We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend!”

Han Ciragan Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 89 Restaurants in Urgup
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Han Ciragan Restaurant and Cafe in Urgup, Cappadocia, is set in a caravansery built around 250 years ago making it the oldest restaurant in Urgup. The shady terrace is an ideal setting for a romantic meal. Only the freshest ingredients are used in our traditional Turkish dishes. Tourists and locals alike favour this spot where you can come and visit the kitchen at any time.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lovely atmosphere with professional staff. The food choices were varied and all that we ordered was hot and delicious. The restaurant has different areas, including a bar area. The upper level offers night views of Urgup.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CityPrincess_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ertuğrul B, Propriétaire at Han Ciragan Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your very positive dining experience at Han Cırağan Restaurant. I am very glad to read that you found both the food and the service of an excellent standard. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on your next visit to Cappadocia.
Best Regards
Ertuğrul Bekler
Owner at Han Cırağan Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    83
    36
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really poor restaurant ”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner hated her chicken shish.. It was overcooked and not edible at all. To top it off, they gave me meat ravioli when I specifically asked for vegetarian. Would not recommend this place at all.

Helpful?
Thank Naraen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ertuğrul B, Propriétaire at Han Ciragan Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
I was sad to hear that you had a less than perfect dining experience with us. It is such a shame that you did not tell us that you are vegetarian, in that case we would have advised you not to choose the Turkish manti, since they contain meat, as clearly written in English on the menu.

Our extensive menu contains many vegetarian dishes and as you see from previous reviews here, we have years of experience of preparing dishes for those with gluten allergies, lactose intolerance and other dietary requirements.

I do hope you will come and savour some of our delicious vegetarian dishes on another visit.

Best Regards
Ertuğrul Bekler
Owner at Han Cırağan Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Turkey. No question!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Of the 2 weeks we spent in Turkey, this was hands down the best restaurant we visited. It's located in an old caravanserai that is carved into the stone. The inside is charming, complete with fireplace, and windows looking down into the kitchen from the hallway, and outside is a very pleasant patio. The service was pleasant, prompt, and helpful with our food allergies. (A HUGE plus as 95% of waitstaff/cooks in Turkey seemed flummoxed about foods that don't contain wheat/dairy - even when explained in Turkish.) One waiter even saw me trying to learn how they fold their napkins by following the fold lines, and he happily jumped in and showed me how it was done.

We ended up eating here 2 of our 4 nights in Ürgüp because we liked it so much. The menu is huge and you'll find a lot more than the ubiquitous kebabs here. We had the dolmas, roasted red peppers, roasted eggplant, hot hummus with salami (VERY rich), testi kebabi (beef, lamb, or fish, slow cooked in a clay oven with onions, peppers tomatoes), saç tava - everything was absolutely delicious.

I believe they had a full(ish) bar but like most hard booze in Turkey it was massively overpriced so we passed. The wine was good tho!

Overall, we had (many) appetizers, dinner, and wine... all for under $20 or so per person. What a deal!

If you find yourself in Ürgüp, go to Han Çiragan, wave at the cooks (they love it!) and settle in for an amazing meal. And please, send me some food; writing this review has given me some wicked cravings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ertuğrul B, Owner at Han Ciragan Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our restaurant.

You make a very good point about the price of alcohol in Turkey; a large proportion of the price of alcohol in Turkey is the very high tax which is applied as per government regulations.

However we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meals. We really did appreciate having you as guests and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Cappadocia.

Ertuğrul Bekler
Co-Owner at Han Cırağan Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good kebabs!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

amazing soup and kebabs! the desserts are really tasty! get the apple tea! the place has been there for years!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank aadnan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Han Ciragan is a very good restaurant. Good food, fair prices and a great wine list with lots of labels from Capadoccia.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GFtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Han Ciragan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Han Ciragan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing