We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great customer service”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great customer service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A must stay place if you are in Cappadocia. We were greeted as we arrived by Mustapha, our concierge. I wanted to bring him back to the USA with me to teach Americans the meaning of outstanding customer service. He arranged for us to have a tour guide as well as a performance by the Whirling Dervish. He was very attentive to our every need. This hotel is very lucky to have him work there. What can I say about the room? It was magnificent, the bath included both a jacuzzi bath and separate shower. To top it off, there was a sheet of onyx above the jacuzzi that was backlit to show all of it's beauty. We were also fortunate enough to meet the owner of the hotel . He was a very gracious host. I'm not done...the restaurant there was amazing..great food and great service by our waiter, Teacher. What a pleasant surprise for us at breakfast on our last morning when he presented us with a gift. This is truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snkgotwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    124
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
245
390
49
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in the MDC from 8 May to 11 May. It was one of the highlights of our trip, certainly the best hotel we stayed at in our two week holiday in Turkey, and we felt it would probably warrant 5 stars in most places in the world. Besides a unique setting and an high level of comfort, what set it apart was the level of service. Mustapha gave us a very warm welcome and was ever present during our stay and Ercan looked after us superbly in the restaurant. If I return to Cappadocia I would look no further than the MDC for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but all different. Contact the hotel if possible before your trip to see w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently spent a few days at MDC and were just impressed with it as we were the first time. We were very happy to see Mustapha again and he made our visit run smoothly by arranging our tours and shows. The whole staff was a delight and one of our favorites, "Teacher" brought us a thoughtful gift when we checked out. Thank you everyone at the MDC Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i2e10toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel was undoubtedly the best hotel we stayed in during our two weeks touring Turkey. The room was fantastic but it was the level of service from all the staff so ably led by Mustapha (who welcomed us and checked each day that all was well with us) that stood this hotel apart from the rest. In addition Ercan looked after us in the restaurant so well and nothing was too much trouble for him. He ensured that we were so well looked after food wise and was so willing to accommodate our needs. It was a fantastic setting and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others and would love to go back to it at some time in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous but some (as they are built in the rock) have more room than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write up your feedback so soon after returning home. Your comments will be passed on to all the team here; I am sure they will appreciate your positive feedback. We certainly try our best to exceed the expectations of all our guests and it is a great pleasure to know that we contributed to making your stay a memorable one.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Best regards,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at MDC for 2 nights, and it was wonderful experience. MDC exceeded our expectations.The room was huge, clean and elegant with a huge private terrace overlooking a beautiful valley. The bathroom was also huge with Jacuzzi and my husband relaxed in the hot tub after a day of sightseeing.

The separate sitting /lounge area were decorated with cushion-lined benches and Turkish fabric ornaments; a decor you would want to replicate at home. We had room service for dinner because we wanted to spend more time in the great room. What a fabulous dinner!

The hotel's transportation service to town was easily arranged, so we went out and enjoyed our evenings in both town (Urgup and Gyoreme) for shopping and hamam (Turkish bath).

Thank you Mustafa, for your great hospitality and all your help. He went out of his way to make sure that we were well taken care of. It was an absolute highlight of our trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to MDC Hotel - we really appreciate it and thank you especially for sharing your lovely photos with us! Here at MDC Hotel, good quality customer service is what we aim for each day. We were delighted to hear that your stay with us was welcoming and our staff made you feel relaxed with our warm hospitality.
If you find yourself in Cappadocia again we hope you will come and stay with us,
Best wishes
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

To the now famed mustafa let me add one more name - Faizullah. Amazing people, warm and believe you-me, its as you like it. We ate in town once and regretted wasting a meal time when we could have great stuff as we like it at the hotel. Location is so-so and its what the management and staff have made out of a ok resort. They have upgraded the place to a level thats first in class. The tailor make your day also if you prefer. They need a few more english speaking staff and maybe a hamam on site. We got an upgrade to the King suite and thats royal. Little more on site like DVD library, small gym could do. Their shuttle to and from the village is on demand. Go you will not regret the warmth in otherwise hectic terrain ...

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burmavictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write up such a thoughtful and detailed review of your stay in MDC Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it keeps us focused on maintaining the high standard of service that is expected of our hotel. We will certainly be looking into your suggestions and appreciate your comments.
You are quite right that a team is only as good as its members and I am very proud and happy to have such a dedicated and professional team of staff here at MDC Hotel. All the staff members join me in thanking you for your thoughtful feedback and we sincerely look forward to having you to stay next time.
Best regards,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was the highlight of our Turkish trip.After some rather disappointing hotels MDC was a dream come true. Mustapha and his wife run a tight ship and the welcome and attention to detail were superb.We were thrilled with our cave room and fairytale bathroom, while Ercan was kindness itself in the dining room. He was most helpful .When some of us were feeling a bit fragile ,after long journeys, nothing seemed too much trouble . Then there is the view so peaceful and rural.hard to believe the town is only 10 minutes away.Inthe morning the air balloons appeared from behind the hills like magic. I hope we can go back sometime

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Many thanks for your delightful review of MDC Hotel; we really appreciate your sincere comments and are happy to know you appreciated the stunning location and breathtaking views surrounding MDC Hotel. We are pleased that in our small way we helped make your time here special.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at MDC Hotel, hope to seee you soon,
Best wishes,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
952 reviews
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
7.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing