We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location BUT”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location BUT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is rated the best in Cappadocia, the food was good, the views amazing but I warn you don't get a room below the restaurant , the noise was unbearable at night from the movement of the chairs on the stone. I have travelled the world and if this was fixed it would get 5 stars , unfortunately this is a real let down , sorry Museum Hotel but I quite at night is important to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mileyaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolga T, General Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Museum Hotel guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing the "unique" Museum Hotel in Cappadocia.

As the Museum Hotel, – The only Relais & Chateaux hotel in Turkey – we try to be very attentive on every valuable comments. Guest satisfaction is one of the most important aim of our management. We were pleased with your positive comments, but also we want to apologize about your unforeseen complaint.

We have more than 200 comments from Tripadvisor. Additionally, most of our guests fill the questionnaire forms in the hotel, we receive hundreds of emails from the guests and also, our Concierge & Management Team get too many feedbacks from our guests in the hotel because we always care with our guests personally. To be honest, we did not receive any feedback about the sound of Restaurant before. That’s why, we have surprised. The rooms which are located in the mentioned area, have the best view of the Cappadocian region and they have very special concepts. A great many of our guests love these suites.

Finally, all of the guest comments are so valuable for us. It's for sure that, we will certainly take your comment in to our consideration to create the "best service" to our valuable guests in the "unique" Museum Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

MUSEUM HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    92
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
149
320
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Almost certainly the best hotel in Cappadocia - the cave rooms are large, the beds are comfy, and a few decorative vintage textiles give added atmostphere. Great hilltop location too, with views that stretch for miles. Yes, highly recommended. I found the staff personable, although some have been over trained and make the charm offensive seem a little forced. The breakfast is good, but the dinner room is rather formal and the food there is only average. Uchisar is close to the tourist town Goreme,but far enough away to seem like a village. An added plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I travel to Turkey a few times a year for business purposes, and always heard about Museum Hotel being the best in the area, so finally I checked in because I had some leisure time and decided to indulge myself.
At the Museum, the decoration is exquisite everywhere you go and a large antique and art collection is displayed inside the hotel, what makes this boutique hotel really a museum.
I stayed in a suite cave, with jacuzzi and scenic views over the dramatic landscape of Cappadocia. In spite of staying in a cave, it has all the amenities and comfort you can ask for, and the quality of the rest was certainly impossible to defeat. The garden and common areas are out of this World, with an infinity pool facing the entire valley of Cappadocia.
It should be pointed out the hotel personnel and the amazing hospitality. Anything I asked for was immediately supplied, and they really made my trip to Cappadocia spectacular and was the top hotel I have stayed at in Turkey. Special gratitude to Bouquet, the guest relations, for the fine treatment and her suggestions and instructions on getting around Cappadocia and which activities and tours had to be done. Just asked and she was happy to help, nothing was too much trouble for her. I spent 3 nights and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cizzy3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Once you see how devasted caves have been restored into Boutique hotel, your life is changing.. in 7 years work of many people you are presented a chance to witness a diamond in the rural landscape - only money, only taste or only time is not enough.. all came together to the feet of the guest to have xperience of history, culture, luxury, nature, fascination... some rooms have pillows menu, linen quality is superb, in room there are unique views over ballons and valleys, breakfast is served on the vitrins full of antiquities, art collection continues in corridors.. You can collect fresh vegatable in the garden and make photos of peacokes tales..
One thing is really not yet reached the level of owners love to the place is the service. Some of the staff just astonishing dull .. i d say 30-40% extremely good and rest ..dont know what they do. But so much work done, i give the credit to management that staff will reach one day level of this property which is almost unbelievable fact of existance. Many thanks

Room Tip: all rooms great, dont miss massage on the open terrace and pool - its chilly in the early morning bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlechkaGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a special place. The owner has done a fantastic job taking abandoned cave homes and restoring them to create this six star (five isn't enough stars) hotel. Each room is unique, filled with antiques and local crafts, overlooking the Cappadocia valley.

You will not find a group of people more dedicated to superior service anywhere in the world. What a magical place with special memories!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Amazing place. The service is beyond perfect. Whatever you want is provided graciously and quickly. The site is the best in Uchisar. The view of the balloons each morning as you sit on the porch and have a wonderful breakfast is a once in a lifetime experience. The rooms being part cave and part stone structure are spacious, gorgeous and luxurious. Fresh Turkish towels are provided twice a day.

The owners German Shepard, Joe, rules the roost. He greets the guests and patrols the facility. There are desert tortoises living in a garden by the dining room. Picture yourself sitting by the infinity pool and enjoying a refreshment as you look over the whole Goreme valley.

The facility took many years to complete and it shows. No detail is left to chance. Whenever you go to Cappadocia try to stay here. You will not be sorry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maceio, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into the lobby, since the very first moment, you realize immediately where the "Museum Hotel" name is coming from. It is truly a museum itself...what a place!
Buket, the guess relation manager, looked after us during our stay and she was really a sweetheart, making us feeling like at home and touring us through the hotel and facilities and telling the stories about the different items displayed on it (there is a 300 years old carpet hang on the wall)... She also arranged our Cappadocian tour and was impeccably done!
We stayed at the Lazy Hunter room and it was divine. The whole place is outstanding, and having breakfast at the terrace while staring at the dozens of hot air balloons flying nearby is priceless.
I hope I will stay at Museum Hotel again and I certainly will recommend. Thank you to Miss. Buket for a job well-done!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
5.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
1.5 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#16 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing