We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Uchisar
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Museum hotel is a worthy Relais & Chateau property, hitting the high marks across the board from service to setting. If you want to be sure of a luxurious stay in a stunning location, this hotel should be your choice in Cappadocia. On to specifics....

The service was outstanding. Incredibly friendly and accomodating staff took care of adults and kids perfectly. We were two families, each with two kids ranging from 4-8. From restarting a fire in the outdoor bar late at night after regular staff had left just for my friend and I to have a late drink, to bringing breakfast plates to a non-dining area near the pool, the staff handled things wonderfully and quickly.

Rooms are absolutely unique and memorable. The cave rooms are beautiful - even the smallest variety is actually quite large and gorgeously appointed. Mattresses are tempurpedic throughout. As mentioned, we had two kids with us and thought we'd be cramped because the suites were booked when we made our last minute reservations. Not so. They converted a daybed to a sleeper for my son and brought a playpen sleeper for my daughter - plenty of room. Well designed bathrooms with nice toiletries.

Breakfast buffet is wonderful. Dinner was also excellent.

The setting is at one of the highest points in Cappadocia - under Uchisar castle. So the view is wonderful. It is a peaceful spot just outside of the main tourist attractions. We stayed here as well as at another hotel in Urgup. I highly recommend staying in Uchisar because the elevation of the hotels here is great.

The pool is cold (mid-June) and clearly not heated. It is a small pool area and I doubt highly utilized. Our kids went in for about 10 minutes before the temperature forced them out. But you aren't in Cappadocia to lounge around a pool for a week so this didn't bother us.

While we were here as a family and there were other families around who were treated wonderfully, I'd say this place is better suited to couples. It is romantic. Kids loved the rooms, turtle garden (seven or eight turtles living there that they could feed), etc. Regardless, I would tend to say that this is a couples spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    93
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
154
330
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a unique hotel that incorporates individual touches without sacrificing luxury.

The staff was excellent from check in to check out. They were competent, energetic and pleasant. The rooms were unique in a GOOD way. The pool, spa, and restaurant were lovely. The art work adds a lovely touch. The views are incredible.

Negatives or considerations. The hotel has many steps for the less athletic but then again touring in this areas does involve some basic fitness to truly enjoy the region. There is no exercise room.

This hotel is where I will stay if I should return to the area.

Room Tip: Cave rooms are unique but now I realize that no windows are not the way I ever want to go again. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed an unforgettable night in this wonderful hotel: charming and efficient service, fantastic and luxury ambient according to the local culture and traditions, very good restaurant, amazing external locations: swimming pool, bar, gardens from which admire the sunset over capadoccia' s landscape. Personal and kind treatment, all facilities and good maners from everyone,and very professional.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanocarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The only disappointment we had was not spending an extra day here so we could really enjoy the hotel. It is one of the most beautiful and charming places we have ever stayed. The setting is gorgeous- an incredible view of Cappadocia...the rooms beautiful . The breakfast buffet on the terrace is incredible. The staff was great- I would highly recommend this place! Very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feuers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. It is an excellent location with great facilities. Staff were very attentive but not intrusive. Magnificent breakfast, we had trouble deciding what to eat. Dinner in the restaurant was first class and we are on the Terrace in the heat of the night. My one and only complaint was that my main course a tasty veal chop was not as hot as it could have been but my partners, lamb in a melon was very hot and delicious. Overall a treat to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Second hotel in our honey moon: magic and perfect!!! They received us with champagne in the room because we were honeymooners. The hotel is simply unique and perfect. The jacuzzi in the room has really good salts, the bedrooms are perfectly clean, with many types of pillows. The breakfast was delicious! Many of the food is organic, grown at the hotel. Mehmed at the omelette station is super nice! The barber by the pool is really good.
The food at the resultant is good. Not the best u have had, but certainly not pricy for the kind of hotel
I guess I enjoyed all!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemenpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This the hotel you want to stay at. The place is gorgeous, has breath-taking views, offers exceptional service and is truly serene. The rooms are fabulous, beautifully designed and blissfully comfortable... the food is divine and the wine is amazing. (Recommend trying the Museum Hotel's Cabernet Sauvignon!!) The location is unbeatable -- phenomenal views of the region, easy access to hiking trails in the iconic, rugged countryside and great exploring to be done of the hilltop caves around you. The owner of the hotel is a remarkable entrepreneur who has grown up in the area and has a true passion for the community, it's history and it's future. Cannot recommend this hotel enough -- it's an oasis for a truly relaxing and unique vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing