We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortatble and too many steps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“uncomfortatble and too many steps”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I found the Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel to be uncomfortable. I had to ask several times for the heat in my ground floor room to be turned on. The bathroom was so cramped getting in and out of the oddly-shaped shower was a bit dangerous. The room had just one too-bright overhead light though the manager did find a bedside lamp for me. And, the breakfast room was 67 uneven, steep stairs away.
In fairness, some of my traveling companions had nice, warm rooms but the stairs in this hotel are not for the faint of heart. No elevator..
The location of the hotel was good for exploring Urgup and other Cappadocia locations.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground floor room. The hotel isn't a good place for anyone with a physical disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    75
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
81
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel. What makes it even more special is that it looks very average at first appearances. We were given the new 'honeymoon suite' & wow, it was luxurious. All carved out of rock it contained a spa bath, open fire, flat screen tv, princess lounge, chair & bed! The owners were really accommodating & friendly. Would love to go back. Thoroughly recommend for a unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We landed in Kayseri airport. When we got there, we rent a car. it is better to book earlier although there were 2 car rent booth in the airport. It is important to rent a car. The local transportation is bad. It took 45 minutes from Kayseri airport to small town call urgup. We stay in Urgup. The hotel name is Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel.
Hotel location, is well hidden. It is 15 minutes walk from the main road to the hotel. 3 minutes drive from the main road to the hotel.
It is a small hotel. It has 10 cave room. The room itself is nice, clean, well maintained. Wifi only reach in front of our room. The service is good. But it is understaffed. I only saw 3 person during daylight, and 1 person at night at the hotel. Do not mixed up with the other called Dedeli Hotel. It is a backpacker hotel, but related with Dedeli Konak Cave hotel. I even got help from them to show the cave hotel. The hotel access is so narrow, only 1 car fit in to park.
Don't expect room service. Even dinner, need to be arranged. We really appreciate the hospitality here showed by the owner and staff. With improvement it will become good hotel.
It has roof access door for travelers to take picture, and it is a good spot since that the location is in high place. The price also cheap.
It is a nice getaway hotel. If you want big hotel with all it facilities, then this is not the right place. But if you need just a nice simple getaway hotel, then it is good choice, although I found other perfect places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed there in August and will have to say it was a great experience. The rooms were clean and charming. Mr Faruk , the owner, went out of his way to ensure that we enjoyed everything Cappadochia had to offer. Including a homemade bbq dinner on the rooftop. He arranged all our tours and made sure to knock on our doors to wake us up for the sunrise balloon ride. (I highly recommend the balloon ride, it was the best thing I did in Capadochia.) Its a small cave hotel with so much charm and close to the center of town. Mr Faruk has a driver that you can use for whenever you want to go to town or you can take a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryz183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very Close to the Town Centre. Helpful Staff. Owner, Mr Ibrahim, an amazing Gentleman.
In fact one evening when we were tired an didn't want to out for dinner or eat hotel food, they willingly allowed us to cook for ourselves in their kitchen!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shailendra230869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was nice being guest of Mr. Faruk. The hotel is nice. They were doing some renovations. I hope I can see it after the renovation! The breakfast is awesome. If you want, Mr Faruk can book for you a balloon ride. I recomend it for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_Sandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This small cave hotel was so interesting. The rooms have been "carved" out of the mountain, and each room is different. The owner is expanding the facility, carving more rooms and each one is lovely.
The hotel was clean and the little city was so interesting. The breakfast was fabulous.
We stayed in the Pidgeon Room -- with all the little pidgeon perches carved into the walls. It was great!
The hotel is located up a hill and set far back. But it is worth the trek to find it.
Because we had an early morning appointment -- hot air balloon ride -- the owner knocked on the door of our room at 5 a.m. as our wake-up call. When we returned to the hotel after the ride, breakfast was waiting for us.
I really loved this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pidgeon Room. Check out the view from the restaurant, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.6 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#12 of 65 in Urgup
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Heaven Cave House
Heaven Cave House
#27 of 65 in Urgup
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akuzun
Hotel Akuzun
#32 of 65 in Urgup
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#18 of 65 in Urgup
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#3 of 65 in Urgup
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel

Property: Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Address: Karagandere Mah. Barbaros Sk. No:4, Urgup, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#16 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, where your peace, pleasure and comfort is our aim.Why choose Dedeli Konak ?•Centrally located in a quiet side street near Urgup centre •10 beautiful cave rooms and Ottoman suites •All rooms with ensuite bathrooms, minibar and TV Sat •Free WiFi and free internet computer access •Traditional delicious Turkish breakfast included •Stunning views of the valley from our cafe-terrace •Free parking, free pickup from Urgup bus stationAt Dedeli Konak our family and friendly staff will do everything to make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one ! Discover our hotel and do not hesitate to contact us - we speak English, Japanese and French and would be pleased to answer any questions you have about your trip to this amazing region. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing