by most Americans.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DagnyTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes, the hotel looks exactly like the photos. The MDC is a beautiful place in a wonderful setting.
The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. We were allowed to check in early and were also upgraded to the Kings Suite which was a beautiful 2 bedroom "cave". The furnishings were beautiful and comfortable. There are patios and balconies to enjoy outside of the rooms. The restaurant serves a good breakfast as well as other meals. Our tours were arranged for us before our arrival. The MDC is close to town but they will drive you in and pick you up...even after check out time. After seeing the rest of the Cappadocia towns and hotels the MDC is the best choice. You can enjoy a quiet beautiful setting while being close to town. Many of the other hotels we passed were all stacked together and looked crowded and noisy. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenmmonahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

To add to what already known to everybody this property is next to valley with lot of green apple and other fruits trees so good outing for children .

You have to be extra fit to walk vertical hilly road if you gone to downtown for a walk .Hence always use hotel drop and pickup service

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ARaghuwanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here at the behest of Lesley at HtR travel and we are so grateful to them for the booking. This was one of the best hotels in three weeks of travel in Turkey. The accommodation was superb; the food was yummy (try the stuffed figs; I don't even like figs but found this dish addicting). As I told Mustafa, the greatest asset that he had was his staff. One morning we were sitting at breakfast and I saw a guest who had gotten a plate of food to take back to his room trip and spill the contents. Within seconds two staff members were helping him up. He proceeded on, plate less, to his room. One of the staff disappeared and immediately followed behind the guest to his room with a brimming replacement plate of goodies. That kind of care and thoughtfulness was bourne out by every staff member that we encountered. I could relate several specific instances of this during our stay. Bravo, MDC! No wonder you proudly showed your tripadvisor kudos.

Room Tip: A swimming pool was in the works but the manager said that they plan on keeping the guest rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viola02544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing