We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the sidewalk but cold and greasy”

Kardesler Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 88 Restaurants in Urgup
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good location on the sidewalk but cold and greasy”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was hungry and the proprietor was a good salesman, but i was disappointed with the stew I ordered. It came in a cute little container sealed with bread, but it was cold and greasy. The accompanying bread was good however, so I ate that. I think I'd skip it the next time around and go somewhere else

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    3
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt like the real (Turkish) thing!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good rustic stews served from the cooking pot sealed with dough lids. Complimentary glasses of tea from the owner Mehmet when we passed in the morning on a stroll round Urgup. Fine display of paper napkins inscribed by visitors.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Owner is good salesman”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were lured into this tiny place by the owners chat as we walked along the street. Normally not taken in by those plying their wares along the road, his approach of having a great display of the local cuisine ... And reviews of his restaurant to show you depending on what country you were from lured us. The four of us enjoyed our meal and his performance chopping off the tops of the pots. Only downside was at the end of the evening, it was difficult to find him to pay the bill. Probably feeling weary from a long day he had retreated for his own dinner and we has to search out our bill

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margepurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Tandir”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The soup was great. We left very filled and for a very reasonable price. Kid-friendly too (like most places in Turkey). Service was jolly but very casual (they forgot the salad and our water - I had to go get it!). But it wasn't a big deal. The place has notes from patrons from all over the world hanging on the walls and under the glass tabletops - gives it lots of character. Recommended for a good, well-priced meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLGabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I had the kefti lamb while my wife had the tandir beef. Chance upon this eatery and attracted by the friendly owner in front who was very kind and helpful. We came back for dinner and it was the best! Recommend highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearlwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kardesler Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kardesler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing