We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with a great location but....”
Review of Uchisar Kaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice hotel with a great location but....”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a fabulous location with great views down the valley. However, even in winter the hotel is geared to the many tour groups; all meals are buffet style (with the consequence that the food is often not hot unless you can get to the table as soon as it has been delivered). The room and bathroom was fine, a great outlook over the garden to the caves opposite but the lighting was awful - had to ask for an extra lamp. Its far from the airport but reception was helpful in arranging a seat on the shuttle bus. The village has little to offer so you need a car to get to see the local sights - which are well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GulliverT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    120
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
123
93
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The elegantly lit rocks at night and the colorful balloons arising at dawn from your private balcony make this a perfect place to tour one of Turkey's most stunning areas. The rooms are beautiful and modern. Go armed with your own wine as prices are high, high and take advantage of Turkish baths elsewhere in the country -- also overpriced here.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is a fine hotel in a great location but the staff seem to be very rushed and paid according to what they can upcharge for. Our room was very nice, excellent AC, clean, lovely balcony overlooking the Pigeon Valley of Cappadocia. We had a turkish bath that was a fine experience and at about $100 each person it seemed good value (about an hour and a quarter) but that's our only turkish bath so none to compare with.

The balconies are not at all private and you can hear everyone's conversations, but the clientele were overall quiet and sleeping with the windows open was no problem. We didn't use the outdoor pool but others said it was very cold. There are 2 PC's where one can access the internet.

The problem is that the dining room staff treated us like a herd to be cleared out before the next herd arrived. They literally snatch up your plate of food when you get up to get another item from the buffet (which is a walk of over 100 feet from the tables we were "assigned"). Breakfast is from 0700 to 1100, but at 0830 we had to go searching for utinsils as all the tables were cleared and no cutlery, etc had been set out. Staff are visibly annoyed when asked for items like cutlery, tea, water, etc. Drink prices are way too high. A glass of house white was 12 TL and absolutely horrible, undrinkable. When I tried to complain to the waiter he suddenly lost all ability to understand any English.

The food is good but the dining experience ruins an otherwise nice and unique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This hotel has clearly once been great but has become faded and lost its true character. There is an unheated pool outside that feels soulless as it is inadequatly supported and the indoor "plunge" pool which is big enough for a decent swim, is so overpriced we did not see it used once. The hotel is filled by bus tours, predominantly from Japan who stay only at night so it's facilities are not fully patronised and staffed. This hotel when fully occupied by guests using all the bars and facilities would be great, but instead it feels like an abandoned hotel, where guests appear at dinner only, and then are gone, with inadequate staffing to encourage them to stay there longer. The food was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HobartAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I felt as if the hotel was nestled in the middle of a bowl of slightly melting coffee ice cream. The surrounding topography reminded me of a work by Gaudi. The hotel itself fits right in with the area and seems to be built into a cliff with cave-like hallways to the rooms. The rooms were clean and functional with okay decor - but who needs decor when the balcony doors open to such an extraordinary view!? The view during the day is amazing, the view at night looks like a fairyland and at sunrise the sky is filled with dozens of hot air balloons drifting in the distance. I wished we could have stayed longer but our tour was moving on to Ankara.

The food was pretty good for a buffet. Many of the hotels we stayed at on our tour of western Turkey had buffets that featured cafeteria-type interpretations of Turkish food, but the Kaya's offerings were of much better quality, flavor and presentation.

During our stay in early October, for 2 days the weather suddenly turned very cold and rainy due, supposedly, to winds from Siberia (How cool is that!). We turned up the heat in the room and donned our cozy terry robes with a cup of tea. We felt quite snug in our hotel cave despite the chill outside. In all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed at the Uchisar Kaya Hotel 3 nights from October 1-3, 2008 as part of our OAT tour of Turkey.

First and foremost what this hotel has is the perfect location and brilliant views. Built into one side of a cliff overlooking the pigeon valley, the property has been developed with the primary aim of offering absolutely stunning views over Cappadocia centred on Goreme. You could probably spend a whole day outside in the garden just watching the progress of the colours at different times of the day from sunrise and the early morning procession of balloons gently drifting above the rock formations to sunset.

The rooms were more than adequate despite the architectural challenges of ensuring a view for all.

The dinner and breakfast buffets were varied with plenty of choices, although I think that most dessert addicts were a little disappointed that many of the offerings were designed with more variety of colour and visual appeal than of taste - not unusual when this course hits the buffet tables.

The hotel has the convenience of Uchisar close by with some altenate and equally spectacular views of the castle available up close and different vantage points to take in the stunning scenery.

  • Liked — Stunning location with great views.
  • Disliked — Ended up with twin beds
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Indytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uchisar Kaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uchisar Kaya Hotel

Property: Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Street. No 15 | Nevsehir, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uchisar Kaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uchisar Kaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uchisar Kaya Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing