We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Excellent hotel with very big and clean rooms. The view is very nice. The cave room I took did not have AC and can get a little worm in the summer. Overall, my family loved the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmed z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for your review and gald you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon
Best wishes
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 977 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were extremely pleased with this Hotel, from start to finish. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is enchanting away from the bustle but easily accessible to the centre of town, the rooms superb, the breakfasts memorable (cappuccino, 4 fresh juices, ommelettes cooked well just for you, yummy traditional Turkish pancakes cooked fresh for you, a vast array of local veggies and fruit - fresh and dried, a choice of hot foods, breads +++. The restaurant meals are excellent and affordable too. It was so fun sleeping in a cave with all the modern conveniences including a lovely, clean jacuzzi!!

Room Tip: In Turkey, if you want a double bed in a double room, it's good to mention it up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We read our guest reviews attentively as your input is valuable to us. We are very glad you appreciated the secluded location of our hotel with its easy access to facilities in the center of Urgup. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
Hoping to greet you again soon,
All the best
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Location 10/10- You are in sleeping in a cave and then you walk outside and see the sunrising behind the hills in Cappadoccia!!! The one small issue was a rooster from a close, small farm that started making noise at 9am, but most of us are up by then!
Room 8/10-Yet the rooms are very good. Bathrooms are great with a large tub and a separate Rainfall shower. Wifi is complimentary in every room and works fine with your iphone, itouch, etc.
Service- 9/10- The manager greeted us at 10pm when we checked in at the parking area and let us eat in the restaurant after he told us it would be closing soon.
Restaurant-8/10- Needless to say, in this area, there arent alot of great places to eat, so we ate in the hotel and were completely satisfied. They offer fresh juices (which tasted great) and freshly made, turkish themed bread in their buffet breakfast. The bread is made in front of you and even offer you to make your own, but we thought it was best for them to make it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHAH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Turkish cuisine in our gourmet restaurant. Sleeping in a cave room is an experience not to be missied in Cappadocia and our guests always appreciate our location with the amazing views over the valley.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,
Best wishes
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent 5 nights here in late October and treated it like a bed and breakfast because the people and rooms were so lovely. We were warmly welcomed by Getin, who was an excellent ambassador for the hotel and made sure we were comfortable. Cave Room 302 was beautifully furnished with three well sized rooms: a sitting room with TV, fridge and sofa, a ridiculously large bathroom including a spa and a bedroom that had a circular bed. The heated marble floors were great, especially when getting back late at nights into our toasty cave. 
There was a wide range of food on offer for breakfast. Seref cooked delicious omlettes made to order.  Make sure you ask Kadriye and Yasemin to make you tasty Turkish pancakes with spinach, cheese and potatoes - they are wonderful.
Sibel had a wealth of knowledge about the region - what to see and what to miss.  She took care to understand our requirements before organising 3 tours for us, hot air ballooning and two day trips with an English speaking driver which allowed us to see the sights at our own pace (for the equivalent cost of being part of a bigger tour group).  Private guided tours were also available.
The hotel overlooks caves and a small orchard that they have planted. It was a ten minute walk for us to get into the centre of town with the Turkish baths and numerous restaurants. We enjoyed not being on the main street and walking through the nearby neighborhood. 
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with MDC Hotel and would love to return next time we visit Turkey.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmybean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of MDC Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your glowing comments to all the staff. It is always rewarding to know that our guests have had a perfect holiday with us and that you appreciated our privileged location.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we would be very happy to welcome you again on your next trip to Turkey,

All the best,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a great experience! The hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We stayed here one night in a King Cave Suite. The hotel is in a peaceful location hidden from the chaos of all the tourists in Cappadocia, but also short walk away from the shops and many attractions. Notably, the room was massive and pristine; and the bathroom was five star plus (large jacuzzi tub, separate shower and deluxe finishing’s) The owners clearly did not cut any corners in putting this hotel together. Staff is also very helpful, welcoming & eager to please. They made it very easy for us to travel with our 6 week old daughter. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is good to know that the hard work and thought we put into creating a calm and luxurious environment for our guests is appreciated.
I am also glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and would be very happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Cappadocia.

Best regards,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We could not have found better tranquility for our stay in Cappadocia here. The cave room was luxurious, spacious, unique, and peaceful, which reflected our impression of the region itself. We enjoyed unwinding by using the large jaccuzzi and admiring views of the valley. The staff was friendly and helpful, offering us complimentary drinks. Although we had tours booked through our travel agency, Murat, one of the managers, gave great tips on night activities and places to eat. MDC Hotel is located on the outskirts of town, but it is a pleasant walk and we could have taken advantage of the free ride to the centre. We really appreciated and enjoyed the shuttle service by Numan their friendly and very experienced driver. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary fresh breakfast and service. We would stay here again for a calm and luxurious stay in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagoda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of MDC hotel. We read our guests reviews attentively in order to provide the best possible service to our guests. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the tranquillity of the hotel setting and that your stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again,

Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Lovely memories of our 3 night stay here - quiet sunrises & sunsets on our terrace, spacious, comfortable suite, with a large sitting area, bedroom & luxurious bathroom. The hotel looks as beautiful in reality as in the photos. Staff are very helpful, welcoming & eager to please, if a little inexperienced sometimes - particularly in the restaurant at dinner.
Enjoyed breakfast, especially the gozleme made in situ.
Would recommend this hotel for a stay in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waznjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Thank you for your review, customer feedback is valuable for us. I am so gald you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the privileged location of our hotel. We never tire of watching the beautiful sunsets over our valley.
Hope to greet you again in the near future,

Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing