We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time at MDC hotel Cappa docia, Turkey”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at MDC hotel Cappa docia, Turkey”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel was very well appointed. We had a Junior suite for 3 people, carved in a Greek cave. The fixtures, furniture were lovely.
The outside ambience was ethereal, peaceful with rock formations for which Cappadoccia is famous.
The food was very nice with local dishes added. The best was service. It was unbelievable. The manager Mustafa hs unbelievable energy and enthusiasm. It was as if our every wish was his command like a Djinn!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were very nice but upper rfloor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satish R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    117
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
237
383
47
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The location and service at the hotel is second to none and Mustafa and his staff should be very proud of themselves. We stayed here two nights and had dinner at the hotel the first night which was superb. Breakfast was also a highlight, the best breakfast in all of Turkey!! We hadn't booked a balloon ride and after talking to lots of other guests we asked Mustafa to book one for us, which he did on the spot, getting us a special price - it was a highlight of our trip - thanks Mustafa!! Would come back to MDC in a flash :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportychx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in MDC last week during our stay in Turkey, and it was an experience of a lifetime. The online pictures don't do it justice you really have to see it in real life to experience the magical feel and the amazing atmosphere of this cave hotel. We were quickly greeted by Mustapha the manager and Feyzullah upon our arrival, and a quick walkthrough was given of the main facilities of the hotel. Our suite was spacious and also had a living area that could seat 10 extra people!, we also had a sunken Jacuzzi which was very nice. We had dinner in our first night, and the restaurant staff were really helpful, Ercon was really kind and advised us on our menu choices. The food was exceptional, breakfast was the best I had ate in turkey. Chef Ali made custom omelettes in front of you which was extra special, and Ayesha and Yasmine who were making Turkish bread were again really welcoming and even taught my wife how to make bread too. Everything was cooked perfectly. Nothing was too much bother for all the staff. Mustapha helped us personally on several occasions, gave us advice on our hot air balloon ride and also arranged a lift into the city so that I could buy a memory card for my camera. My flight was cancelled the following morning, and Mustapha himself re-arranged new flights for us while we both calmly ate our dinner! Now where do you get service like that? truly outstanding. Feyzullah was a joy to talk with and again easily approachable just like all the great staff at this hotel, special thanks to Aygul too, for arranging my stay and the memorable activities me and my wife did. Though our stay in this beautiful hotel was short lived, I felt at the end of it I had known Mustapha and co for years. Such was their hospitality. I have stayed in many hotels all around the world, but MDC hotel would have to be one of the best, if not the best I have stayed in. I didn't want to leave, and felt we could easily have stayed longer if it wasn't for our busy schedule. Many thanks again Mustapha for all your help and generosity, looking forward to staying again in your remarkable hotel.

Room Tip: ROOM 103! best in the hotel, though I'm sure every room will be special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adnan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here in early May and thoroughly enjoyed it. The property itself is beautiful and immaculately kept, and the rooms are lovely -- spacious, clean and unique. Our room was huge with an amazing bathroom that had a jacuzzi tub. The views were gorgeous as well, and the breakfast was delicious.
Probably the most impressive was the hotel management, specifically guest relations manager Mustafa Pehlivan. There had been an issue with our hotel room for the first night and Mustafa drove all the way to the airport to pick us up himself, and to explain the situation. He is gracious, helpful and incredibly friendly, and within a few short days he felt like a friend. Our last day we left super early, and he insisted on opening the breakfast early for those of us leaving. You would not regret staying at this hotel -- was definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

it was truly a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by Feyzullah and Ercan when we arrived almost midnight and very hungry- Ercan was so kind to us and opened his kitchen to make us food. Dinner here was the best we have had in turkey so far- i recommend the cold grape leaves- and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating- Mustafa the day manager was very helpful and accommodating of our needs. For some of the staff this is their second job, the person who served us the wine was also a farmer and he grew grapes that was used to make that wine; Ercan is also a teacher but he loved his job at the hotel and treated us very warmly. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is very well kept. They also have their own garden where they grow organic apricots, cherries, and apples which they invite you to try. Breakfast is really good and I even got to sit with some of the ladies to make fresh saj (traditional Turkish bread). I would definitely recommend this cave hotel to anyone especially as the cave suites or beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. MDC Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to write a review. Our staff take pride in ensuring customer satisfaction and feel the rewards through your comments. I am glad that we were a bright spot in your travels through Turkey. Wishing you safe travels in the future and hopefully see you again.

Ahmet Kucukyildiz
Partner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our travels through Turkey. It was lovely. Extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent, in fact, the manager seemed to never go home. He was available for all of our needs, communicated our pick up times for tours and even shuttled us into town. Ercan, from the restaurant, was equally attentive. He made terrific recommendations of dishes to try. We were sad to leave after 2 nights as it is rare to find hotels with this quality of service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindycycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family (kids aged 13 & 10) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We have stayed at some great hotels around the world and this one ranks as one of the best. The room was fabulous, the service was outstanding, and the food was terrific. We were in a 2 room suite (the pigeon room) with a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub which was fabulous. The service at this hotel is top notch - from the initial greeting and check-in, to the great host and wait staff in the dining room, to the warm greetings every day. They recommended great restaurants and the balloon ride we did on their recommendation (atmosphere balloons) was great and at a good price. The town of Ugrup is great - we went to the local market on Saturday morning which was a real treat. I suppose the only thing this hotel is missing is a pool.

If you are interested in a unique and fun family experience, then check out cappadociahomecooking.com. Tolga invites you to his home and his wife and mother teach you how to cook local Turkish meals in a hands on authentic experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing