We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most special hotels I have stayed in”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Arriving at the Museum Hotel was like arriving at a magical and spiritual place. This hotel sits on a hill so the views from this place are as far as your eye can see! The experience of living for a few days among history where every turn you take there is yet another piece of art and antiques make it almost unreal.
Our room, the Beyzade Suite was beautifully decorated and was very large with plenty of space to sit and enjoy the views out the windows. The bathroom was also large and very clean and it too had beautiful views of the valley.
The hotel staff were very helpful and you could see they took great pride in their work and making sure that all was in order for you.
Dinner at Lila's restaurant was wonderful. Both food and wine were delicious!! The setting very romantic - both during the day when you could have breakfast outside and see the balloons overhead or at night when you could sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
We also did the balloon excursions which we very much enjoyed. Our Pilot Nuri from Urgup Balloons was very professional and helpful in directing you every step of the way.
The days we spent here were so wonderful that I would love to come back and bring family and friends to come experience something that is so unique you leave with a feeling of was it real?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucsonishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 719 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

On a recent trip to Turkey, my wife and freinds of ours had the pleasure of staying at the Museum Hotel in Cappadocia. This may be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at - in our lives. To begin with, the location is at the top of a hill and overlooks a huge valley. The vistas continue all the way to Mount Aegis - 80 km away. As for the hotel itself, the service was impecible, the rooms were carved out of caves - and yet tehy were very luxurious. Thread counts on the beds had to be 1000 or better. The only drawback might be that it is fairly isolated from other ammenities so it would be hard to go elsewhere for meals. If that sounds like a problem, let me assure you that the food at the hotel is exquisite and, because breakfast is included in the cost of the room, there is no need to really go anywhere else. It is upscale, but worth every Turkish Lira. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was the perfect topper for a fabulous adventure in the middle of Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadiohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

All that have been said so far about the uniqueness of this hotel is true. My family and I felt so privileged to have spent a few days here.

As we were a couple travelling with a child, the hotel recommended Kandilli (meaning candle) room which has a day bed that can also be converted into a single bed and a truly breathtaking view. It was a perfect recommendation! Our cave room had lots of small nooks where little candles were placed. When lit, the flickering candles, along with the other soft lighting in the room, gave our nights a cozy and romantic atmosphere.

Dinners at Lila restaurant were memorable experiences. The list of Turkish cuisines on offer was extensive, each item came beautifully presented. Better still was the very attentive restaurant service - every one of the restaurant staff took great effort to ensure our comfort, provide food recommendations, even fuss over our child... nothing was too much trouble. They were very happy to chat with us during our meals and the following mornings during breakfasts that, at the end of the trip, we felt that we had gotten a glimpse into their own lives.

However, the same cannot be said of the reception staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, they all looked stern and forboding, unapproachable and suspicious. An example of our interaction:
Me (approaching Reception Staff behind the desk): "How much does a taxi ride cost to Goreme?"
Reception Staff: "I don't know."
Me: "Do you have an idea how much it normally would cost?"
Reception Staff: "They run on the meter."
By then another person standing nearby interjected and gave us an indicative cost estimate, which was really what I wanted to know. Shame, really... as the dreadful reception staff are a blotch to the otherwise exceptional service provided by the restaurant staff. But we didn't have much to do with the reception staff, hence didn't allow them to spoil our stay.

Location wise - yes, it would've been more convenient to be located in Goreme about 10 minutes away, where there are more shops and touristy restaurants. But then Goreme town is just a taxi ride away, which, together with its Open Air Museum, is more than sufficient for an afternoon's quick visit.

There is a laptop in the breakfast area that allows free access. Connection can be slow and at times erratic, though.

Rise early to see the sunrise that slowly changes the hues of the resort. Have breakfast on the terraces as you watch the numerous hot air balloons float silently into the clear Cappadocian skies. A hot air balloon ride over Cappadocia's mystical valleys is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and truly worth the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carr0tjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The view from the terrace is simply breathtaking. We spent a lot of time out there esp at sunset. Breakfast views are great. Nice breakfast. Rooms are memorable. Dinner was great. Downside-our room was advertised as having a great view-it had zero view-I don't think any one them did. The pool was very small and very cold. The town has no other good restaurants-and isnt much to walk around. Goerme is 5 or 10 mins by taxi and has more to do and places to eat. This place is somewhat isolated and on a hill-but that's what makes the view great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

From the moment of our e-mail confirmation of our reservation at the Museum Hotel, the experience was utter perfection. We were greeted at Nevsehir Airport by a driver who was gracious and smiling despite a 5 hour flight delay which he patiently waited out. Upon arriving at the hotel, our bags were swiftly delivered to the right rooms (caves) which were a warm, cozy greeting to Cappadocia. A bottle of local wine and well stocked mini bar were much appreciated.

Throughout our 3 night stay at Museum Hotel, the staff, and owner Omer Tosun ensured that we were spoiled beyond belief; we were guided to the right ceramic workshops, places of interest and local eateries as requested, yet always looked forward to returning to the hotel to spend time in our room, the garden, the library, exploring nooks and crannies and relaxing in the lounge in front of the Lila Restaurant.

Some reviewers have indicated that some of the cave rooms were too dark - we found that this added to the coziness and more lighting could easily have been arranged for via reception. Our bathroom was a delight with instant hot water and a wonderful jacuzzi tub.

Room service was extremely efficient and the staff were very personable. All of the dining room waiters and waitresses remembered our names, likes, and dislikes from the word go. I would have liked to seen a wider variety of wines from all over Turkey, and were told by Mr. Tosun's son that the wine list will have changes for the 2010 season.

The menu at Lila was excellent, and we enjoyed one of the best steaks ever on our last evening when we finally took a break from our much beloved Turkish food. On another occasion, we noticed homemade bean and lamb stew being served to the staff and requested a bowl which was immediately delivered and very tasty after a chilly excursion from outdoors.

Some rooms/caves in the Museum might not be ideal for physcially disabled or older persons but if this is communicated in advance, the right cave can be arranged for.

The Museum Hotel has set an excellent standard for Cappadocia, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had no idea what to expect and the Museum Hotel pleasantly surprised us with its labyrinth of caves into which the utmost care and thought went in the design of these lovely rooms each with its own personality. We were very comfortable in our large cave and had a good sized window with a beautiful view of the valley. The service was very good and people tried to be helpful despite the language barrier. The dining room is excellent and the food quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The Hotel is beautiful with incredible views and wonderful rooms. A very sleek and welcoming vibe. Service is a bit slack and could be deemed unacceptable at what is one of the best hotels in Cappadoccia but a word with the owner and things are dealt with swiftly. Breakfast is excellent and room service was above standard but I personally wasn't impressed with the restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by some the most incredible walking. I always went out very first thing so had the valleys to myself. It's quite easy to get lost but amidst the tranquility and fruit trees laden with apples, pears and quince, the really doesn't matter. If you are a walker, this is certainly the best spot.
Waking up at that hour also gives you the opportunity to see the incredible sight of over 40 hot-air balloons silently floating over the valley.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#8 of 30 in Uchisar
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.7 mi away
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
#15 of 30 in Uchisar
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $180 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing