We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming!”

Panorama Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 88 Restaurants in Urgup
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The owner is very nice and the food was quite enjoyable and definitely home cooking! Would recommend this restaurant for the great atmosphere and great view at the terrace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalyaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    49
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mantı House run by an amazing man”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ismail is an impressively hospitable man who runs this restaurant with his wife. After meeting him on the street and getting directions to various sites from him, we went to his restaurant. We went during the day, while his wife was at home. He acted as host, waiter, bus boy, owner and cook. It was such an amazing experience and his mantı is wonderful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Come over for dinner - the food is awesome, the view is great, and the cook is your new best friend in Cappadocia!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Apparently Ismail is known far and wide for his ravioli. He didn't serve us that, but the lamb was astonishing, the chicken with tomato meze was great, and the carrots with garlic was surprisingly super. The local wine was very good too, and we can be picky about that. He is also just the nicest, friendliest guy going, and we talked and swapped stories long after we were done eating. Panorama is a wonderful stop on any Cappadocia vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Urgup experience with fabulous food, view, and company.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We met the owner of Panorama Cafe when we were at the market midday buying snacks for a hike. His friendly demeanor when he invited us to his cafe cinched the deal and we made plans to meet him there for dinner. It is a bit hard to find; out if the way but if you have trouble, go to the desk at the Fresco hotel and ask. It is a 2 minute walk from there. Hardly a restaurant, Ismael cooks put of love and passion in the home his grandparents left him on the cliffs of Urgup. His meatballs are to die for and my vegetable-suspicious husband couldn't get enough of either the carrot or the tomato mezze. While his terrace itself is modest, the view is spectacular and the local wine he served is was yummy. The best, though, was his clear joy in sharing his hometown and his family recipes with new friends. The conversation was hilarious and we enjoyed every single minute we spent at this unusual and special place. If you are looking for a unique and authentic Turkish experience, spend the extra few minutes locating this gem. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilyseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meet Cappadocia with Ismael in his homestyle kitchen.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ismael made our stay in Urgup. Not only with his food - homestyle and the best we have eaten so far - but with his local knowledge. We went downtown like old friends after dinner to meet other friends in town; and the following day were surprized to be called by name in the street as we searched for a bakery!

Go and make friends with Cappodocia. You will love it!

Wally.
PS: would love to be able to post a couple of pics taken last night; great local wine also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panorama Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing