We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place!”
Review of Kaya Pension

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uchisar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaya Pension
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Uchisar
Torino
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

PROS:
The food!!!: Delicious home-made Turkish dinner served every night (you have to book it earlier in the day) at the hotel's restaurant.
Great view, most of the rooms have spacious terraces.
Staff is very friendly and keen to help you out planning your visit, also the owner plays traditional Turkish music some nights after dinner. Large, comfortable bedrooms with clean and spacious bathrooms (not luxurious).

CONS:
That it was over to soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed five marvelous days at Kaya Pension. The staff were outstanding and the homemade food made with care and flair was excellent. The accommodations were very comfortable and the relaxed atmosphere the staff create made our stay a perfect vacation from our vacation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Out_of_TownQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The morning we were supposed to arrive at Cappadoccia, it snowed rather heavily. Whilst we were waiting for our transfer flight (which was delayed) from Istanbul to Cappadoccia, Izzet (the owner) called to check what time we would arrive. We found out after we arrived at the pension that we were the only guests that day, and Izzet and his colleague (really sweet lady) were busy cleaning up the place for us! Despite being the only guests, they prepared a huge buffet spread for us for breakfast the next day.

Our cave room was comfortable and looked out to a huge terrace. Izzet and his colleague were lovely and extremely helpful. They were not at all pushy with trips etc, which we really appreciated.

The pension was also located near Pigeon Valley, and it took us about 1.5 - 2hours to trek down to Goreme. It was also about 10 minutes' walk to Uchisar Castle.

We heard from another pension owner that Izzet is a fantastic musician. Will request for a performance the next time we are there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ying W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hosteses were extremely polite, familiy hotel in the caves. The room are in ancient stiyle in the caves so you cen feel the place, the food is hommade and very delicios. they makr you musical program also and makes everything to feel comfort. The location is perfect because it is at the beginning of the Goreme Valey and you can directly start to sighseeng from their. Just to add that the street where is the Pensyon is very small and it was not on put in our GPS navigation so before go ask the hostes to explain you in more details how to reach eat. Comparing with other similar hotels tha price is very good also so i deffinetly woulg recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here with a friend of mine in November 2012. My stay here was definitely one of the most unique travel experiences that I've had. The hotel is literally carved into the fairy-chimney-like caves of the Cappadoccia region. The two person staff was also top notch, so so helpful. They were able to help us book a hot air balloon ride (and had breakfast for us before AND after we went on our sunrise ride), and helped us book a whirling dervish show at Sarihan. Both are experiences you must have if you travel to this region. The room itself was lovely, warm, and had it's own private patio with an incredible view! The hotel also does a delicious dinner (not to be confused with the buffet at the nearby Kaya Hotel, which we did not try). It was hands down the best meal we had in Turkey, and even came with some live music and dancing. I would heartily recommend this hotel, the entire experience was fantastic.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Kaya pension hotel is a simple hotel with very good fantastic location, with a perfect staff and very good restaurant ..
Actually i regard it 5 star hotel & 5 stars staff..!!!
Kaya pension hotel is a simple hotel with very good fantastic location, with a perfect staff and very good restaurant ..
Actually i regard it 5 star hotel & 5 stars staff..!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SohaibRadiology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent almost a week staying here. We loved it! Nice rooms, all or nearly all have their own private patios or porches. The breakfasts were good and the staff were excellent. Wi-fi wasn't great in the rooms, I think the signal doesn't transmit through stone walls very well. The rooms are cute and comfortable. The views overlooking Goreme are great. I would highly recommend both this hotel, and Uchisar more broadly as the place to stay from which to explore Cappadocia. Goreme is very touristy and Uchisar is much quieter and more quaint. The busses run to Goreme every 30min. or you can walk it in 45min. So you can always make it into Goreme to check out the scene. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank getoutdomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uchisar hotels
0.2 mi away
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Ansia Hotel
Ansia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Uchisar
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
#14 of 28 in Uchisar
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karlik Evi Hotel
Karlik Evi Hotel
#9 of 28 in Uchisar
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lale Saray
Hotel Lale Saray
#19 of 28 in Uchisar
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Pension

Property: Kaya Pension
Address: Tekelli Mah. No:1, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Uchisar
#10 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#12 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 Rooms. Shower / wc / 24 Hours Hot Water / Heating conditioned. Three forts with balcony and valley view. Cave Dwelling magara rooms. There are also honeymoon room. Summer and winter season, our hotel gives you valuable service our customers. Our hotel is made all round Organizations. Their balloon tours, Valley hiking, tours, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaya Pension Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing