We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good guesthouse to explore wonderful Cappadocia”
Review of Kilim Pension

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uchisar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilim Pension
Ranked #9 of 18 Uchisar B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good guesthouse to explore wonderful Cappadocia”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed four days in Kilim Pesnion in Uchisar and was truely overwhelmed by the landscape of Cappadocia - the region around Uchisar and Göreme is definetely a must-see while beeing in Turkey.
The Kilim Pension itself was a nice base from where to explore the region and Uchisar has much more charme than the touristy Göreme. The pension has a wonderful location commanding gorgeous views across the region. The room itself was nothing spectacular was more than basic with the charme of a public toilet. However the common area has a lot of charme and the food served there is really delicious (eventhough it might be a little pricy compared to the alternatives in town); the only disappointing fact about the common area is the fact that quite a lot of people are smoking there - this makes it not an enjoyable place to stay at for non-smokers like me!
The host Sisik is by far the greatest asset of the Kilim Pension and compensates for a lot of the other weaknesses. He is really a hospitable and helpful person and has always a good idea for hiking trips - thumbs up for the hospitability!

In short: Cappadocia offers an amazing travelling experience and the Kilim Pension is a good place to stay at!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moritz_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

After a long day of biking, this place is heaven. Decadent showers. Good company.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The owners and staff are extremely hospitable and were very helpful with providing day trip information, including FREE guided hikes around Uchisar and into Goreme. What makes the pension quite interesting is the mix of Turkish and French flare with the food. I recommend the wine made exclusively in the area, also called Uchisar.

The views from the room are breathtaking, as they allow uninterrupted views of the landscape and other towns for miles. I highly recommend dinner at the pension, as the fare is a delicious mix of turkish and french cuisine, which was probably my favorite meal of the entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a fabulous, albeit short stay, in the wonderful Kilim Pension. Our room (#2) had a recently renovated bath room that was more boutique than bargain pension (see picture.) Lots of hot water any time of day, and a separate, roomy, glass-doored shower with stone tiles and an arched ceiling. Beds are comfy and the view over the valley is fantastic. The hotel sits very high up, right against the Uchisar castle. You can easily walk behind the hotel to the peak to watch the sunset. Sisik, the owner, is very warm, but never invasive. He leads free hikes through the valleys every morning. We went on a challenging and stunning 3 - 4 hour hike in the Green Valley. Sisik grew up in Uchisar and is very familiar with the terrain. We would not normally take a guided anything, but this one was wonderful, and we certainly could not have found our way along the tiny, branching, unmarked wilderness paths without his guidance. Sisik is the kind of guide to silently stop for a few moments to let you absorb the view, without giving a lot of commentary. While popular Capadoccia can sometimes feel over run, this walk felt very remote. The first part gave us vistas across the landscape, and the second part descended into a valley full of wild flowers and pigeon houses. Very memorable. Sisik also gave us some great advice to take advantage of our car rental and see the less-touristed underground city of Tatlarin. It wasn't in any of our guidebooks, and it was one one of the best things we did on the trip. We opted for a regular room at Kilim, preferring the light and a view to the cave experience. Saw the cave rooms and they also looked beautiful, and very large, with a sweet little table and chairs sitting area near the big arched-window entrances. Rooms one and two both seem to have more privacy than some of the other rooms because their windows face out toward the valley (instead of a shared balcony walkway.) We saw dozens of balloons from our window on the dawn of our last day. Gorgeous. While Uchisar caters primarily to French tourists, Kilim makes English-speakers very welcome, and Sisik speaks English well enough for all needs. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh, and the terrace has a stunning panorama view point. We ate our dinners in the cave-style restaurant in the Pension. The menu - soup, salad, main and dessert - seemed like a real bargain, and was delicious. Certainly one of the best rooms we have had in Turkey. Hope to one day return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TurkeyTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at this little gem for 5 nights having fluked it when searching from Australia before we left.
Our host Sisik a former stone mason has carved (literally) a beautiful pension into the hill in the hostoric village of Uchisar. The views from our room and the terraces were simply stunning. Each morning we woke to watch the flotilla of ballooons rising up the valleys of Goreme below us.
Our room was furnished with very comfortable bed and old camel saddle bags as floor cushions. The bathroom was Roman inspired with mosaics and marble with a modern tuches such as heated a towel rail.
Breakfast was a feast, with a large selection of tasty morsels and the best strawberry jam we have ever tasted.
We also opted to eat in every night to a set 4 course meal (different each night), off beautiful old Turkish plates.
Sisik the owner also took us on several walks and on an expedition to Avanos to check out a local ceramic factory. His father is also involved in the business as a breakfast host and driver.
Ask Sisik where to gt spaggetti in the town square - it was the best pasta meal we have had in a long time.
Would definitely stay there again. Peaceful, quaint surrounds and with generous and knowledgable hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I booked two rooms as I was traveling with my brother and his family. My 5 year old and I was given a room downstairs but it was too dark and dingy for my liking. Sisik's older brother (I'm afraid I'd forgotten his name) who couldn't be kinder or more gracious promptly reorganized and gave me a room upstairs with an incredible view.

We stayed 3 nights. Mehmet, Sisik's brother in law is a sweetheart and gave us a lot of tips on where we can go with our little ones. They really bent over backwards to make our trip enjoyable. Their dinner which cost 16 TRY (£7) for 3-4 courses is value for money. The family are wonderful hosts and really cared that our needs are met when we stayed at the guesthouse. I must say, this was the highlight of my trip in Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cretangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We travelled to Turkey with the previous reviewer who had to have a root canal done. Vardhi went out of his way to drive our friend to Nevsehir, which is 30 minutes away, over two days to visit his family dentist. He refused to take gas money (which is quite expensive in Turkey) and insisted that he is treating us as befitting for guests at Kilim Pension. Besides Vardhi's overwhelming generosity, we really enjoyed our stay at Kilim. The pension is very charming and our stone room is spacious and comfortable. All our requests were fulfilled to our greatest satisfaction, whether it was currency exchange, airport transfers or an organized day trip. Everything was reasonably price, including the dinners. The two terraces offer amazing views and the pension staff were great. Although we never met Sisik, who runs the pension, his family took really good care of us and we couldn't ask for more. Another note for those who are debating to stay in Uchisar or Goreme, stay in Uchisar, we thought it was more charming than Goreme and the views that Uchisar offer is absolutely worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.3 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rox Cappadocia
Rox Cappadocia
#4 of 28 in Uchisar
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ansia Hotel
Ansia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Uchisar
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilim Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilim Pension

Property: Kilim Pension
Address: Tekelli Mah, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Kilim Pension Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing