We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Museum Hotel in Cappadocia, Turkey is magical”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Museum Hotel in Cappadocia, Turkey is magical”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a cave hotel, absolutely beautiful, with excellent service. Good breakfast included. Top of the line at a reasonable price. You can't ask for more. Try for a room with the best view you can get. We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Nirvana. We went in January and it was very quiet and serene - I don't know how it would be in summer or spring. Has an infinity pool.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trulypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    95
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
158
331
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

There are many hotels in the area that were caves that have been made into hotels but this is very special. Make sure you watch the video on the restoration process of the hotel that is available in your room. We arrived at dusk on a Tuesday and sat at the bar and watched the sunset. Beautiful view! The food at the restaurant is regional to Cappadocia and the waitstaff ensured are meals were to our satisfaction. The local-made wine, Acibadem, and vodka were very good. The rooms were nicely appointed. This is a wonderful boutique hotel. We would like to return in the summer/fall and use the infinity pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisafogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

this hotel is totally amazing. The food and rooms are quite good

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theOriginall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir,Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have stayed 4 nights with my family. Foods are great. Scene is marvelous. You can see the balloons taking off and landing on just in front of you. The rooms are excellent. The region gave me a positive energy. It was very authentic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkishTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel itself is unique and does offer spectacular views. Our concerns were:
- the lighting in room was insufficient rendering reading at night almost impossible.
- for the room rate, we'd expect at least complimentary drinking water. We were charged for 4TL for a 500ml bottle.
- no internet facility in the room
- limited dining option

We'd recommend this hotel for those looking for something different.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VLYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlgtsn, Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
There lots of things to write about the concerns, such as lighting and complimentary water, but we think that first two concerns are completely personal and we respect them of course. But last two concerns are entirely not true;

-Internet connection; All of our rooms, restaurants, terraces and reception (means whole hotel) has got free wifi (high speed) internet connection.
-Dining; Museum Hotel has got one of the best alacarte restaurant of the Cappadocia region, named Lil’a. We have the largest alacarte menu of the area (with 65 dishes from Cappadocian Cuisine!) and all served by Museum Hotel’s international award-winning chefs. We already have lots of reviews about it too. Sorry but “Limited dining option” can’t be real!

Thank you.
Museum Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Museum Hotel is built into caves that have been used for centuries by locals for storage or living or as animal shelters. The owner has cleaned up the caves, furnished them sumptuously, updated them to have wi-fi throughout, deep whirlpool baths, comfortable beds, and breathtaking views of the valleys below. Each room has museum pieces in it - ours had some ancient pottery in a backlit display case in the floor, covered with transparent flooring. He has brought in local masters to make parts of the hotel - the carved wooden ceiling in the reception area, for instance. The outside deck has a firepit, near the pool, around which cocktails are served as guests watch the unbelievable sunsets. Everything is constructed in local materials and creates an intrinsically beautiful, Capadoccian oasis. Mornings, if you are not taking a balloon trip then you can watch the balloons from your room's windows or from the deck as they travel silently and land in the valley below. The dining room serves delicious and enormous breakfasts and dinners are fine dining with an excellent wine list. The staff is solicitous. The owner is an elegant gentleman and a character: he leads guests in hikes in the valleys below or on golf outings at his course in the next valley (the only golf in Capadoccia), where 9-holes are followed by brunch or lunch en plein aire.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTrvlrAdvntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This was one of the "highlight" hotels of our trip round Turkey - a real treat. The service could not have been more friendly and professional - the staff gave excellent personal attention to guests.
Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious with lovely local decor - much nicer than a generic hotel room. The only negative point was the lack of "air-flow" in the room (slightly stuffy) and a blocked drain in the bathroom (hence the 4/5 for room and quality of sleep)
The location of the hotel was excellent - peaceful with lovely views and within easy walking distance of the quaint little village of Uchisar. After a busy day sight-seeing, the pool and comfortable shaded sitting areas proved to be ideal for cooling off and relaxing.
Breakfasts were good, excellent selections of Turkish cheeses, nuts, olives dried fruits to name just a small selection of the fare on offer. Dinners were delicious and eating al fresco with views across the valley very lovely.
Thank you Museum Hotel for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 76 in Goreme
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 30 in Uchisar
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
#14 of 30 in Uchisar
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing